Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 October 2014
*** REGION ONE, REGION FREE, BLU-RAY REVIEW*** This film for me is the best horror film in the history of cinema, it does not matter how many times I have seen this film, it just gets better and better as years go buy, and the Blu-ray picture quality is just perfect. I read a fact about this film, it seems peter cushing and Christopher lee were both offered the part of Dr loomis(Donald pleasence) but both turned it down due to lack of money. Christopher lee later told john carpenter it was one of his biggest mistake of his carer due to the films success, but for me I am glad they did, pleasance for me was the only man for the job.

***FEATURES BELOW***

Blu-ray is region free

Audio commentary with:
- JOHN CARPENTER
- Jamie Lee Curtis
- Debra Hill

Fast film facts
Halloween: A Cut Above
the rest Featurette
Trailer
TV Spots
Radio Spots
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
Absolutely fantastic Horror movie with masterpiece camerawork, good acting and script. The look of terror on Donald Pleasance's face is priceless and Jamie Lee Curtis's scream scared the hell out of me. But that theme music is so scary. Ordered it for Halloween and it arrived on Halloween! Recommended for Horror fans that might not have seen it......yet! Worth the money.
Im going to re-order it to get the 2 disc special features as Im desperate to watch the extras!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 October 2006
This is one of the greatest horror films ever made and deserves a place on every horror film fans shelf. Made on a showstring budget of about $300,000 it went on to become the most successful independent movie of all time.

The film is directed by John Carpenter, who at this time was churning out cult classics every year or two. Carpenters use of the camera as the killers view set a trend that continues to this day. Of course 'The Shape' as he came to be known, is a truly nightmarish creation. He wears a mask, which apparently was originally a Captain Kirk mask which one of the crew adapted! He's virtually indestructible, totally inhuman and one of the scariest killers ever.

Jamie Lee Curtis is pretty good, but the main reason to watch this from an acting point of view is Donald Pleasence who plays Dr Sam Loomis. Pleasence's role is crucial to the film, as some of the lines he has to deliver are, well a little clunky, such as

"He's gone from here, The evil is gone".

However Pleasence delivers them, good or bad, with conviction and gives a fantastic performance.

Another reason this film works is Carpenters creepy musical score, which racks up the tension at all the right points.

I'll give the final word to Dr Loomis:

"I met this six-year-old child, with this blank, pale, emotionless face and, the blackest eyes... the devil's eyes! I spent eight years trying to reach him, and then another seven trying to keep him locked up because I realized what was living behind that boy's eyes was purely and simply... evil!"
22 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
This was quite original when it came out and is still quite chilling today. It is quite understated, there’s not a lot of blood, which makes it all the more shocking when there is violence shown, although it’s not graphic by today’s standards.

Donald Pleasance was a great choice as the hapless doctor trying to recapture his psychopathic patient. The real stars of the movie though are the three college girls going about their usual routine of baby-sitting, seeing boyfriends etc. without realising someone is stalking them.

An early John Carpenter movie made on a shoestring budget, the mask worn by the killer was just a cheap one bought from a local store and adapted for the movie. An interesting fact is that Jamie Lee Curtis’s mother was Janet Leigh who was in another classic; Psycho (1960).

A genuine horror classic that spawned many sequels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
If I could rate this blu ray of the ORIGINAL Halloween 200 stars I would, just to counteract all the 1 star reviews relating to the god awful Rob Zombie remake!!! Sort it out, Amazon!

Anyway, this blu ray version is a MUST BUY for any fan of the original. The picture quality is stunning for a catalogue release. This has been a fave of mine for years now (after freaking me out as a kid in the 80's), and I am noticing so many details I hadn't done before!

It is also incredibly cheap for a blu, so what excuse have you got? Unless you one of the dozy few that prefer the terrible Zombie rubbish.
33 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
Like many movies - particularly of this kind - it helps pass away a rainy evening. I saw it on release and had forgotten almost everything about it - unlike 'Assault On Precinct 13', which I also saw on the big screen and which stayed with me (like many movies I've seen over the past fifty-odd years, ranging from 'Darby O'Gill And The Little People' to 'Reservoir Dogs'). I did, however, remember Donald Pleasance (one of my favourite actors) and Blue Oyster Cult.
But what was happening at the beginning, when Loomis and the nurse reach the loony-bin? Where did Michael learn to drive? How could he have carried around that headstone without assistance? All right, so it's probably no odder than Liz Frankenstein turning from Mae Clarke into Valerie Hobson, but it sure goes a long way to proving John Landis's contention that most fantasy films are s***.
Carpenter was a pretty good moviemaker in his day (which was short enough) - not unlike De Palma. Give them more money, though, and what do they do? Make high-budget stinkers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
This film is still as good now as when it was made - good old Michael Myers is a legend and this film is where it all begins- Jamie Lee Curtis is still the greatest scream queen of all time & you'll never look at a wardrobe in the same way again 5* entertainment !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Each year on October 31st, this is the film I have playing when the little ghosts and goblins come knockin' on my door begging for sweeties. But I did not know until today that the mask Michael Meyers wears in "Halloween" was a William Shatner mask from the movie "The Devil's Ram" spray-painted white. See? There are just soooooo many levels of horror to this film, which has not been equaled let alone surpassed by all the low-budget splasher flicks that have come down the road ever since.
Why is John Carpenter's film a classic? I think a lot of the credit goes to the two stars in front of the camera. Donald Pleasence certainly brings legitimacy to the role of Dr. Loomis, who keeps warning people who simply refuse to listen. But Jamie Lee Curits is perfect for the role of Laurie Strode. Compare here to the virgin character (i.e., the girl who survives) in all the other splatter flicks (e.g., any "Friday the 13th"), and she is just so much more real than they any of the rest of them. You certainly believe she would be a damn fine baby-sitter. It is almost hard to believe she goes out to be a femme fatale in films like "True Lies" because she is so much the good girl next door in this one.
As a director John Carpenter definitely has fun, as evidenced from the opening tracking shot, a homage to the opening of Orson Welles' "Touch of Evil." Actually, "Halloween" is replete with homages to various films ("Sam Loomis" was a character in "Psycho"). But what Halloween does better than any other film in this genre since "Psycho" is use music, which Carpenter wrote. Yes, it is very primitive (compare the music used for the climax of "Halloween" with the more sophisticated stuff used for the same scene when it is used to open "Halloween II"), but it is used effectively throughout the film to create a consistent sense of unease. You have to wonder if Carpenter was thinking in those terms as he shot the film. The film is remarkably free of blood and gore.
"Halloween" was shot in 21 days on a budget of $300,000 and then went on to become the highest-grossing independent film ever made. I remember the massive word of mouth that this was actually a "good" horror film, something rare to be treasured like "The Exorcist" while Hollywood puts out all those schlock films. You might think there are better horror films that have come out since "Halloween," but most of you are not going to get to your second hand to need fingers to count them.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
Even after a dearth of horror films, Halloween continues to be up there as one of the scariest ever made. It is probably a combination of all of the elements - a well-chosen musical score, the element of mental instability in the perpetrator and the evil presence of the mask, a silent mask, when he kills. A classic well worth having in your horror film collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2010
There seems to be a mixup here, Amazon! The item description refers to the sequel, but this product (which I bought) is the original John Carpenter 'Halloween' (1978), on Bluray. The reviews are a real mess, mixing everything up. So: if you want the 1978-version, this is it. The sequel is to be found elsewhere.

So: Amazon.co.uk, get this right please.

About the film there is not much to say other than this is a classic horror movie that everyone interested in cinema should watch.

The Bluray transfer looks fine, I watched it on a projector without problems. There is also a documentary which I haven't seen yet.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)