Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
27
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2013
Their third release is their best. I loved the previous two releases as anyone spending anytime in my car will testify - Animal Attraction has not been off the CD rotation for over a year!

This is is rammed full of catchy, stamp your feet hair metal - exactly what Reckless Love does best. Bad Lovin and I love Heavy Metal are so addictive they'll be playing away in your head for a long time.

Can't wait to see the guys play these new songs live. All in all a fantastic record - if you haven't bought it yet, go do it now - this is too good to miss out on!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
With 'Spirit' Reckless Love have created their best record yet. Start to finish the album is filled with energy, joy, catchy choruses and infectious guitar play. The quality of the songwriting has improved and is more consistent than on their previous two albums - there really isn't a bad song on this one.
Tracks like 'Night on Fire, 'Bad Lovin' and 'Sex, Drugs & Reckless Love' provide a superb hard rock party. But the album also includes some of the best ballads the band has done so far. Especially 'Edge of our Dreams' is a stand-out track, keeping the energy of the rest of the album yet with a more emotional and sensitive touch, making it a pretty unique song.
Reckless Love are here to brighten the day, throw a party and put a big smile on your face. And isn't that the best thing music can do?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Arrived extremely promptly.
Reckless Love keep on moving in the right direction with this album, the follow up to Animal Attraction, and keep getting better too!
Well worth picking up for fans of glam rock.
The best tracks are " Bad Lovin' " and " Sex, Drugs & Reckless Love ".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
Don't believe those reviews that cite Reckless Love as a 'guilty pleasure'... if you like well-crafted, super-catchy, melodic hard rock + roll, then these guys are the pick of the contemporary pack, inspired by the greats (Van Halen, Kiss, Leppard, etc.), but adding some fresh colours of their own. Their previous 2 albums have both been excellent, but 'Spirit' takes things to a whole new level in terms of song-writing, performance and production. So not a 'guilty pleasure', just a pleasure! Enjoy, spread the word. And smile!!!!
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
I Love Heavy Metal
I Can't Get Enough. Can't Get Enough ...
Yes that's the Spirit.

We all headbangers fancied the pictures of a skull and devil horns to appear on the cassettes/CDs we owned and the black tee shirts we wore in our teens. Still we don't know why. The art cover featuring two pairs of vivid colourful tribal masks or face paints that look like skulls is what enticed me to buying the physical CD of this Reckless Love's third album and not just download MP3s. A handful of good bands like Airbourne, Steel Panther, Crashdiet, Alter Bridge, Reckless Love and few others are here amidst the new generation of 21st century trying to get the sound of the 80s/early 90s heavy metal. Reckless Love's debut self titled album Reckless Love and the follow up Animal Attraction were just good or OK I thought. But this 'Spirit' turns out to have extra special ingredients in it.

The band has presented this album so cleverly and creatively (or maybe subconsciously) that the guitar riffs, the rhythms and beats of a song, the chord progressions or the vocal line in choruses and verses, one or the other stand out as a strong reminder of some famous songs of the genre from the 80s/early 90s. For instance, at the intro of the opener 'Night On Fire', I thought Aerosmith's 'Eat The Rich' will start. The mid eight interlude section in 'I Love Heavy Metal' sounds similar to the one from 'Love In An Elevator' by Aerosmith. Riff of 'Favorite Flavor' immediately reminded me of 'Armed And Ready' by MSG and 'I'll Take You Alive' by Twisted SIster. The first verse in 'Sex, Drugs And Reckless Love' I thought they were gonna sing 'Knee Deep In The Hoopla ...' by Starship. On the same song's chorus, you can sing along 'It's A Crazy, Crazy, Crazy, Crazy Nights' by Kiss. The riff in 'Dying To Live' is very much like 'Gods Of War' by Def Leppard. Quiet Riot did 'Metal Heart' and these four awesome guys from Finland are doing 'Metal Ass'. The guitar tone of 'Runaway Love' gives an impression as if Eddie Van Halen is playing 'Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love'. Last but not least, vocal line on the verse of 'Hot Rain' goes along with outro of 'Purple Rain' by Prince.

Don't get me wrong. This is neither my criticism on the band nor research on the album. I didn't do any homework here. This is how I instantly and honestly felt as I played along 'Spirit' from the first play. This maybe only my assumption. Thousands of good songs in the market of course do sound like one another. This album is so very well created and crafted by the band members as well as the producers Ilkka Wirtanen. Listeners can easily and memorably hum along anthems which are obviously targeted for the concert audience. 'Na Na Na Na! Whoa! Yeah!' etc. A replica of 80s/early 90s heavy metal that we all grew up listening to. Heavy and tight bass and drums and guitar from top to bottom. On top of everything, Olli Herman sounds so much like Ted Poley of Danger Danger. Such a beautiful, high pitched, melodious voice he has. I find a lot of Danger Danger, Motley Crue, Def Leppard all over the place. And for being able to play guitar myself, I can say Pepe Salohalme can really rock. \,,/, Simply, I love this album so much that made me love this band Reckless Love like I loved my heavy metal heroes which are all mentioned in 'I Love Heavy Metal', the third track that says it all about this band.

Have A Lot Of Sex, Little Drugs And Reckless Love!
Rock 'N' Roll \,,/,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
If you love classic, catchy hard rock then this is for you! Taking the basic premise of the first two albums & adding additional depth in both songwriting terms and sound production Reckless Love are the total antithesis to modern day moans & groans about the recession etc. This is the type of album to be played in the car with the window open on your way to another fun day out!

Well recommended, do not hesitate to buy :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
Great tunes, solid production. Reckless Love certainly know how to put together quality songs- uplifting and ridiculously catchy melody lines, solid bass, good beats and crunchy heavy rock guitar with some interesting solos. If you love 80's-style glam rock you'll want this in your collection!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Brilliant album. Would recomend to anyone looking for a modern sounding band with an 80's glam metal twist. Provides a bit of everything; from ballads (Edge of Our Dreams and Hot Rain) to pure metal (Metal Ass), of course there's a lot of glam/sleaze thrown in for good measure which becomes obvious on the opening track, "Night on Fire".

Defiantly recommend giving it a listen, especially if you're into the likes of Crazy Lixx, Def Leppard, etc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
Album number three for this super-cool sleaze hard band! "Spirit" is titled the new Reckless Love release and once again the guys are delivering some really impressive and ultra catchy tunes which are gonna rock our world!

If you are into the 80's, early 90's, hair metal/glam/sleaze metal sound then look no further; "Spirit" will grab you from the first spin and will leave you hungry for more! Big hooks and 'clever' choruses to sing-a-long for days, an amazing guitar work, sleaze vocals but most of all an 80's hair metal air are things that you will hear in Reckless Love's new work. They achieve to reveal the sound of the glory days of this music in such a great way that makes this cd a must purchase for every single fan of this genre. "Night Of Fire", the opening track, seems to be the perfect appetizer of what' coming-up next. Catchy, bombastic and a future classic! So simple!! "Bad Lovin'" is funny, it has an amazing chorus line and it seems like a leftover of any of Motley Crue's earlier works.

"I Love Heavy Metal" pays respects to the hair metal scene of the 80's while "Favorite Flavor" is another classic Reckless Love tune. The "Edge Of Your Dreams" adds some modern Def Leppard elements here and "Sex, Drugs & Reckless Love" will make you shake and tumble! Yes, this is another up-tempo rhythmic rocker with a monstrous chorus line. "Dying To Live" is a good one while on "Metal Ass" the band is movin' to some heavier paths. This is probably the heaviest tune that this band has ever recorded!! Listen to this one on maximum volume!! "Runaway Love" is a typical Reckless Love song, "So Happy I Could Die" is built for arenas and finally the power ballad "Hot Rain" closes this album in an old-fashion way.

I loved every single minute of "Spirit"! It's all about pure rock 'n' roll stuff with catchy songs, powerful performances, a solid production, beautiful melodies and the right attitude!!! Well done boys!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Fantastic, good band, great songs!! If you like 80's rock you will love these bunch of poodles!! Go on take some cherry pie!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)