Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
19
4.8 out of 5 stars
Lily and Madeleine
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 6 July 2014
Never heard of Lilly and Madeleine until a few weeks ago, brilliant album, can't stop playing it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
I came across Lily & Madeleine from a friend's Facebook page, and checked out some of their material on you-tube. I have also downloaded their "weight of the globe" EP, which I loved so much, I decided to buy the album as soon as it was released. There are many beautiful soothing songs which these sisters demonstrate their voices to perfection. I thoroughly recommend this CD to any one who enjoys beautiful singing and relaxing music, ideal for a nice evening in.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
Heard one of the tracks on a free CD with a music mag and was hooked instantly. I don't have anything else remotely like this, my usual cup of rat poison being along the lines of The Pixies or The Fall. This is truly a wonderful album with no stand out track, certainly the best of 2013. All of the songs have an aching beauty that avoid schmaltz, often with minimal acompanyment. Word of warning, you will find yourself and all those who hear it, humming various extracts of the album, this is not uncommon with a lot of stuff but I can not recall playing an LP quite as many times as this by compulsion. You really HAVE to hear it again. Just don't tell Mark E Smith or Black Francis
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 October 2013
Lily and Madeleine Jurkiewicz are two teenage sisters from Indianapolis who make acoustic folk music that seems to have come from another age, another time, yet is as fresh and new as tomorrow promises to be. The evocative sound of piano and cello on the opener "Sounds Like Somewhere" ushers in their ethereal and haunting harmonies and leads on to a collection of enchanting, melodic and beguiling songs that are a collaboration between Lily and seasoned Indiana musician, Kenny Childers.

From the lyrical beauty of "Disappearing Heart", the grand harmonic structure of "Come To Me" and the lilting "Nothing But Time", you find that their sound occupies a space that is somewhere between The Fleet Foxes and The Byrds with a suspicion of some Simon and Garfunkel riffs as well.

Madeleine plays piano and Lily plays guitar and they are supported by cello, bass, slide guitar, drums and percussion. With these simple instruments the producer, Paul Mahern, has created a dense and richly textured sound that is essential for the sensual beauty of the songs.

As the album unfolds and then closes with the high harmony sound of "Paradise" and the cello infused "You Got Out" you marvel at how two sisters, so young, could have delivered an album of such maturity and timeless elegance.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 October 2013
Lily and Madeleine Jurkiewicz are two teenage sisters from Indianapolis who make acoustic folk music that seems to have come from another age, another time, yet is as fresh and new as tomorrow promises to be. The evocative sound of piano and cello on the opener "Sounds Like Somewhere" ushers in their ethereal and haunting harmonies and leads on to a collection of enchanting, melodic and beguiling songs that are a collaboration between Lilly and seasoned Indiana musician, Kenny Childers.

From the lyrical beauty of "Disappearing Heart" the grand harmonic structure of "Come To Me" and the lilting "Nothing But Time" you find that their sound occupies a space that is somewhere between The Fleet Foxes and The Byrds with a suspicion of some Simon and Garfunkel riffs as well.

Madeleine plays piano, Lily plays guitar and they are supported by cello, bass, slide guitar, drums and percussion. With these simple instruments the producer, Paul Mahern, has created a dense and richly textured sound that is essential for the sensual beauty of the songs.

As the album unfolds and then closes with the high harmony sound of "Paradise" and the cello infused "You Got Out" you marvel how two sisters, so young, could have delivered an album of such maturity and timeless elegance.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
From start to finish this debut album is totally enthralling. There's nothing complicated here, just beautifully written songs filled with delicious harmonies and finely balanced instrumentation that allows the duos voices the prominence they deserve. It's incredible that these sisters are just 16 and 18 years old as there is a timeless quality in their music. I think I'll be listening to this album until the end of time!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Even though sisters Lily and Madeleine Jurkiewicz are natives of Indianapolis, the wistful and contemplative songs on their self-titled debut album exude a vibe that's more rural than urban, a down-to-earthiness rather than a self-conscious indie-hipster attitude (though the stylish album cover suggests otherwise). Lily & Madeleine's tight, beguiling, Appalachian-style harmonies -- and evocative lyrical lines like "And the porch swing keeps swinging on / Long after your body's gone" -- bring to mind grain fields swaying gently in the breeze, trickling creeks, and the scent of fresh mountain air.

Various instruments are introduced throughout the album -- acoustic guitar, piano, violin, slide guitar, a string section, pedal steel, tambourine, snare drum -- but the songs are all so sparsely and tastefully arranged that each and every composition sounds like a masterclass in subtle yet lush and richly atmospheric songwriting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
I came across sisters Lily & Madeleine Jurkiewicz from a friend's website, and so I looked at some of their music on you-tube and was so pleasantly surprised to hear some beautiful songs from Lily & Madeleine. Lily & Madeleine had previously released an EP "Weight of the globe" & on the strength of the songs on that EP I bought their first album. All the tracks are all original and written by the sisters and guitarist Kenny Childers. My favourite is "I've got freedom". I am also seeing the sisters playing live at a gig in St Pancras Church, London one of only two days they will be playing in England. The sisters are from Indianapolis USA
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I'm a big fan of these sisters. They have great voices and their songs are warm and beautiful. I gave five stars to their previous album/EP, but only four for this because in my opinion, the songs are not quite as strong. Still a good album though. If you like this album, then make sure you get their earlier one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Fantastic album, bought on the strength of their earlier EP. Not one duff song on the album.

Lovely chilled feel and the sisters voices harmonise beautifully.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Fumes
£12.33
Keep It Together
£12.52

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)