Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 16 September 2017
Awesome 80s 12" tracks on mp3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
great CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
As an album, it has plenty on offer with a number of invaluable classics. My only downside is Amazon's insistence of maximising their own 'player' which I do not need, do not want, and which takes an aeon to download my bought music. The old method of immediately downloading to one's computer, yet keeping a record of ones purchase just in case was simple and efficient. I'll buy a cd next time.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
The idea is a good one, the execution was a bad one.

Many of these are poor quality vinyl transfers, it's not acceptable in these days where there is readily-available computer software for removing clicks and noise.

A couple of the tracks sound okay, like the S'Express. But that's about it. Atrocious quality control overall.

I would urge people not to buy this, it's an utter disappointment.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
If you love the Genre this is another must have album for any Disco/funk Lover, even if like me you already have all of the tracks on other albums and compilations, there are some very interesting and wonderful mixes of classic tracks featured here, all credit to 'Universal Music' for the selections, you wont be disappointed, as almost every track was a big club hit, and are all classics now, some have been sampled and used many times!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Having bought this album elsewhere, I wish I’d read the reviews on here first!

I’ve bought a few of these 12”/80s collections over the years and thought that many of the early releases were really well compiled with a good mix of crowd-pleasers and a few rarities throw in to appeal to the collector. However, I’m staggered to see that there are several 5 star reviews of this album when the sound quality is so unbelievably poor. As other reviewers have noted, this is due to the fact that several tracks have lazily been ripped from vinyl with no attempt to edit out the clicks and scratches. Why include a vinyl rip (e.g. ‘I Feel For You’) when digital copies are available on several other compilations? House tracks on Disc 3 (e.g. ‘Jack Your Body’) suffer worst from this and, from the opening bars of ‘Love Can’t Turn Around’, you’ll be astonished that this ever passed quality control. The fact that someone actually thought "That's good enough for our customers!" warrants giving this album a 1 star review! If you’re really not bothered about sound quality and are happy to tolerate clicks and scratches on worn out vinyl, then go ahead and buy this; if you want something with a purer sound, then check out any of the albums from Ben Liebrand’s excellent Grand 12” series over the past decade. At around £20 for a 4 cd collection, they're much better value than this rip off.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
I just can't stop listening to this. The 3 CDs are split into early/mid/late eighties - the remixes are good, sound quality excellent and selection of songs is brilliant.

I would say this is the best of the 12"/80s collection so far!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
I bought some of these tracks in the 80s and others are such classic mixes that were quite rare to buy. I actually bought the physical Cd's because you do get the full sound although the free AutoRip was very handy for the Ipod in the car!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
I purchased this CD with high hopes, but alas it wasn't the top notch audio quality I was hoping for. For the most part the songs sound crystal clear and are great quality, but some - namely "I Feel For You", "All and All", "My Magic Man" and "Love Cant Turn Around" are vinyl rips and not good ones at that. If in doubt listen to track two Disc 1 on the preview tracks and this confirms that the Chaka Khan track sounds distinctly "gritty" and distorted and isn't a bad disc. (Go seek out a Ben Liebrand Grand 12 inches disc if you want this one in pristine quality.)

It just smacks of laziness when compilations are put out with Vinyl rips when a clean digital version exist - certainly this is true for the Chaka Khan and Darryl Pandy tracks. So on the whole if Vinyl Rips annoy the hell out of you but you don't care about the tracks mentioned above then please go ahead and buy. If you are buying this CD because of the inclusion of the tracks above - be prepared to be disappointed. Personally I only bought the CD for the last track - S'Express Spatial Expansion Mix which I'm glad to say is a good transfer, so for that I gave it three stars.
88 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
Yes they are some great songs here, but some are taken from old vinyl records, which is just unacceptable. if your a collector like me, you already have a lot of these on 12" vinyl, but are worn out and you want them as nice clean digital copies from the original master tapes, well only some are on this collection. Frankly Amazon and all other retailers, need to make sure they clearly label which tracks on each CD are copies from Vinyl rips. because otherwise they are not clearly giving you the info you need to make an informed decision and i urge everyone who has bought cd's which have tracks that are rips of vinyl and it's not clearly stated, that you return them for a full refund, Inc if this is MP3 files too. Then Amazon and others will ensure the music producers, in this case a Massive company like Universal, WILL make the labeling clearer.
I just cant believe for example "I feel you" By Chaka Khan, a huge hit and on a big record label as Warners Bros, Universal couldnt be bothered to local the original master tape, its shocking.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)