Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 August 2017
Quality book and interesting to hear all about Jony
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2017
Very good, but too much information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
A Very inspirational book a must read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
Very good read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
A great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
Disclaimer: as with most other people who would read this book, I've read both of the Steve Jobs biographies. (I'll confess I haven't read much other Apple History, though). Based on the limited stuff I've read, each book places their focus at the absolute centre of the Apple Universe, with all others as shadow players. This one tends to do the same for Jony Ive.

While it tries to pull together a number of different sources to cast some light into the shadows created by being such a central component of one of the most secretive companies in the world, it sometimes fails to bring them into a coherent timeline. As a result the narrative of the book can be a little jerky in places.

But, with all that said, it's a good read and as a fellow Brit I've got to be proud of the designer at the heart of Apple. I'm probably biased as I'm a recent convert to Apple equipment and have now plunged headlong, but it's a worthwhile book to read to round out the picture of Apple as painted by the Jobs biographies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was well written and takes you on a tour of Jony Ive's life from child prodigy to now the world's best known and most respected industrial designer. After reading this book, it is easy to see the synergies between Jonny Ive and Steve Jobs. Both have or had the ability to see the big picture as well as the minute details. Both are or were perfectionists, on a mission to create a better product and provide a better experience. Both are or were concerned about the invisible details as much as those things that are visible. The partnership they formed literally changed the world. And the creative genius that made Apple what it is today is still there, answerable to nobody else. And that creative genius, encoraged and supported by Jobs when he was alive, is Jony Ive.

Clearly Jony has a healthy ego, unsurpassed power and influence within Apple, and a wonderful lifestyle, which he truly deserves. But he also comes across as a genuinely nice guy who gives credit to others as much as himself, and will go the extra mile in anything he does.

What impressed me most is that Jony is much more than 'just' a designer. He is an innovator in production techniques as well and has come up with some amazing innovations like the Apple Unibody process that have revolutionised fit, finish and reliability on volume produced products. I had always imagined that another group of engineers would have been responsible for these aspects, but no it is all part of Jony's design process ... And is all the more impressive for that.

I was also hugely impressed by Jony's drive to make everything tactile and emotionally engaging. It is a characteristic that runs through all of his designs, and you see it in all the products he he has designed or overseen in his time at Apple. You see it too in the Apple stores, where people are encouraged to be hands on. It is a lesson that everyone in business could and should learn, and I am tempted to buy copies of this book for all my clients because if they could truly understand this one thing and bake it into everything they do, they would deliver better products and services to their customers. Their customers would then develop a deeper emotional engagement, leading to more loyalty and unstoppable word of mouth ... All things for which Apple sets the benchmark. And for which Jony Ive has been responsible.

I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone both to better understand the true genius of Jony Ive, and yes there is no doubt that he IS a genius at what he does, and the lessons you can take away and apply in your own life. Thank you Leander Kaheny for writing it so well.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)