Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
130
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2017
Was looking forward to reading this, but found it repetitive and twee, even a bit sugary! Stuck with it till the end, but slightly underwhelmed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Story sad but uplifting. This book would translate into a film to easily rival The Help. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
I really loved this book, it was sad and funny and very well written. I would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I loved this book. Elaine Hussey has such an easy writing style and is able to draw the reader completely into the story. I loved the way she saw life both through a child's eyes and an adult's eyes. The story was bittersweet but so worth the read. I can't wait for her next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
Set in late 50's America when blacks still didn't have equal rights. Good story, very griping, could be a true story. If you liked The Help, you'll like this!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Not an easy book to get into at the start, but well worth persevering with. The story line soon develops into a gripping exposition of friendship under extraordinary circumstances and the consequences of taking responsibility. The characters are well crafted and the reader is an invisible spectator to the the ultimate triumph of love over hate and racism. Difficult to put down, the reader's own views are then challenged by the study questions at the end. The Sweetest HallelujahHighly recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
Bought this while on holiday and thoroughly enjoyed it. No sex, no romance but thoroughly satisfying. The characters are all believable and well drawn - I could not put it down.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
This is special book. The story could be so sad but the author cleverly shows how friendship, love compassion, forgiveness bridges everything , healing wounds and bringing new life and hope. A wonderful start to 2014
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
Got this book as reviewer said if you like The Help you will like this. Well I love The Help and I loved this. Its a sad story about a black woman dying of cancer and needing someone to look after her daughter. But its not depressing, the women in the story are strong, intelligent likeable characters. You will cry, laugh and most importantly want to turn over every page to find out how it will all turn out.
A brilliant page-turner of a book.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
I loved this book! It's a wonderful story and very well written. It made me laugh out loud and cry tears of sadness.

I could not put it down until I had read the last page.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.99

Need customer service? Click here