Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32


on 15 February 2014
OK, I'm old enough to remember some of these songs when they were first recorded. His repertoire blending American folk, children's songs and protest songs was unique and is the sound of his voice. He delivers songs with joy, sincerity, humour or focused anger as appropriate. This two CD collection includes all my old favourites and some perhaps I hadn't ever heard - or maybe just forgotten. The definitive Pete Seeger - yes, I guess that about sums it up.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2016
One of the definitive folk music stars - of a handful who symbolise a style of music - and who allied it to social endeavours to
make his country a better place to live in. Dylan may have been honoured with the Nobel Prize but Seeger arguably deserved it
more - and it is a matter of conjecture whether his early flirtation with communism in a USA feeling very vulnerable to the
infiltrator and spy for that creed marked him as someone beyond consideration then and for the future. No matter, he was his own
man into a long old age, appearing and playing almost to the end of his life. These tracks are top value and represent a cross
section of the material with which he was associated down the years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2017
Great to hear Pete once again, I remember his music and songs from folk clubs which we used to sing along to. This CD brings back happy memories of Pete and others such as Guthrie and Ledbetter. The Vinyls are not as good as they used to be so this CD is a good replacement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 May 2014
Great selection of Pete Seeger's works. He was one of the seminal artists who influenced a whole generation, including Leonard Cohen & Bob Dylan. In fact, he was considered so subversive, he was put on the FBI's suspected communist list.

Forget the politics. In simple terms, Seeger was a truly great singer/songwriter: one of the best.

Four stars because a little pricey for essentially 60's tracks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2018
Has most of my favourites on it. Even if that wasn't the case it's a great CD. Superb value for money especially as it's a 2CD collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2014
Everyone should appreciate this wonderful album . Not all the tracks
are great but all have an honesty and sincere feel . Recommended .
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2014
Most of his best known songs are here. Seeger is a little dated now but I found this CD worthwhile as it covers his career very well. If you only wanted one Seeger CD, this would be the one for you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2017
Item as described, fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2014
Yet again another excellent cd of this great singer and composer. I love the simplicity of his music and instruments and his true sincere singing
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2016
Was delivered speedily and the quality was up to expectation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)