Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
27
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2017
Great acting and beautifully shot film. Bit of a tear jerker.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Great story and excellent acting
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 September 2013
I was drawn by positive reviews to this Texas backwoods tale of Bob and Ruth, two lovers who get caught up in a shoot-out with the local law officers. Bob takes the rap and goes to jail, leaving Ruth to bear and bring up their child, swearing to wait for him. This has all the potential for a drama of doomed love, but despite good performances from Rooney Mara as Ruth, Patrick Wheeler as the soulful sheriff waiting in the wings for Ruth's favours and Keith Carradine as the storekeeper who brought up the young couple "gone to the bad" I was left frustrated and disappointed by the film.

What one professional reviewer has described as "elliptical storytelling and dreamy magic-hour light" struck me as a very confusing presentation of key details and an underlit, wavering filming technique which often makes it well nigh impossible to see what is going on. Too often, an important scene is flashed onto the screen for a fraction of a second, leaving the viewer unsure what has happened - who shot whom or why. Worst of all, Case Affleck's drawl renders Bob incomprehensible half the time. Although clearly handsome, he comes across as monumentally stupid and dull. In order to make us care about Bob and Ruth, the writer/director needed to develop their characters, relationships and complex motives for their crime.

Although the recent "Beyond the Pines" was flawed, it succeeded better in this type of theme.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 February 2015
This is a slow burner of a film, shot mainly in dark or lowly lit scenes, with ever present but unobtrusive music, it plays out like a southern gothic or murder ballad. While this is not to everyone's taste, it is very effective in conjuring up the close atmosphere of the small town in which the main characters live.
Bob (Casey Affleck) is serving 25 years for shooting a police officer. Ruth (Rooney Mara) actually fired the shot which nearly killed the officer, but as they were both trying to escape the law and Ruth is pregnant with his child, he is happy to take the blame. He vows to escape one day and return to her. He does escape, when their daughter Sylvie is approaching her fourth birthday. Any suspense as such in the film, revolves around whether he will get back to them, get caught or killed. There is also the question of whether Ruth is still waiting for him or is being drawn towards the officer she shot (he is unaware that she was really responsible).
This might sound cliched but involves nuanced performances from all the characters which completely drew me in. It was an unexpected gem.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
One of my absolute favourites. For me, a perfect film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 September 2014
I love Rooney Mara as much as I dislike Casey Affleck. Here, yet again, Mara shines, she is ethereal, while Affleck is comfortable in the role he is playing one film to the next - Southern underdog. "Ain't Them Bodies Saints" is a tragic love story, a lazy meditation on romance of two young sweethearts. There were a couple of heart-breaking scenes in the film, but generally, it dragged on, beautiful, but tiring. It had all the elements of a good film, but it left me emotionally disconnected and not really into the whole drama.

"Ain't Them Bodies Saints" is a fusion bag of gorgeous images and sounds trapped in an only partially-developed narrative. It reminded my of Terrence Malick, and it's not a good thing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
Like some of the the other featured reviewers, I was fooled by the good reviews given to this film, by no less than Mark Kermode on Radio 5 Live, and Roger Ebert, who compared the direction of David Lowery to that of master filmmaker Terrence Malick.

If you're looking for a cure for insomnia, then this fits the bill. The dialogue is stilted and unconvincing, with long gaps, and the brooding, endless soundtrack that is meant to give the film big Texas atmosphere just makes the film seem even slower than it already is.

Casy Affleck has played a few of these Southern dim-witted loser types in his time ('Lonesome Jim', 'The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford', and 'The Killer Inside Me'), but it's really wearing thin now. To say that his character in this film (Bob Muldoon) is not the sharpest knife in the drawer would be to slander the gentle goodness of dull knives. He's just an idiot undeserving of our sympathy.

All I can say on the positive side is that the Texas sky looks impressive, and that Keith Carradine is good as Skerritt (in the same sort of kindly character he played in the TV version of 'Fargo').

Avoid.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Wonderfully shot and it reminded me of a Malick film and wondefully acted. Mara is a truly fantastic new and up and coming actress. And Affleck is always a great watch. Its slow and moody and well worth a watch
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
Slow and laborious
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
Everyone concerned with this film tries very hard, but the end result just doesn't live up to the many reviews detailing its excellence. To compare the film with 'Badlands' is both unfounded and unfair to the former. The story is simple and a variant on a theme that has been filmed many times before, but here the director, in trying to make the story more interesting, only makes things needlessly complicated and at times simply disjointed. Keith Carradine and Patrick Wheeler are both excellent and Rooney Mara is appealing and vulnerable but, by comparison with these three, Casey Afflick's acting seems rather unnatural and his very mannered speech soon becomes simply annoying. In one of the extra features the director gives his reason for the film's unconnected title and I can't help thinking that perhaps his somewhat strangely unrelated reasoning has echoes in the making of the film itself.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)