Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 30 May 2017
A downbeat start to an alarmingly prescient novel. To say more would be to spoil the plot but there are passages here which, although written in 1979, could have been written today.

And, as always, it's great to spend time with McGee, even if this time it's serious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2015
Bought these books originally following a recommendation by Lee Child in one of his Reacher books. After the first book I was hooked and have now read the complete Travis McGee series. If you love Jack Reacher you'll love these books too. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2012
The Green Ripper is the 18th McGee novel in a series of twenty one. Macdonald writes elegantly in an easy and engaging style. His characterisation is excellent, and he has a keen eye for observing and commenting on different social phenomena. The first half of the story is well plotted and paced, unfolding in a way that draws the reader in. The second half though lacked any real credibility. Whilst how the religious cult operates and the motivations behind their actions seemed realistic, how they act with respect to McGee is a nonsense. The rule of the camp is to kill all interlopers. McGee is not only spared, he is invited into the group and becomes a confidant to all the other elite combat group members. Then when they discover the truth, he triumphs against the odds. All tense stuff, but it's all but impossible for the reader to buy it. I was confident based on the first thirty pages or so that this was going to be a five stars book, but in the end it tailed off to be a slightly above average affair.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2000
John D. MacDonald's Travis McGee seems timeless. This "knight in tarnished armor," as Time magazine called him, is as pertinent today as when "The Green Ripper" was published in 1979.
Travis, once again, is confronted with his own mortality when Gretel, the woman he feels he is truly in love with, is murdered. McGee, as in episodes past (and this is the18th) feels that retribution, or justice, whichever comes first, is something that he, personally, must pursue. The "game is afoot," as it were, and the chase leads us through the forces of a religious cult (quite the topic in 1979), the Church of the Apocrypha. Travis "joins" to gain their confidence and little does he know the far-reaching ramifications of this group. The author cites George Santayana in a preface statement: "Fanaticism is described as redoubling your effort when you have forgotten your aim." And when you have finished "The Green Ripper," fanaticism is spelled with a capital "F"!
Probably, "The Green Ripper" is the most suspenseful of the McGee series (always characterized by a color in the title). MacDonald is methodical in his plot developments and while suspense is naturally a necessary ingredient, in this book it becomes perhaps the most important aspect. But the author stays true to McGee, probably Florida's most famous literary character, and readers will not be disappointed. As in the other books, vivid description, poignant characterization, and a top-drawer storyline, marked by sparks of good humor, are MacDonald's trademark. It's a worthy read!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2015
I have just finished the final Travis McGee novel, and it is like the death of an old friend. Yes, they are a little bit formulaic if you read them all, but if you like Lee Child's 'Jack Reacher' or Robert B Parker's 'Spenser', you'll love Travis McGee. In my view John D MacDonald was ahead of his time; classics of the genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2014
I love travis! Lee childs jack reacher was created with inspiration from Travis! I have read 16 out of the 22 books in the series and I love them and they are only £2.50
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2014
Very good Book. Very pleased with it. Hope there is more like that. I really enjoy Lee Child Books. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2014
If you've never read any of John D. MacDonald's books, you're missing out.
Get out there and buy one !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2014
Travis McGee is a great character to read, and this story - like all in the series, was hugely enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2014
This is the 18th Travis McGee book that I have read, I just like the characters so much I keep reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse