Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
292
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2006
I'll get this out of the way immediately, this is not a film that will appeal to everyone. It is what could be only described as a 'marmite' film. Some will adore its comic irreverence, and some will quite frankly 'not get it'. To me personally this is my favourite comedy of all time, and quite possibly my favourite film in general. I will attempt to not use any of the classic quotations from this film as it will spoil the brilliance of hearing them for the first time.

The story is set in a sexist news studio in San Diego, America. The lead anchor Ron Burgundy (Will Ferrell) falls for a woman at a party, and she incredibly, to Ron, rejects his not so subtle advances. The next day that very woman, Veronica Corningstone is appointed as a journalist in their very newsroom. Cue brilliant pick-up attempts, witty one liners, emotional breakdowns and scenes that don't leave the mind for weeks. Brick is the lovable fool, who interrupts with odd - yet hilarious - lines at random parts of the movie, he is the weatherman. The sports commentator Champ Kind, is a more roguish persona, who suffers a mental breakdown after Ron decides to go on a date with Veronica instead of attending their monthly pancake breakfast. Yes it's that irrelevant. Bryan Fantana is the 'man on the scene' and is the typical ladies man. All the acting in this film deserves to be noted, they all convey the different personalities of the charchters superbly and somehow without laughing.

All in all I thoroughly recommend this film to anyone with an irrelevant humour or in need of something up-lifting, which this film oddly fulfils. A cult classic in the form of Zoolander. Do watch out for the battle scene and a cameo from Jack Black. Pure comic brilliance.
22 comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2004
First off, Will Ferrell has to be number 1 in my all time favourite actors (including ben stiller, tom hanks and Steve Martin). He is hilarious and i adore all of his movies hes starred or cameo'd in.
Now, Anchorman. I was highly anticipating this movie, after seeing 'Elf'(my second favourite all time film) and ferrells capability to make me laugh my socks off, i couldnt wait until ferrels latest outing. I wont go on with the story but this movie is superb. The acting is first class- from Ferrell and Christina Applegate-who plays Ferrell's rival.
Ths story is clever and the jokes are fast paced, although its not as funny as ELF.
With that aside- this is great and has a lots of cameos ranging from Ben Stiller (YESSS) Vince Vaughn, Tim Robbins,Luke Wilson and Jack Black- who all take part in some of the funniest scenes in the film. I'm flaberghasted about how this didnt really do well with critics and in the cinema.
But this is still a must buy for all ferrell fans and people who want to be highly entertained. BRILLIANT.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2005
but in an excellent way. the anti feminist plot is asking for hilarity. i thought this was the funniest movie in the last 10 years. after dumb and dumber. it is filled with lovable characters like brick. steve (bruce almighty) carell. the most random bloke you will ever witness. he is the funniest character by far but what makes the film so good is that will ferrell plays an excellent part of a big headed anchorman. even baxter the dog is brilliant. this film is sheer class and i will watch it again and again. the cheesy one liners, the street fights, and the slapstick humour is all i would want in pure comedy. well worth the money i paid for the cinema. the cameos from ben stiller, luke wilson, vince vaughn, tim robbins and jack black made it even more worth while.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Amazing cast of some of the best comedy stars in the business, very funny story, this is laugh out load from start to end enough said!! This bluray version is superior to the DVD in that you get an extra ton of features including a new 90 min sequel movie made up from the deleated footage, plus a whole ton of other stuff, well worth the upgrade!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2005
I thought I should respond to the previous review, which I didn't understand. Having seen Dodgeball and loving it, I was also told to watch Anchorman, and found it absolutely hilarious, and just about funnier than Dodgeball.
I do feel, however, that this type of humour might not appeal to everyone, and agree with a previous review that it's like Marmite, you either love it or hate it- I can't see any middle ground.
To summarize, if you like films like Old School, Dodgeball or American Pie, or programs like Little Britain or Trigger Happy TV, I would heartily recommend you give Anchorman a watch.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
As a visitor to late 70s San Diego, (whale vagina)!!!!!the camp colours and laid back feel of this film were as I recall. Ron burgundy as with all will ferrell creations along with his always magical cast is a world I want to jump into. O.k. some people don't get it, but I can only say buy it,its quality. Brick the weatherman with an i.q.of 48, is now (mid 2000s) an advisor for George Bush, and father of 11!.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
I watched this because so many others said it was really funny. I wanted to find it funny, but nope. Apart from the brilliant Steve Carell, this was just a series of unoriginal, puerile, sub-adolescent anecdotes. I switched it off after 30 minutes. Perhaps if you've never watched this type of show or are just getting into the InBetweeners (which is far better) you might enjoy it. Disappointing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
Waited years to watch this as it was reputedly a good watch. Sadly, I couldn't disagree more and turned the TV off after about 35 minutes. Total and utter clap-trap. The kids and I didn't find any of it amusing up until so decided to better spend time doing something else. You only live once, so watch something other than this rubbish. You've been warned!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2011
The only way to describe this film, as many have said before is by calling it a "Marmite" film. You either hate it, or you love it. However unlike Marmite, I love Anchorman.

Ron Burgundy (Will Ferrell) is the famous and successful anchorman for KVWN-TV Channel 4 Evening News, his news team consists of lead field reporter Brian Fantana (Paul Rudd), sportscaster Champion "Champ" Kind (David Koechner), and mentally retarded chief meteorologist Brick Tamland (Steve Carell). However the face of Channel 4 evening news is about to change with the introduction of Veronica Corningstone (Christina Applegate) as a news reporter; bearing in mind this is set in 1975 having a female news reporter was unprecedented.

Veronica & Ron strike up a relationship, however will she trample over Ron to get to the top, or will she be happy in a mediocre role at Channel 4 news?

This film is packed with tons of laughs & memorable quotes. A brilliant cameo from Jack Black is a possible show stealer & then there is the fight between the news teams. The single greatest fight scene in a film ever, it is completely ridiculous & un-realistic, however somehow it manages to work. Steve Carrel's character is my favourite as he plays the retarded Brick.

There are so many brilliant individual scenes, like the news reporters musical number, Ron telling his dog to stop speaking Spanish & the fight scene.

The blu-ray also features the special "lost" film. It is made up of deleted scenes, un-used scenes & plots that were not chosen, much like the film it is very funny.

Fantastic film.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2006
I watched this at the cinema a few days after watching Dodgeball and was originally disappointed by it in comparison.

However after buying it on dvd and re-watching it, over and over again (far more times than my Dodgeball dvd) I've realised what a real gem of film this is.

The script, characters and everything else in this movie is brilliant, and as mentioned earlier this film is soooo wacthable especially considering the amount of subtle jokes, background activities and cameos.

The extras on the disc are equally as funny and the commentary is hilarious.

Buy this film, if you don't like it the first time round give it a second chance before bad-mouthing it.

:-)
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)