Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
4.4 out of 5 stars
The Best Of Propaganda
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 September 2017
Received the next day and pleased with the content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
having been re-introduced to Propaganda via a compilation cd containing both Duel and Dr Mabuse i just really needed one of their CD's,this one fit the requirement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
Whilst there is nothing unreleased here, it does seem justified to have a 2-cd compilation. This is quite a good companion release to Noise & Girls (which included some unreleased versions) despite a few overlaps, and also brings together versions of all tracks on Secret Wish and most of Wishful Thinking! These are from the remastered ZTT/Salvo releases so the sound is great throughout, and the alternative track-listing makes this a worthwhile addition to any fan's collection. Initial pressings were mispressed so CD2 played the same 14 tracks as CD1, although the label and matrix were different - but the copy I have recently purchased on Amazon is fine, as the Record Company did a re-press early October.

The dubs/instrumentals and extended versions are often quite challenging, so CD1 is closer to a traditional best of, but CD2 is just as worthwhile. You get some new liner notes (Thein unfortunately passed away earlier this year) and a small foldout poster of the cover too! I would recommend this rather low-key budget release to anyone who had a passing interest in the band, purely based on the radio-played singles of the time, as well as ardent fans. Unusually for a compilation that itself compiles from recently released compilations/expanded versions, this 'Best Of' is arguably better than its recent predecessors - a rare quality!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
I've been a fan of Propaganda since 84 and Dr Mabuse, buying all the singles, lp, cd, re-issues etc etc and I have to say that for the price, this is a must!
Yes, we've heard it all before but there are some great tracks and mixes on here and I urge you all to give it a go, even over the recent Noise and Girls Come Out to Play compilation
I stumbled across this from just searching around on Amazon and thought it may be a bootleg as there's been nothing on the ZTT website not on Salvo (well, at least when I ordered) - but it's all above board, great cover, linear notes and poster to boot - BUY THIS CD!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
ZTT's best artist.....period !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Firstly the fold out booklet contains a potted history of mid-80s Propaganda and also an explanation of the different versions of 'A Secret Wish' released at the time.This folds out into a poster which isn't of great quality. Also included in the booklet and in the digi-pack are adverts for other releases,including an album by Celine Dion!!I don't want to find adverts for other artists included in any booklet. But maybe that's just me.
As for the music. Basically there are are versions of tracks that pretty much cover everything on 'A Secret Wish' and 'Wishful Thinking'.There are also a handful of remixes. If you already own 'A Secret Wish' (2010 2 cd reissue),'Wishful Thinking' (2012 reissue) and the compilation 'Noise And Girls Come Out To Play'then you will already have all the tracks on this release. However if you're looking for a general introduction to mid-80s Propaganda then this does the job. Sound quality of the discs is excellent.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
a very good disc at a very good price....fast delivery....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2016
My reluctance to give higher praise for this collection is purely based on my personal dislike of German tekno, I like "Pop" Propaganda but not to sure about their "roots" music, my fault, what do I know, that said, the production & recording quality is outstanding & worth a listen just for those qualities, Beautiful artwork & informative notes make a good overall buy for Propaganda fans
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2016
Absolutely Perfect!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)