Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 29 April 2016
Robert Redford is amazing. He sustains the film, which obviously has no dialogue, to the end in a very moving and realistic way. We were rooting for him the whole time and the best thing about the film is the absence of shock tactics..just the whole sequence of events playing itself out to a conclusion you can decide for yourself!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2017
Bored me rigid. Rather watch paint dry.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2014
This is a journey...
If you want to go through this journey then be prepared to be slowly and gradually broken down physically and emotionally. I was exhausted by the end. I watched this film half working on something else but it constantly pulled me in, beginning with the words "13th July..." The title 'All is lost' doesn't really prepare you... a five star film simply because it is a stellar work of art. In literature terms I rank it with Ernest Hemingway's 'Old man and the Sea' and that my friends won the Nobel prize ... Watch this film... make the time to watch it when you've got no distractions... if you are the type that cry get a box of tissues you'll need them but don't get me wrong this isn't a tear-jerker, no that it's not, you will find yourself at times silently screaming with frustration, you will live through every moment... here I stop, the rest, is up to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2014
Certainly a good film to watch settled in a comfy armchair with a nice glass or two at hand, thinking Rather You Than Me, Mate. You have to admire Redford's character, as he does everything possible to survive, although to non-nautical types some of the tasks are difficult to understand. But with a cast of one, barely any dialogue and no voiceover (which would spoil the film), this is unavoidable, and it doesn't detract from a gripping tale. It would have better to see more emotion from Redford - he confronts each calamity with the same steady gaze - and the only time he loses it is rather unconvincing. Towards the end, though, you are really rooting for this guy - surely he must survive ? Please let him make it ! The final scenes are heart-wrenching, and the very last frame revelatory - and viewers are left to draw their own conclusions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2014
If you have a Home Cinema & you love surround sound, BUY THIS MOVIE! It's a ok movie but what I enjoyed more than anything is the sound mixing. Those without a 5.1 or higher sound system will basically say the film is boring, but that is their own fault because picture is only half of the experience, having a big tv alone does not give you the full ''Cinema'' experience, if you really want to enjoy films as they were intended you need the appropriate devices to do so, that is why films have audio & video information on the back of the case such as ''Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS-HD 7.1'' they don't include the multichannel (surround sound) for fun, it's there for a reason. The 5.1 DTS-HD audio track on this movie will take your ears right into the storm with the lead character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2015
Really enjoyed this film as sailor myself! Some inaccuracies from a sailors perspective but really thought provoking safety wise in one sole persons quest for survival. Was recommended to watch from a friend and would pass that recommendation on
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 March 2015
Robert Redford is an actor that rarely misses a beat in films, and this movie is no exception.

He plays the man with no name who is sailing on his own and hits a cargo container that starts his vessel to take on water.

The rest of the film is literally him facing the elements, lost at sea, bstuck in storms and fighting starvation and dehydration.

A film with hardly any dialogue, relies purely on redfords performance and the directors visual style capturing both his lead actors torment and the scary but beautifully filmed vastness of thd sky and ocean.

Sad, uplifting, powerful film making that will not appeal to all, but for those that do it's a rewarding if draining experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2015
I like the movie - old American man on a trip away from his success. His on boat attitude is what I always abhorred . To duck into the cabin for a nap. Lay back tiredness being complacent. The absence of a bilge pump not switched as the first step at accident. The repair rather not nautical . The storm handling rather Jack's way . A capsize I heard such events what technical team manufactured was and is difficult to digest on such peeling as used for the movie. Life raft and life lines rather poorly made. The navigation in life raft very strange way of dead reckoning exercise . The distillation of sea water good improvisation for the screen . Reality of sea lane traffic ?? The endurance and dramatization 10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2015
A thought provoking film, which at times is a little slow, but nevertheless shows us just how far we can actually push ourselves when circumstance dictates. An excellent performance by Redford.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2014
some people might think this is boring, when it only has pretty much one actor in and he doesn't exactly talk much.
but..... saying that this is a pretty good film.
seeing how one man reacts to one disaster after another happening to him when he is alone in the middle of the ocean.
a great film from the perspective of a great storyline, a good old actor and the scenery looking so realistic.
each time making you feel sorry for him and willing him to keep going.
I would recommend this one if you like films that are just a general good, gripping story that makes you think what would I do in that situation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)