Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
120
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Mummy (Blu-ray + DVD) [1959]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 13 February 2006
There are been many mummy's over the years; they change their names. Some with one arm, some with two. Some talk some do not. Some are wet, some are dry. Some use Tanna leaves some do not. They all like cute young girls.

However by far the one the version that all others are gagged by is this one.

The tomb of Im-ho-tep is found. In the tomb is a box that you can not resist opening even when you are warned by a curse. Yep it has the Scroll of Thoth. Long before Viagra this scroll can bring the dead to life. So what ever you do don't mouth the words. Oops too late. Frank Whemple (David Manners) could not read silently and you know who went for a little walk.

10 years later Ardath Bey (Boris Karloff), who could use a little moister lotion, shows the English archeologists where to dig up Im-ho-tep's girl, Princess Anckesen-Amon. Then the fun begins.

Personaly I do not think Helen Grosvenor/Princess Anckesen-Amon (Zita Johann) looks a bit Egyptian. Then again nether does Im-ho-tep.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
I've just watched the blu-ray of 'The Mummy' courtesy of Lovefilm before making the decision to upgrade my DVD. Whilst the picture quality is slightly better it has not persuaded me to 'add to basket'. I suspect that things have been compromised visually by including two versions of the film on one blu-ray disc and that this movie could still look a lot better than it does here. If you don't already own the movie then this edition is certainly the way to go, great on extras, greatly improved audio, the film presented in its correct aspect ratio and a 3 disc set for currently, a very reasonable price on Amazon. I saw The Mummy at the cinema when it was first released and it remains my favourite Hammer film but for now I'll wait for a 4K version or a different international release and no, I'm not viewing through strangely tinted specs. Three stars for the image quality but five for the whole package.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
The mummy is a really good film from Hammer just like Dracula from 1958. And like Dracula the leading actors are Christopher Lee and Peter Cushing. It is a must see for Hammer fans but I can't recommend it for everyone because it is a little slow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Great transfer to Hammers go at its first Mummy film. Good extras as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
I was in my teens when it all started with Hammer. I remember takeing my girl-friend
to see "The Curse of Frankenstein" it was all new and quite brilliant.So I wanted to
aquire ths and one or two of the early ones, I suppose for mainly nostalgic reasons.
But I really love Peter Cushing. I guess these days the younger people would consider
them to be "Old Hat", cosidering the fantastic technology and affects in film makeing
today. Then, one could use ones imajination. What did I consider before purchase?
whether or not some footage may have been cut---- but I cant really remember all the
detail. So "AT LONG LAST" Ihave "The Mummy".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
Pressy for my dad...He likes the old films.... Or classics as he calls them....
He is very happy and I am happy longs I do not have to watch it... :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
The vibrant 1950's Technicolor palette really shines with the quality of this restoration simply gorgeous

Hats off to Hammer once again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
EXCELLENT!!!! Anyone who loves film restoration will enjoy this! Hammer films did a great job on this motion picture. BUY IT!!.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
Great stars and good storyline.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
I agree with all the other reviews on this release Stunning is the only word and the extras are wonderfull as well. Well done to Icon for this masterpiece of film restoration. Please let us hope that more Hammer films will appear on blueray, with the same love given to them as they deserve, to all those smaller companies, if you don,t have the money to do a proper job, then don,t bother.
Dennis James Stone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)