Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2013
Another great Bowling for Soup album that does exactly what it says on the tin. If you love BFS you should definitely add this to your collection, though it definitely feels a little more introspective (well for BFS) and autobiographic, with tracks such as 'Since We Broke Up' and 'Couple of Days', than their previous offerings.
'Critically Disdained' is a great opener and sets the pace for the other up-tempo numbers such as 'Real' and 'From the Rooftops' while the inclusion of slower tracks such as 'Circle' provide contrast and a chance to savour the funny, witty and often cleverly written lyrics that can be overlooked in the band's often self-deprecating and/or comic videos.
All in all, another great bunch of songs from my favourite band from Texas.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
For anyone who has been a BFS fan for years will know this is a slightly less 'rocky' offering, but that doesn't make it any worse. They still have the typical BFS style songs such as 'Real' and 'Right About Now' but it also slightly more mellow songs such as first single 'Circle' and 'And I think you like me too'. They do try and keep up with their ever changing/growing fan base and adapt their style accordingly.

This album was also completely 'fan-funded' with their Pledge Music campaign and that in itself, shows they have the best fans in the world!

This is a great album and flows from start to finish perfectly. Highly recommended!

Looking forward to their UK Farewell tour in October!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
Since this album was entirely fan funded through pledge music it shows Bowling for soup still have a great fanbase. I have always loved this band. They are not to be taken seriously but are in it for the fun of making music & it shows in all the tracks. Rock music to drink to with your friends! Almost as good as 'Fishing for Woos'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
Musically, this is probably one of their more mature albums. A quick intro scan when I bought it showed a lot of acoustic guitar, but never fear the volume and attitude kicks in shortly. The songs work well live too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Bowling for Soup straddle pop and rock better than anyone else deemed `pop punk'. They understand the key to pop is a catchy tune. They don't worry about appearing more credible to rock fans than to pop fans - they have happily written for Disney and children's TV - and make sure they are having fun whatever they're doing. They have always worn their broad musical influences on their sleeves and this new album includes references from Culture Club to Poison. It includes a faithful and sensitive cover of an Edie Brickell song, which works better than it sounds.

This continues recent Bowling for Soup albums in being a bit less punk and bit more pop. It takes a couple of listens to realise that the lyrics are, if anything, better - wittier and more autobiographical - than ever. But there is still a handful of songs (Couple of Days, Envy, Right About Now) that would sit easily among their earlier work. For me, it compares well with their most successful albums from the first half of the 2000s and I rate the album better than their last two (Fishin' for Woos and Sorry for Partyin'). They are both excellent, but this is more consistent and works better as a single package. The only thing I don't like about this new album is the couple of places where the joke is on other people - BFS are usually best when taking the mickey out of themselves rather than others.

If you're new to the band, this is as good a place to start as any. And, as you explore the back catalogue, you'll uncover one or two references in the songs here (compare Envy to My Hometown, for example).

In response to the odd review that focuses on song names and criticises the band for choosing this album title, it was actually chosen by the band's fans via an online poll. Your target is misdirected. Perhaps the album was written for them not you.

Other BFS fans will disagree, but I am pleased they have finally stopped adding different versions of perhaps their weakest song, Belgium, to the end of every album...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
I could easily give this five stars its a far better album than the last two or three offerings from the band but not quite up to some of their earlier stuff. Bowling for Soup have always been about fun and you don't need to take them to seriously. This album has complete range of songs from the typically punk style of their past on songs like Since We Broke Up and Envy to the almost melodic vocals on the cover of Circle. If this is the last album from the band its a good one to go out on!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
my son got me listening to karrang on the music channel and i heard various songs by bowling for soup, that was it i just had to hear more so i am in the process of buying all there albums.Absolutely Brill.Oh and by the way i am 56 years old.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
BFS are still putting out great music even after all this time, as much as I'm a fan of the older music, this new album has some of my now favourite tracks, and at such a good price, it's a must have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
Well here we have a band doing their "farewell tour" of the UK and going out at the top.

After a few rather less than awesome albums the boys are back with their finest release since "A hangover you dont deserve" in 2004.

Then again I am biased, a 40 year old male who refuses to grow up and just enjoys some good music, and this is it.

Enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
Not a great release imo - not up to their usual standard, somewhat like their last offering. Shame 'cos I love Bowling For Soup. Couple of cracking tunes on this album but as a whole, disappoints. Sorry guys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)