Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 4 December 2016
A film from the Hammer horror, stable but not a real horror movie or scary movie that I found to be more in the realm of fantasy and drama, it has a plot that starts off in Africa but the film was nothing to do with Africa, it was about witches in a northern English town. So why have a scene involving Africa witch doctors, when it nothing to do with the story was just marketing shock effect. Joan Fountaine gave very unconvincing performance and looked very ill with her wax doll complexion. A very disappointing and in many ways misdirected film sad as it could have been so much better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2017
Not among the greatest of the Hammers but still worth watching. It is also a reminder of what horror used to be before it became all gore and zombies. And it is played straight and not for laughs as so many modern horror movies are.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2018
2013 Studiocanal Doubleplay release not only comes with a new 2K restoration but it FINALLY comes with English HOH subtitles!!
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2016
The Witches

I watched this last night, it might be old but it's brilliant - no nasty de-sensitizing gore and violence. A tale of witchcraft and voodoo dolls a great storyline. Cringed a bit at one of the scenes in the butchers shop, but I am a overly sensitive to anything remotely gorey :).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2018
Dull. Not really a horror film, more a (slow) supernatural murder-mystery. Rigsby (Rising Damp) turns up as a sinister doctor - I was hoping he would light the love wood and ask Miss Joan to 'take in the fumes'! The finale is comical. Joan in a twin-set looks great but this film would have benefited from a couple of typical buxom Hammer wenches - plus Michael Ripper, of course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2016
Great Movie, one of the not so well known Hammer Movies, which is a pity because in my opinion it is a little Gem ! If you buy it you will not regret it.
Once a again a must see for all Hammer Fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2015
I won,t dwell on the story,as all the other reviews say all you need to know.
The quality of this blueray disc is as good as it gets pin sharp picture, colour to die for and the sound is also extremly good as are all the Studio-Canal Hammer films on blueray, the only thing i can say is more Hammer films please.
Dennis James Stone.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2017
Nice intelligent British movie!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2017
Nice little Hammer rarely seen these days. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2016
Item as described, it arrived in good time and condition, I would buy again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)