Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
11
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2013
For me, this is one of the best albums of the year, as it has an elegance and poise all of its own which slowly gets under your skin. Although there is an 'epic' feel to the album as a whole, I think the songs actually benefit from the occasional stripped-down arrangments and the 'basic' production.
There are elements of The Verve's 'A Northern Soul' that crop up, which is never a bad thing, and album highlight 'Letter to Yesterday' is a lesson in how to construct a slow-burn epic song with the simple, sparse instrumentation of a two-note bassline and the odd guitar flourish. Jamie Lee's vocals hold the album together, and when they crack every now and again, they convey a believability and emotion that is rare these days. A great debut.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
Jamie Lee and crew must be very proud of this new recording. 'Shadow of Heaven' is beautifully constructed and moves at its own pace, paying scant attention to the trends and fashions of the contemporary music world. It's evocative and airy compositions which often possess Puccini-esqe melodies bear repeated listening, in fact demand it. It has been a few months since I received my vinyl copy and CD and it is my steady fascination with this album which has prompted this review - from a normally-reluctant reviewer. New musical talent of this scale and sensitivity will find a wide audience, of that I am sure.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Appreciate the talent and effort behind this album but not really to my taste. Don't want to say anything negative, as it is my problem not theirs really. Would appeal to fans of Elbow, Cherry Ghost and so on.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
All too often new Indie British-bands decide that the riff is king and that it's a variant on the template already perfected by My Bloody Valentine or more tragically the Editors which holds the key to success. The term landfill indie is very real and the culprits numerous. What a joy, therefore, to have a new Manchester band who like many of their great forebears determine to perfect musical sweep and scale and are not afraid to highlight their poetic leanings. MONEY are a band firmly in this proud tradition. Fronted by the exuberant Jamie Lee, they have been building up the excitement factor over the recent period to the release of this excellent debut album "The Shadow of Heaven".

It could be argued that young men prone to spout the works of Kozlov have no place in rock. Yet surely the time is right again for literate, emotional and spectral music to assert itself proudly? MONEY have well trailed this debut and rightly so. The powerful single "Bluebell fields" was a statement of intent with Lee's regretful vocal and the band's​ swirling accompaniment. The gentler "Hold me forever" explores the shallowness and fleeting nature of relationships as Lee intone "even if you hold me / if you hold me forever / I'll become bored / of all of this together / you can praise and thank the lord for keeping us apart". The obvious highlight of the album is the brilliant piano ballad "Goodnight London". It is a mesmerising six minute plus lament with Lee showing that he is a songwriter of sheer class. Watch him perform it with passion on the web at an old piano in a bar during one of the Take Away Shows and try not to be smitten. Other songs here which grab you and don't let go include album opener "So long (God is Dead) with an ambience which recalls The Associates. Others like "Black" and "Cruelty is Godliness" have a spare sometimes gospel feel and reek cavernous atmosphere. If there is a real complaint the production values for the album never quite seem as pristine as Lee's vocals demand. Hopefully that can be addressed in future releases. The band themselves function as a unit that understands the real dynamics of a total system of sound and not a grouping of the sum of the parts.

Overall MONEY has constructed an album in "The shadow of Heaven" which is not afraid to be dramatic, over the top and revel in its dream-like' qualities. They are a band to cherish.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Absolutely love Bluebell Fields, although it has more of a hint of Coldplay about it - not altogether a bad thing (at their best, I like Coldplay, but the world doesn't need too many bits of indie easy listening). I'm just not altogether convinced about the rest. It's a bit of a vague & not altogether inspiring swirl of sounds & textures. Wallpaper rather than a compelling listen. That said, it's their first effort. If they can tend more towards a direct melody and song structure as in Bluebell Fields in future efforts, I'll be buying.

OK - not great - but worth keeping tabs on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Recorded in London through the deep, dark winter of 2012/13, Shadow Of Heaven is an ethereal, transcendent record that’s notable for its musical and intellectual ambition. It’s the kind of music that can be hard to listen to. It really is one of those things that you need to be in the right mood for and that can’t be listened to on the side. The two singles Hold Me Forever, which I find reminiscent of Scottish act Glasvegas, and Bluebell Fields are the more radio friendly material on the album while most of the rest are solomn piano ballads with lyrics heavy with meaning (Black, Goodnight London) or heavily orchestrated hymns (Shadow Of Heaven).

Rooted in universal themes of the spirit, love and loss, the album also addresses man’s condition in the modern world, issues ‘such as isolation and mental health as logical reactions to it‘, says Jamie.
If I had to describe their sound it would be somewhere along the lines of those solemn ballads The 1975 did for their first EPs, Man Without Country if they weren’t electronic, or Joy Division if they’d played slower and stripped the guitars. Others have compared them to Wu Lyf.

If you can see past the pretentious ambition of M O N E Y and you’re into this type of music, Shadow Of Heaven certainly is a great choice.

indieisnotagenre.com
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
Not what I expected but what I grew to enjoy. More ethereal than epic, this is a thoughtful young band comfortable with its beautiful muse.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
One of the best albums of 2013, definitely a must buy for any music lover. Ambient and uplifting, what's not to love!

If you like Bon Iver, Sigur Ros and all that goodstuff you'll love this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
Heard about this band in the daily mail they gave this album 4/5 so I thought I will download it from iTunes which I am glad I did one of the best albums I have listened too this year and also they are a new band from Manchester so that's why I also bought on vinyl as I collect quaintly music!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
Wonder when they'll be on tour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)