Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
29
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The premise is: If we all paid as much attention to planning our lives as our business and our careers then we'd all do a lot better. Of course this premise somewhat ignores that there is more "heart" work in life than in business, but it's true enough that this book brings some very good insights into how to "do life" better.

Most of us stumble through our non-working life without a very coherent plan or set of goals. We do far too many things on impulse and can often lose out (financially, or in other ways) because of that.

This book doesn't want to completely destroy the spontaneity that makes life exciting however, but it does want to channel those sorts of impulses, to better direct the energy that spur of the moment decisions can unleash and protect from their bad consequences. A lot of it is about thinking through possibilities ahead of time.

To take one example, if you have have thought through roughly what kind of car you need before you are even in the market for a car, you'll be less likely to make a spur of the moment decision to buy a lovely but completely unsuitable car you happen to see in a showroom whilst out shopping for pizza!

It's that kind of guidance that this book provides in spades - not a prescriptive approach, just encouraging you to think ahead about your life in the way you would about your business or your career.

Well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 December 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have been reading a number of books about life planning recently and have found information in each one which has been interesting and useful. The Personal Business Plan "does what it say on the tin", it approaches creating a life plan from a fairly dry business like view point. I'm sure this would suit someone who is very left brained and not particularly creative as some bits of the book felt very deliberate and logical and so would suit and person who enjoys following instructions and setting targets but was a little dry for me. I prefer the books which have been a bit more creative and based around visualisation to reach the same goals.

In summary this book would suit people who like the idea of a personal business plan as an approach and so for that reason I have given , although it wasn't my cup of tea, I have given it 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Very timely for the new year, this book seeks to help you stop drifting through life and achieve all you want to. The book helps you to narrow down what is and isn't important to you, and identify logical and achievable steps to getting there. For many people, especially those running their own business, taking the time to write out these steps seems counter productive when you could just get on with doing what needs doing. However for many more people the idea of taking steps to make a radical change in their lives seems daunting and often impossible to visualise. The book is excellent at helping you to identify and tackle each step one by one, giving you the confidence to reach your goal in no time at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 January 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book takes a fairly simple idea - applying business planning methods and applying them to your personal life. This is hardly a new idea but this one is nicely produced, leading you though a series of exercises that help you to assess your personal goals and objectives, and measured steps to their achievement. This is not going to set the world alight with great new insight, but I am pretty sure if you followed this through rigorously you would be much more likely to get to successful outcomes (a bit like business really). This is quite large physically - bigger than most self help books, and there is plenty of food for thought, and could help you be more pro-active (rather than reactive) in your life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book takes buisness planning to the readers personal life.
There are helpful excercises that set goals for improving someone's life.
Giving a plan for the readers life and goal. Setting things in order as it were.
I like to set goals anyway and have found this book helpful.
Although I have done things like this, goal setting problem solving etc in my work life - this is the first time tried it with my personal life.
So much of the information will be familar to someone who has been involved with goal setting and problem solving at work. The new thing is to use this ideas at "home".
Will suit someone new to this idea or someone not too sure on how they wish to move their life forward.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
An interesting idea - conducting a personal audit using a business plan framework of SWOT analysis and other models. I found it a bit pat and not really that helpful. There were several exercises I completed that took time and yet didn't yield anything in the way of new insights. Maybe it's for people who aren't that self aware and don't actually know what job they enjoyed, have never stopped to think what their strengths and weaknesses might be and who need the structure, language and cross references of a business guide to do some of this stuff. In any event, none of this is necessarily time wasted and the topics and verbiage are pertinent, it just didn't really resonate for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 January 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Essentially advocating a project management approach to life, there is something very likeable in the presentation. The upbeat exhortations that are common are replaced with a balanced cool advisory tone about running your life in a professional and business minded way. A premium is placed on good organisational skills

The step by step approach is clearly facilitated by the chapter headings and you can clearly see how it could be used as a manual. It would be interesting to present it to a young adult starting their university/vocational career and see if it sets good foundations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 January 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
In many respects this management self-help book ticks all the right boxes: fluently written, well formatted, clear underpinning model (in this case a 10 step plan) etc. But therein also lies the rub. It feels a little bit like a designer-led book, one that has been written by numbers. Of course an alternative perspective is that adopting a good practice model for the writing and design of the book simply makes sense. Which means I do need to give credit for clarity and simplicity, and a job well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This proved to be a much better read than I'd expected to be honest, as I was getting a bit jaded with a lot of 'business' books these days being much of a muchness.

The interesting thing about this book is that it outlines how to apply business theory [plans] to your wider personal life which is very interesting, as most self-help/business books these days seem to want to promote the reverse. It's a well written book that's also refreshingly jargon-free. Worth a look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 November 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I found this book quite an interesting read as I like the idea of focusing my life goals and acheiving them in a business plan format. It isnt stuffy and pretentious but a rather engaging read and well written. There are 10 chapters that break things down such as "What is My Situation" "How Can I Thrive" "What is My Personal Business Plan" ...there are others. I just found this book motivational and uplifting. A good read to get your creative juices flowing....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)