Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2008
Although not as good as the album he made (in about 1971) this is still a fine compilation of his mostly early work, with a few of his better songs of the late 60s thrown in. Anyone who falls for that 'not very funny dirty old man' rubbish would be missing this comic's gift for parody and his verbal dexterity. He was also more musical than most other comedians and on this compilation we get hints of it, if nowhere near as much as the stream of great melodies he produced on that very hard to get hold of album I mentioned. This CD shows his gift for both the sauciness he became notorious for and the spoofing of great artists he is unfairly less noted for. His send ups of Bob Dylan, Barry Maguire, and Sonny & Cher in particular, on this CD, never fail to have me in stiches at his OTT caricatures. He wasn't the best mimic at all, not in the sense of being vocally accurate in the way Peter Sellers, for example was, but his all out fun approach to his send ups and his playground sense of humour would more than compensate. In fact, if there's been a better writer-performer of the 'comedy song' I will very happily eat my toupe.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2001
Benny Hill was a comical genius, not only acting on screen but with his music. The whole album is brilliant. I think that sums it up pretty much. The standout tracks though are: ERNIE, THE OLD FIDDLER, TRANSISTOR RADIO, and GATHER IN THE MUSHROOOMS.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2011
If you like old British comedy like Carry on's, on the buses or Handcock, you'll love this, yes it's pure cheesy slapsick, mother in law stuff, that's why it's so good. "My wife's not one in a million, she looks like she's won in a raffle" It don't get better than this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2009
This has been in heavy rotation in the car the past couple of weeks, helping dispel (a little) the will-to-live-crushing dreariness of the season, place and circumstances. I'd forgotten how good Benny's wordplay was and can see that oddly ageless face beaming out as I listen to these tracks, which cover a wide range of (then)popular styles, but tend to default to Country-styled lists of jokes and woes. Some gags are recycled but so what? Can you imagine ANY of the crop of performers who have emerged since Mr Hill was condemned as "ungood" and "politically deviant" leaving anything that lasts 30-40 years and still warms an audience? Or being capable of generating mirth & good cheer (rather than smug gloating and/or a sense of superiority) at all?

Can't wait to hear the just-reissued 'Ernie' disc...

Fave tracks: 'Rose' and 'The Old Fiddler'
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
excellent CD for Benny Hill fans, I actually had this CD as part of a 6 pack by comedy allstars but must have left it in the CD player when I changed my car and for 3 years now have been looking to replace it and HERE IT IS!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
There is some good stuff on this album (and fond memories) and although i like some of the wit it is very repetitive with the same "gags" used in several songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Very quick, good communications and a pleasure to do business with. A+++++++++++

Looked for this for a long time used to have it on vinyl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
Really pleased, it arrived within a week, very good condition that's both the CD and the case, what a good blast from the
Past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
Great music from Benny added with spicy humour, great value for money and again 5 stars is not enough. worth 10 any day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
This cd brought back lots of happy memories for my husband, I got it as a gift and he was really pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)