Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 July 2006
This is a delightful book, with appealing characters. The opening chapter draws in the reader and quickly establishes the focus of the storyline.

Seven sisters with special "gifts" that they use to help others, sometimes as individuals, and sometimes together as a group. They have intriguing ways: of communicating with each other; of making things happen across gentle breezes; and especially with curtains!

An injured hero, struggling under the weight of adversity, both mental and physical, who unknowingly needs their help. Plus a tantalising and slightly whimsical prophecy involving them all.

I loved the story, even though I found it to be sadly, far too short. Which is a shame as there was plenty of scope to develop both the characters and the plot; the story presented opportunities that were never pursued. This is particularly true of the last few pages, which speedily brings everything to an almost perfunctory conclusion, almost as if the author was struggling to meet a publishing deadline. Plus, I thought that there was insufficient explanation of certain aspects, for example, the motivation of the hero's pursuers.

In spite of this, I find myself rating this book with 4 stars as I found it to be a pleasurable read. But be warned - at only just over 100 pages, it won't last you long!
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
I can't count how many times I have read the Drake sisters series, the story lines I s always so fresh and interesting.
Sarah, the oldest of the Drake sisters has returned to Sea Haven to take on bodyguard duties to Damon Wilder. Damon a brilliant but damaged man just want to be left alone, he has found peace in Sea Haven after an attack that took t he life of his friend.
Neither Sarah or Damon could imagine the impact of their meeting on each other, and danger is not far away. Magical Sarah and her sisters astound Damon's scientific mind - he has no explanation of the powers the sisters hold as they battle against darkness that is weighing him down and the assailants who want the secrets his brilliant mind holds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Brilliant! Seven sisters all with incredible gits. Sarah is home at last and even the wind welcomes her back. Her protective instincts are aroused by a man in need. Will she be able to keep him safe? Will they find out who is after him? A wonderfully written novel that draws you in from the start with terrific characters and a great plot. I have this in hardback as well and have read it many times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
From the beginning of this book, when the wind is whispering, "Sarah's back" to Damon, the atmosphere is one of mystery and magic. It draws you in and wraps around you until you have to believe that the sisters really can have mystic power.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
I was reading the Seahaven series by this author, which is actually a follow-up from this one. It seemed a good idea to go back to the real beginning, and this book isn't bad, but slight in comparison.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
This book is what I call a happy book.its characters make you feel good with magic and mystery thrown in
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Re-reading it again whilst laid up and as always it demands my whole attention. Love the whole series and the well drawn characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
Any one who enjoys this style of writing, just like Thea Harrison. Addictive the more you read the more you want to know what happens next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 February 2009
Damon Wilder has found sanctuary in Sea Haven, finding peace following a terrifying ordeal which left his partner dead and he physically and mentally scarred. Yet when the locals gossip that Sarah Drake is returning home, in fact he could swear the very wind is whispering her name, Damon becomes restless and agitated, determined to meet this woman who inspires such awe and respect in the townsfolk. Approaching the Drake family home; Damon immediately feels a sense of welcome and walking through the open gate his fate and that of Sarah's is sealed.

Sarah and her six younger sisters (although only 4 Drake sisters physically appear in this book as the others have yet to return from their travels abroad) come from a long line of magical women and each have a special power. Gifted with agility, grace and clairvoyance, it is prophesied that the Drake family home will open it's locked gate and welcome the eldest daughter's true love, and within a year each sister in order of age will find their own destined match. But Damon is not just the man destined for Sarah and the man she quickly falls in love with, he is a man bowed under the weight of the shadow of Death and still a target for those that kidnapped and tortured him nearly a year ago.

This book has everything I want in a paranormal romance; featuring a family prophecy, strange powers, perfect destined mates, equally carefully crafted secondary characters, blossoming love and plenty of humour, intrigue and action woven into the romance. "Magic in the Wind" first appeared in the anthology "Lover Beware" published 2003; however it has been extended by an additional chapter. That said, this is still a very short novel (not quite 150 pages) and far too brief for me because I wanted more, more, more (hence the lost star). I loved this author's "Dark" series until I became annoyed by the same story line overly repeated and never took a liking to her "Ghost Walker" series; yet CF has managed to firmly engage my interest again with her "Drake Sisters" books, an intended 7 book series with each sister taking a lead role. I will certainly be reading the next 5 full length novels currently available in this series (in reading order "The Twilight Before Christmas", "Oceans of Fire", "Dangerous Tides", "Safe Harbor" and "Turbulent Sea") whilst the final book "Hidden Currents" is due for publication July 09.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
Great book to read all Christine Feehan are all addicted once you read 1 you have to read the rest of the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse