Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
12
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2013
A senior colleague recommended this book (which has recently been launched) to me since it is quite different from most other strategy books out there and draws upon the experiences of CEOs from around the world. I found it a very insightful and easy going read, that puts most other strategy guides of its ilk to shame. What is most refreshing is that rather than a single author laying down his/her opinions and instructions on business strategy - it is actually the unified voice of today's industry leaders who are living and breathing the strategy they implement.
I found all the advice and stories of lessons learnt most useful and I have already applied many of the handy tips to my thinking. I particularly enjoyed the chapter on how managers make a difference which gives some excellent pointers on strategy communication.
While this book looks targeted towards business managers and above, I would suggest it is also valuable for anyone interested to know what CEOs of major multinationals are currently thinking. Other than these people actually writing a book themselves, this is probably the next best thing!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Pretty bland generic overview of corporate strategy, padded out with even more bland sound bites. If you know even the basics about strategy you're unlikely to learn any thing from this space filler.

The idea of Chris Outram advising companies how to be better or even great always makes me laugh. In the late 1980's I worked with the strategy firm he help found and it was the worst run company I have even experienced or seen and it would have gone bust had it not been bailed out by shareholder Coopers & Lybrand. Physician heal thyself and all that ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
This book takes 'The Wisdom of Crowds' approach to management advice. It takes input from from a broad group of business leaders, from across a range of industries to distill an excellent, practical and straightforward set of insights. When the genre seems to be either looking for new ways to package old ideas or focusing on the maverick ideas of a unique leader, it's refreshing to go back to fundamentals and present compelling 'must do' advice for today's business leaders and observers. Recommended reading.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
There are indeed some insights in this book as to good practices for developing and implementing company strategy, which is to be fair and inherently made up to talk about, but it is a made up thing that every company has on at least some level whether they are aware of it or not. The layout here tends to evoke more of a business presentation than a book, but in this instance it works quite well and fits with the overall theme. The contributions from other CEOs are a nice touch, but the quotes from them come across rather rehearsed and artificial. The main complaint here though it that the nature of the advice is fine but generic and overall leads to it being quite forgettable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
I bought this book last week and found it a very enlightening read. It's easy to follow with limited management jargon, and the content is relevant to all, be you a senior manager or someone just starting out in business (like myself). It includes plenty of advice and anecdotes from successful managers in a number of different industries which kept me engaged from start to finish. Would highly recommend!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
This book was very easy to read and didn't overload the reader with "consulting speak". The interviews add real life experiences which increase interest and help relate the content to business challenges
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
Unlike so many other books in this space, this is engaging and interesting to read and provides a very clear set of principles and topics to consider when formulating strategy. Definitely recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
must read book! -- pragmatic and insightful guide for executives looking to make a strategy stick. Comes highly recommended from other colleagues.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
page turner tat emphasizes importances of simplicity in design and realism in execution
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
A great read on the practical aspects of strategy and how these are used in the real world. Highly recommended for all interested, from fledgling strategists to the experts of the world!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)