Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
154
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 July 2014
I love watching the old Doctor Who Stories, especially the ones that I havn't seen before, far better viewing than the new series that is on the television.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
A truly great story. The first instance of regeneration. Again the animated sections are carried out with feeling and precision. A job well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
The Doctor's first encounter with the Cybermen, those forerunners of the Borg, and William Hartnel's exit from the role of the Doctor! Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
I choose this rating because I enjoy watching old Dr who stories and also to see the changes made to the costumes of the enemies of the doctor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
A Classic.
Great DVD brings an end to Hartnells Doctor.
The animated episode is extremely well done. A must any Doctor Who fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
The Tenth Planet has a reputation that will always be hard for it to live up to - the first Cybermen! The last 1st Doctor story/First regeneration story!

The story just isn't much cop though. It's a tedious base-under-seige story with forgettable supporting characters and a distinct lack of William Hartnell (he was presumably sick during the filming of this as he is absent for a significant amount of the story). No witty dialogue; not a particularly amazing plot. This story gets its fame from it's importance in the show's history rather than its own merits. As a good piece of drama it deserves faint praise at best.

The Cybermen aren't exactly poorly realised - I normally try to defend them as intended to be bizarre rather than frightening. But they do sound a lot like Peter Sellers' Bluebottle voice from The Goon Show. The concept of the Cybermen is really interesting, but their role in the plot once their concept has been explained is to behave like routine bad guys for the rest of the story.

It's still an enjoyable enough watch - the missing 4th episode has been very well reconstructed using animation as has been done with certain stories since The Invasion. This divides opinions with some people, but as long as the animation is of a good quality I think it's a great way of making the surviving soundtracks come to life.

So The Tenth Planet is probably a story I would categorize as being for completists only. If you watch the story on its own terms and try to forget about its subsequent reputation as a game-changer, it keeps chugging along being just about interesting enough to hold the attention. If you're new to Doctor Who or are curious about trying some Hartnell/Cybermen for the first time I definitely wouldn't recommend this one as it is not representative of either. Watched in the 21st century it's more of a curate's egg.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Bought to replace video versions, these classic episodes are an informative insight and fitting tribute to the BBC's historical legacy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2016
Had been looking for this one for a long time. Completes the set of episodes showing the Doctor regenerating, so very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
Typical Doctor Who tale. Only bought this to firm up my collection. Enjoyable vintage fun - try it. William Hartnell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2016
Another 'old' Doctor who I had missed and thought lost to me. I enjoyed watching it. The quality is fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse