Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 16 January 2015
I have to be honest and say that the ending is such a let down, and I feel sorry for the filmmaker as after the bust up in Amsterdam the content is practically null. It seems really clear that the band or management cut access to the lads after that and the film suffers massively as a consequence. Up to that it is outstanding and sends shivers down your spine at certain points.

Anyone who went to the Heaton park show will know what an incredible show it was, and the build up and backstage access and coverage of the day is non-existent in the film. A real shame.

It's still a must have for any Roses fan and inspirational, but prepare for some disappointment as the film doesn't get the ending it deserves.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2015
Decided to treat myself after watching the Shane Meadows film on Film4. I'd been as many, a big fan of the Roses from the release of The Stone Roses album years ago. I was overjoyed when it was announced they were reforming. As someone who wasn't lucky enough to go and see them in the warm up concerts and missed out on tickets for Heaton Park. This passion project from Shane Meadows was a must have.

It was a no brainer to purchase the 3 disc (Blu-ray+DVD) steelbook edition. I wouldn't normally bother with a steelbook copy of a film but this was special circumstances and well worth the extra pounds. The design of the box is eye catching and the Blu-ray quality doesn't disappoint. The picture is great as is the sound and all the extra features make this that much better.

If your a true Stone Roses fan, buy this for those who haven't already and if that's you. Shame on you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2013
The steelbook packaging is very nice indeed collectors should get one now its worth the extra , you get 2 blu ray discs and a dvd of movie only. The movie is a joy to watch the directors love of the band seeps into every frame, there is no muck raking which im glad about but it would have been nice to cover the break up and the year or so without squire as they did carry on for sometime without him and renny , this would have added some balance though its fair to say this was a pretty low point for the band. The film is well crafted i would imagine even people not interested in the band would find something in this film, there is some great early stuff again lacking interviews with early members it does not ponder on these years the focus is the early band rehearsals and the small first gig of the reunited line up at warrington parr hall which is superb the sense of expectation is well handled and palpable in every frame , the real stars here being the gathering fans. Theres plenty of Manchester humour which fans of the band will recognise and detractors would call arrogant the interviews will have detractors squirming me i just laughed out loud at the boys not playing the game. The heaton park footage is superb but would have been nice to see more.
The extras i found somewhat disappointing (sorry shane) whats on there is quality though the overlap in commentery and various director interviews grates and the spike island footage worth the price of the whole package it got some bad press at the time but its clear to see the crowd loved it ..sadly i missed that day and its great to see any clips this is rare stuff i have never seen and was rumoured to exist for years. Qdos for including) but the glaring omissions are band interviews , yep funny interviews with fans are great and the full parr hall and heaton park , i suppose this keeps the myth alive and is more about my greed of wanting to experience the heaton park gig i experienced on my tv (its never gonna be the same but perhaps that day should remain something i relive in fond memories . Stunning work , flawed but what is not ..perfection has to be imperfect. One love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2018
Actually wanted this for myself. Saw it in tv and wanted to own it, but I was kind enough to buy it for my friend who has same music taste! A brilliant film, took me back to when I was young and irresponsible and remembered how awesome their music was!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2013
There doesn't need to be an expansive or particularly effusive review here . If you are a fan of The Stone Roses buy this. Simply put, you are watching one of the great bands of the latter part of the 20th century reformed and resurrected (sorry I just had to) in the 21st century . All this is documented by the "British Scorsese" and self confessed Roses fan Shane Meadows. It's filmed with a deft lightness of touch . You don't get ant real revelations about the inner workings of the band and even the most casual fan could probably fill in several of the gaps in their history that aren't mentioned here but the genius of Meadows is that he's let the music do the talking .

The heart of the film is the footage from the band rehearsals as the various band members twinkle and smile there way through smoldering versions of "Something's Burning" and "Don't Stop". Meadows takes you right into the centre of the room and crucially captures the interplay between the band-mates, a raised eyebrow here, a fumbled note there it's all beautifully subtle, you can feel the love there and you'll be watching smiling as the band fall into place. There's not a great deal in the way of drama, a post Amsterdam gig strop by Reni is glossed over as the fan in Meadows doesn't want to step on any toes preferring just to document it from the audiences's point of view . It doesn't really matter though as they make their way to their triumphant return with the Heaton park shows showing that this isn't just about the past but about the future as The Roses prove they are at the very height of their powers. Fools Gold is rolled ,caressed and teased as they toy with the groove making it at times like Can and Squire, Reni and Mani cheekily throw in the odd Chic or Beatles riff. As Ian Brown said at the press conference "this is a live resurrection", he wasn't kidding !!

Product Info :
The Steelbook edition contains the two bluray discs (2x BD50, one the film and one for a few extras) and slightly pointlessly the dvd of the film . Picture quality is generally superb whether in the rehearsals or at the various reformation gigs and the audio in 5.1DTS HD Master Audio is just sublime. The quality understandably drops when archive footage of say Top Of The Pops or the bands own little bits of home video are used but it certainly didn't spoil my enjoyment of the film . You get about 2hrs worth of extras as well as the audio commentary so I'd say it's value for money .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2017
What is wrong with this filmmaker? What a wasted opportunity. Half the film seemed to be people queuing for tickets. Slightly less boring than a table or maybe a spoon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2017
Absolutely brilliant in every way,steelbook is spot on and it was a very quick delivery!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2018
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2017
What can I say except Brilliant top band top film well made loved every minute of it and especially some old footage included and the rehearsal sessions excellent. Best band ever still makes me feel young
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2013
This is a fantastic film, really well directed and produced. It takes you through the history of the Stone Roses, from inception to demise, to reunion and includes some amazing footage. It was a brilliant trip down memory lane for me and my fiancé. I would recommend this film to anyone, but certainly to fans of the Stone Roses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here