Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2009
Rebecca's well researched book on the hows, whys, whats and wheres of different small holding and low carbon agricultural projects really looks under the hood of a number of appraoches- couples, communities and networks.

She looks not just at the practicalities of how to make a living using low input techniques but equally, if not much more importantly, she looks at the stresses, issues, and of course happiness that working in such a way places on individuals, relationships, communities, kids and looks at the different stages in life and what that means in this context.

Following extensive visits and corespondence with low carbon projects in the UK and France she draws up some very interesting examples and ideas.

A 'must' read for anyone looking to change their life-style. There's much more to a low carbon lifestyle than solar panels and vegetable patches.

Rebecca's book helps you look at the wider human issues involved. Wish I ahd read it before we made the leap, it would have helped us address so many of the issues we didn't even think about.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2009
My family is weighing up the pros and cons of moving out of a city to a small holding. Rebecca's book is proving to be one of the most useful resources to assess how sensible this might be. We're all very good at imagining the best of the future, how idyllic it might be. We're not necessarily the most realistic with regards to the challenges of the future (Dan Gilbert's: Stumbling on Happiness describes this well). Surviving and Thriving on the Land is a real insight into the real challenges as well as encouraging an approach that would make such a move sustainable in terms of human energy, physical, mental and emotional.

The book is packed with information. She has put a great deal of time into gathering the primary research that fills most of this book; asking the sorts of questions of existing small holders that I would have wanted to ask. The secondary research, facts about peak oil and how productive small scale food production can be are really useful too.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
The book is an informative read.
It's well structured & the research seems very good / thorough.

However, I'd have to say that the book is more of an academic thesis, comparing & contrasting the styles & methods of existing land-working communities (I wouldn't be surprised if this book was an evolution of the author's Masters degree dissertation), than a practical 'how to' type book.

Well worth a read though, as it might help raise issues you hadn't considered; but don't expect a template to follow in order to find happiness working the land.
But then how could you, as everyone is different and will find happiness in different ways!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2009
Very interesting book, if you are thinking of running a smallholding. A lot of tips to save time and energy, hoping to put it to use in the next 12 months.Many topics and answer to any question you can think you will need to know. It was a very good buy, and we have bought many books on running a smallholding in the past.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Very, very disappointing. Was hoping to get some very useful information out of this book. It didn't answer any of my questions and I learnt nothing. Most of the chapters were boring and needn't have been included. A total waste of money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
It wasn't either.

It isn't entertaining as a read - it reads like a thesis.

So then you expect it to be useful, with lots of useful hints and tips pikced up from the author's trips around 28 other smallholdings - you know, don't buy a David Brown, buy a Fordson Major...or, since tables cropped up occassionally, a table of crop ratio's to provide annual self sufficiency ... or business angles that have good labour:profit ratio's etc. But it didn't have anything useful at a practical level.

Definately not for me.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2011
I thought this book was going to be about the practicalities of HOW to thrive in a successful smallholding. It is not. Like another reviewer said, it's a thesis turned into a book, a collection of case studies of various smallholdings in the UK and France and how those people went through the issues of running a smallholding.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2010
This is a well-researched, thoughtful and extremely readable book. There are many books around looking at the practicalities of smallholding, self-sufficiency, down sizing or living a simpler lifestyle, but this is the only one I have found that tackles the issue of how to maintain your energy and enthusiasm and avoid burn-out.

Rebecca looks at different ways of living sustainably - communities, clusters, family groups and individual holdings, comparing the benefits and difficulties of each.

It gives much food for thought for those considering or already on the self-sufficiency path, and for others who find themselves on the workaholic treadmill and don't know quite how to change their approach to life.

Would definitely recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
This really is a masterclass of writing and research into the human part of working the land. Something anyone thinking or already working the land should read to help avoid pitfalls and understand situations that may occur.

Probably the most valuable book to read before or after any other self sufficiency or small holder book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Not so much how to do it more philosophical
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)