Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
60
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 12 March 2017
What a lovely book this is, beautifully illustrated and charming and informative text. Quite old now, (still has Finisterre) but an excellent read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2017
Lovely book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
arrived in good condition, everything perfect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
This quirky book is ideal for all those who delight in the mysterious names of the shipping forecast. The author visited every one of the shipping areas and gives atmospheric comments on each one. He also painted them with delightful watercolours. In addition 75p of the cost of the book is given to the RNLI. He calls the book 'an indulgence' but it is informative, entertaining, and particularly, for those prone to seasickness, a good substitute to visiting the places for ourselves!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
What a unusual book, but I am sure there have been countless numbers of us, who have wondered what Tiree Automatic or German Bight looks like.

The original shipping forcast was devised by the great maritime seafarer Admiral Fitzroy, the captain of HMS Beaglle that took Charles Darwin on his voyage of discovery.

The radio broadcast we hear four times a day on Radio 4, first came into being in 1920, and the most recent addition to the shipping areas is Fitzroy itself.

These beautiful coloured paintings give us a real taste of what Hurricane Force 12 would look like in Biscay or Viking.

The ideal book to be reading in bed,just before Radio 4 closes for the night at 1am.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2009
I fully agree with all the reviews gone before. This is a superb book and I must say acts as a companion to Charlie Connelly's excellent "Attention all Shipping" which also brings vividly to life, all the areas of the shipping broadcast. Most of us are tucked up at night waiting for Ronald Binge's "Sailing By" music followed by the shipping forecast before we can safely sleep. I'm sure I am not the only one who thinks, during the reading, of sailors out there on the high seas and at the mercy of the weather. I also can visualise during the reading how it might have been for ships over many centuries on the high seas and those that perished in shipwrecks on the rocks around the UK and Ireland. With this book and Charlie Connelly's book, we can all now visit the areas. Tempting to have this book on one's lap whilst listening to the shipping broadcast!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THIS BOOK, THE PICTURES IN IT ARE LOVELY AND HAVING BEEN TO SOME OF THE PLACES SHOWN MAKES IT EXTRA SPECIAL. IT ARRIVED ON TIME, WELL WRAPPED, SO NO PROBLEMS.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
Main paintings capture light and water, delicate sketches, some fascinating information delivered with humour ... but most of all, I could hear again the voice of the shipping forecast as I, too, sat comfortably to listen with mother back in the fifties. Thank you, Peter Collyer: lovely idea, brilliantly executed!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 1999
This book is all about the Radio 4 Shipping Forecast, but if it sounds dull, it's not. The author visits the areas concerned, and accompanied by paintings of the area, it'll make you listen to the Shipping Forecast again!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2000
Please do not be put off by the title, this is a travel book that makes you feel you have visited the places described. Although it is beautifully illustrated, this book's strength is it's text. I read it in one sitting and I was completely lost. You will listen to the shipping forecast with new ears!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)