Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
40
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2013
Make no mistake, this is a low budget movie, and with that in mind, you can almost imagine what to expect. However, as a fan of low budget, cheesy made-for-tv creature features, I went into this with pretty low expectations - and was pleasantly surprised.

A brief summary of the plot: The government have been conducting experiments in space, and happened upon a race of 'alien' spiders. Unfortunately, during routine experiments, the space station that was housing the titular creatures, falls from the sky and crashes into the New York Subway system. Eventually, the 'alien spiders' that were kept at bay in the weightlessness of space, begin to grow and multiply before terrorising the city. And that is it.

As plots go, it's by the numbers, nothing terribly taxing and is completely full of plot-holes. But that for me, is part of the appeal of these movies. But what we have here is a little bit special. For a start, the majority of the budget actually went on the special effects, so for once, you have something that's actually not too bad too look at. Especially when the gigantic spider as featured on the cover makes it's first appearance (although you will be waiting to towards the end of the movie before that beast is rampaging across the screen) - but believe me, it's a pay off worth waiting for.

Patrick Muldoon is pretty passable, playing the role of a Subway Control Operator, who initially investigates the mysterious death of one of his colleagues following a bizarre electrocution, which leads him to discover the mutant spiders, when in turn makes him a target to be chased by the government. Christa Campbell is his ex-wife, who quite frankly, is the only reason why you, if you really have to, turn off the movie. Her character is flat, emotionless, and yet completely over the top and serves the most least convincing performance. She is quite easily upstaged by the CGI, which in a movie like this, is some achievement.

Unfortunately, the version of the movie I saw was 2D but it was a full 1080p version and visually, it's a good picture. It's sharp, it's got vibrant colours and there was very little grain during the more low light scenes. I can imagine however, there are plenty of scenes in this movie that could be enhanced with 3D, but the movie was enjoyable as a 2D affair.

Bottom line - if you love and adore cheesy sci-fi creature features, then I genuinely believe there is alot of fun to be had with 'Spiders 3D'. Just keep your expectations really low, dim the lights, grab the popcorn and just have fun. It's really not all that bad!
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 February 2015
Awful film, plus the 3D was pointless, you do get great depth in the opening scene with the asteroids collision, but after that it just went down hill. The acting is very poor and the mother spider just looked stupid, it didn't matter how many times it was hit with bullets, grenades, missiles, tanks ext ext it never got hurt, its as if it was bullet proof. This is a very poor film. I gave it two stars for the picture quality, plus the 3D outer card-slip you get with the Blu-ray edition is very nice.

***FEATURES BELOW***

Web of Terror: The Making of Spiders 3D
Cast and Crew Interviews
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 January 2014
I knew this wouldn't be the greatest film I've ever seen, but I liked the idea and gave it a go.

You can tell it's was shot on a low budget and the street secenes had been shot on a set, but I could think of a lot of worse ways to spend 90 minutes. The sets actually look pretty damb good!

In short a low budget action film which is polished for it's budget.

3 Stars is about right.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
I watched it with my partner, and even after downing a bottle of Brokers Gin, we still couldn't bare to watch it to the end. And I like spiders - A LOT. These aren't even spiders - they have mouths and teeth. Why do movies (yes, you Peter Jackson) keep giving spiders mouths and teeth?? They have fangs - FANGS!! tut.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
Had to go through some rather long trailers for other films - none of which were interesting - before getting to the feature itself. My partner and I only watched about 20 or so minutes, and I even managed to nod off during this. So can't really say much about it just that what we did see was predictable and slow. It might get going a bit later on but we didn't wait to see. Sorry this review can't be more informative.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2016
This one is fantastic the spider is looking good with a nasty attitude wanting everything eatable including humans hungry little thing isn't he. No diet for him, there is no escape after he wraps you up tight. Now there is a lot more to be seen and so not to spoil it I'll leave you in mid air. I rated this an A grade for the spider who had to work so hard to get paid with twist and turns included I thought this is one of the best spider movie so far. Now there won't be sleeping tonight while watching television no time for resting with feet up as you wont have time to think about that, not for the kids either. Fabulous entertainment for a night in. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
First of all i knew this movie wasnt going to be great, but thought id have a watch anyway as it looked alright. And thats all that it is alright. The acting is ok. I would have tried pushing for a better performance from the cast if i directed. The story is ok. The cgi is pretty poor, but ive seen worse. If you enjoy b movies its wprth a watch but dont go out your way to watch it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
I just rented this title via iTunes, and I am now very glad that I didn't actually buy it - I have to say I struggled not to turn this off after the first half an hour. I won't bother running through the wafer thin story line, as that's easy enough to find elsewhere. All I will say is that I found the acting to be very mediocre, with the actors barely showing interest in the film. The whole thing has an air of apathy and lack of energy that clashes oddly with the supposed drama of a city being overrun with giant man eating spiders. The main character, a city transport chief, is uninteresting and clichéd in his plight to rescue his daughter from their quarantined appartment, and it's very difficult to relate to any of the characters, or connect with them in any way, as they are let down by such a lazy script.

The only thing that seemed moderately impressive was the CGI - the spiders did look quite believable in places, and if you're scared of spiders, it's probably realistic enough to give you a genuine chill. But for me that was a novelty that wore off after the first few minutes, after I realised this film didn't actually have anything else to offer.

Very disappointing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
Jason (Patrick Muldoon) works for the NYC subway. He becomes a key player when space spiders disrupt his system. His ex-wife Rachel (Christa Campbell) a proud graduate from the Kristen Stewart school of facial expressions, works for the city health department. Armed with their wits and a forklift they continue on their never ending quest to locate their daughter Em (Sydney Sweeney) battling the military and bullet proof spiders.

The true origin of the spiders is revealed 35 minutes into the film.

The special effects are low to mid grade CG. While there was always something going on, the film seemed hollow as if it needed another subplot of someone besides our lone family and the military. The dialouge lacked zing and the actors were simply collecting a paycheck. 3 stars is overrated for most people, but I love Christa Campbell's long hair.

Parental guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Jason (Patrick Muldoon) works for the NYC subway. He becomes a key player when space spiders disrupt his system. His ex-wife Rachel (Christa Campbell) a proud graduate from the Kristen Stewart school of facial expressions, works for the city health department. Armed with their wits and a forklift they continue on their never ending quest to locate their daughter Em (Sydney Sweeney) battling the military and bullet proof spiders.

The true origin of the spiders is revealed 35 minutes into the film.

The special effects are low to mid grade CG. While there was always something going on, the film seemed hollow as if it needed another subplot of someone besides our lone family and the military. The dialouge lacked zing and the actors were simply collecting a paycheck. 3 stars is overrated for most people, but I love Christa Campbell's long hair.

Parental guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)