Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£18.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 November 2013
This is beautifully conceived compilation of American New Age music by Light in the Attic Records. It's a world away from the mass produced and marketed New Age music of the eighties and nineties. This is pure and authentic ambient music made by artists who lived and breathed the New Age lifestyle long before most people even knew such a lifestyle existed.

Although there are a few better known artists from the genre represented here, much of the music is taken from privately recorded and pressed vinyl and cassettes and, taken as a whole, it just washes over the listener and has a genuine calming and relaxing effect. There's an array of instruments used, with many of the earliest tracks featuring harp, piano and woodwind, progressing to electronic instrumentation with extended synth and bass notes that have a drone like quality to them. There are occasional sound effects (birds singing, waterfalls, etc) but they're authentic and not just used as a gimmick.

The CDs are housed in a gatefold cardboard sleeve with a superb booklet featuring notes on all of the artists and archive photos. The combined playing time of both discs is 132 minutes. Given the quality of some of the sources of many of the tracks, the sound is excellent and has been digitally re-mastered at 24 bit / 96 kHz. Recommended to anyone with an interest in ambient sounds.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
Try to circumscribe the cheesy "New Age" ascription of the sub-title as it does no justice to the extraordinary music in this collection. Only gripe is the poor sleeve design, and the brown and beige booklet. Why didn't Light in the Attic employ a serious graphic designer to work with Gilbert Williams?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
A really beautiful collection of music that seems to illustrate a real sense of honesty and gentility towards the listener and the music itself. I've been listening to mostly modern ambient music for a long time and this album has brought a good few names to my attention and has re-ignited my passion for those names I already knew. The album really shows a sensitivity towards the subject of New Age music (which has such a stereotype attached to it nowadays) that makes you remember/realise the raw beauty of some of these early works; a sense of grandeur exploration and experimentation comes through from the pieces, and of course it has it's effects on you.

Contradicting a previous reviewers comments about the sleeve design (albeit it is cheesy and retains the New Age stereotype aesthetic), I personally really like it. It has been a while since I have bought a CD that someone has obviously cared a lot about, the booklet is well produced and very interesting and the whole package is rather nicely designed. I imagine the Vinyl edition is lovely to hold.

Anyhow, I would highly recommend this one, for journeys, for introspection, for meditation, for sleep......But most importantly, because there are some damn fine pieces of music collected here, that should be noticed and listened to with intent, once again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Most excellant packaging containing a very informative booklet providing solid information and respect to the brilliant pioneering artists within. The music has both depth and integrity as well as being very useful late at night to relax to. Its not too saccharine though. Congratulations to 'Light in the Attic' for another well thought out and loving compilation.

If you have even the remotest interest in the power of music to heal then I highly recommend this compilation of recordings. It comes under New Age but I like to also look at it as music that grounds you and lets you fly a bit at the same time.

Wonderful

X
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
This was a pleasant surprise. I enjoyed these electronic recordings which sometimes sound not a million miles from German Cosmische music of the late 60's early seventies (in places). Recommended .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 December 2016
Massive compendium of Ambient joy first brought to my attention by the Ambient God Stephen Hill on his international Hearts of Space' radio uninterrupted hour- long show. If you haven't heard that let me tell you it is cheaper and less harmful than valium. As is this album though the vinyl for this costs more than my house

So download it and drift off to other scenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2016
Interesting. The 'New Age' in the title may be a little off putting but view this more as the eccentric birthplace of Harmonium, Kraftwerk, Warp Records and contemporary acts such as Tim Hecker and Kranky artists. Superb and beautifully packaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
Special
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)