Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
19
Lily and Madeleine
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 4 January 2014
Heard one of the tracks on a free CD with a music mag and was hooked instantly. I don't have anything else remotely like this, my usual cup of rat poison being along the lines of The Pixies or The Fall. This is truly a wonderful album with no stand out track, certainly the best of 2013. All of the songs have an aching beauty that avoid schmaltz, often with minimal acompanyment. Word of warning, you will find yourself and all those who hear it, humming various extracts of the album, this is not uncommon with a lot of stuff but I can not recall playing an LP quite as many times as this by compulsion. You really HAVE to hear it again. Just don't tell Mark E Smith or Black Francis
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2014
I came across sisters Lily & Madeleine Jurkiewicz from a friend's website, and so I looked at some of their music on you-tube and was so pleasantly surprised to hear some beautiful songs from Lily & Madeleine. Lily & Madeleine had previously released an EP "Weight of the globe" & on the strength of the songs on that EP I bought their first album. All the tracks are all original and written by the sisters and guitarist Kenny Childers. My favourite is "I've got freedom". I am also seeing the sisters playing live at a gig in St Pancras Church, London one of only two days they will be playing in England. The sisters are from Indianapolis USA
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2013
From start to finish this debut album is totally enthralling. There's nothing complicated here, just beautifully written songs filled with delicious harmonies and finely balanced instrumentation that allows the duos voices the prominence they deserve. It's incredible that these sisters are just 16 and 18 years old as there is a timeless quality in their music. I think I'll be listening to this album until the end of time!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2014
Never heard of Lilly and Madeleine until a few weeks ago, brilliant album, can't stop playing it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2015
Great job. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2014
I'm a big fan of these sisters. They have great voices and their songs are warm and beautiful. I gave five stars to their previous album/EP, but only four for this because in my opinion, the songs are not quite as strong. Still a good album though. If you like this album, then make sure you get their earlier one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2015
I listen to this cd EVERY DAY. Beautiful. Touches my heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2014
Fantastic album, bought on the strength of their earlier EP. Not one duff song on the album.

Lovely chilled feel and the sisters voices harmonise beautifully.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2014
Hassle free purchase, how it should be. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Fumes
£12.32
Keep It Together
£13.22

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)