Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 10 November 2013
This is a excellent book which is well researched. Dr. Sue Eakin has done a commendable job. I would highly recommend this book to anyone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2013
This is an amazing story brought to life after many years by the work of Dr Sue Eakin, a relative of mine and someone I was privileged to meet in Louisiana where this real life story took place. Harrowing and moving, a true tale of triumph
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2014
If it wasn't for the fact of a Hollywood film, I would never have known of this book. It's an OK read. The additional text shows that some of the men, brought to trial after his freedom, were not convicted. There's some equivocation about his own role in getting into slavery in the first place.
Slavery was an atrocious stain on supposed civilized white people. It deserves to be continually aired. Slavery probably still exists. The book is good for Hollywood, but is it the best story with which to continue to show our abhorrence of slavery?
What about those who were born into slavery, who never became free and who were treated with the utmost barbarity, they are also mentioned here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2014
This was an interesting glimpse back at other times - and those times were pretty brutal. I found the book had more depth than the film and found the tales about Christmas or how sugar was made really added to the experience. You do wonder quite how Sol ended up a slave, and it is sad, that once he'd told his story he seemed to disappear. The additional information in this edition was interesting (but some was hard to read and understand - the appendices for example - with original extracts from newspapers or court documentation). Other readers have said there were typographical mistakes, but if there were, I didn't notice them in this edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2014
A heart rending story of a free man who is duped into travelling with two men, and is then captured and forced into slavery.

This is a very well written book. No spelling mistakes or grammatical errors.
The Dr Eakin has gone to great lengths to research the people and places mentioned in the story.
If you buy the kindle edition, ( with the kindle fire ) you can touch a link and it will take you directly to the research notes relating to that person or place.
Gives you more information on the central character ( and original author ) and some information on his life before and after his capture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2014
this really is one of the best reads on slavery. It is a heartrendering read but extremely informative as it covers not only the impact slavery had on society but Northrup goes into great detail describing the daily chores of the slaves and the backbreaking work in the fields. He also delves into the minds of the slavemasters and you almost, and I mean almost, feel partly sorry for them as they too are as unhappy but doing so little to change things. There were moments in the book where I didn't want to get off the bus as I was so desperate to read the next page. A must read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2014
The story of Solomon Northup should be read and learned by all right thinking people. It is an emotional rollercoaster of a book, draining and uplifting in equal measure. The pity one feels for the slave, Solomon Northup, is finally overcome with admiration for the strength and fortitude he showed when finally rescued and returned to his free life. Twelve years having passed his life could never be the same but Solomon survived even his return to freedom with dignity intact. A wonderful biography of an extraordinary life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2013
Absolutely brilliant read I couldn't put this down. Highly highly recommended. Great value too. Thanks Dr.Sue Eakin! Great history lesson.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2014
My friend and I saw the film which was so good and thought-provoking that we both bought the book. Of course being a book, it is far more detailed in informative than the film as Solomon Northrup was a very intelligent man. One gets a great insight into the man as he details his thoughts on his situation, his opinions of the people he encounters both slaves and slave-masters and also the work he does and the methods used. Go and see the film and buy this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2013
I bought this when I heard about the film and wanted to read the book and draw my own conclusions before watching the film.
It's a compelling read made even more so by the fact that it's a true account, ghost written 3 months after the man regained his freedom. Went on to read Uncle Tom's Cabin which although better written would not have seemed as credible had it not been for reading Twelve Years a Slave beforehand. Both highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here