Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
253
The Paradise: Series 2 [DVD] [2013]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 January 2014
With the death of her father, the vengeful Katherine now owns the store. Recalling Moray back to the Paradise she remarks on seeing him, "It was a ridiculous notion to imagine I could marry a storekeeper and be at war with a shop girl". This, a year after being jilted by Moray for the lovely Denise, Katherine has married, picking someone who has the hallmarks of a money-grabbing scoundrel written all over him; penniless Tom Weston (Ben Daniels), an ex-soldier, philanderer and no doubt has a wolf-like agenda of his own. He comes with a young daughter, rapidly spoilt. A financier (Adrian Scarborough) and 'cor blimey' no nonsense cook Myrtle (Lisa Millett) have joined the cast.

The second series is pure theatrical drama (even with an impromptu musical hall performance by the staff), with lavish costumes, excellent acting and a top-notch script. The character interaction involves power struggles, jealousy, personal forays and disagreements with creative ideas being binned. The relationships between the protagonists are something of a roller coaster ride all adding to the entertainment and 'whose move is it next and where will it end up?'. Jonas, meanwhile, alternates from being the wise man to the stirrer. The brief appearances of Moray's friend Clemence Romanis, (Branka Katic), a racy feminist firecracker selling herself and her own firecrackers and putting Tom firmly in his place, livens the store's atmosphere.

This, as with the first series, has been enjoyable escapism with a strong visual and interpersonal emphasis. The acting and production team have been marvellous and although the ending was a bit rushed and convenient, the whole series has been a resounding success and for me compulsive viewing. Hopefully a third series will be commissioned as there is still plenty of fuel in the tank. Wonderful. English subtitles.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2014
I found this absolutely enchanting! The store, itself, is charming, and the actors do a wonderful job in making you believe in them.

There are plenty possible storylines left for a series 3, but the fact that it hasn't, as yet, been recommissioned is not a good sign. The second series was recommissioned while the first series was still being broadcast.

I miss Denise and Moray and can only hope that the BBC do the right thing and announce a third series. We need to know if Denise and Moray eventually marry. I would also like to eventually see Dudley's family. Will Jonas have turned over a new leaf? He certainly softened towards Denise and seems to have a soft spot for her. More Please!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2015
There are many things to delight the viewer of "The Paradise". The physical beauty of the costumes, the hairstyles and the Paradise itself is one of them. The Victorian style dialogue is another, not to mention how the tension slowly builds throught the season to rise higher and higher in the final episode. This was however marred for me by feminists themes that seemed unauthentic to the time period, irrelevant to this type of drama and cheated the viewer of a true happy ending. A great shame, since the rest of the show seemed very authentic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2014
The first season was super. But what happened then? The engaging story about the running of a departmentstore in Newcastle at the end of the 19th century is turned into a second rate soapopera about romantic and business rivalry where the audience can feel no sympathy for any of the characters. The series was cancelled after this season. A good descicion!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2014
I am still mad at BBC for ending the show which I personally found better than M'r. Selfridge, simply because the love triangle story was more intense and compelling. Outstanding acting and a nice story. It was a joy to watch a show revolving around an earlier time period (1870s), since I love the Victorian age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2016
Really enjoyed getting into this series, I have bought it several times over for gifting which has gone down well. Nice and easy going :o)
Love, romance, rivalry, jealousy - its all in this series, a must watch for the ladies. :o)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2014
AS THE WORLD CUP APPROACHS I THOUGHT I HAD BETTER EQUIP MYSELF WITH SOME DISTRACTION LOL SO IVE BOUGHT THIS AND THE 2ND SERIES OF MR SELFRIDGE TO WATCH - CANT WAIT AS I LOVED BOTH OF THE 1ST SERIES OF THESE EXCELLENT SHOWS - ROLL ON WORLD CUP - ARRIVED VERY QUICKLY AND WELL WRAPPED
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2014
Superb realisation , , beautiful images, good actors, the story comes from Emile Zolas "Le BOnheur des Dames' so, thats a reference, and the serie takes away the gloomyness of Zola.. so that means, one spends nice and captivating moments ,
We loved it. The main actress is charming .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2014
I preferred this to Mr. Selfridge, which was just a bit too much, and watched it on UK discs in the USA since PBS has the habit of editing just about everything British to fit non existent Sunday night schedules (much be some latent hostility from some past altercation). At any rate, its a shame this series was cancelled. UK viewers evidently must suffer as we do in the States with nothing but trashy people on reality shows, presenting the news, talking vacantly on TV shows, etc. The list is endless. Best wishes to the cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse