Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 20 January 2016
very pleased, great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2017
great birthday present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2018
I bought this cd because I like the number: London calling
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2016
No issues at all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2016
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2018
This review relates to the 2013 Mick Jones-supervised remaster, which is, in my view, the definitive mastering of this classic album. It has a subtlety and brings out bits in the recordings I didn't realise were there (although this is better exemplified on "Give 'Em Enough Rope" and "Sandinista!").

On to the album. Personally, "Sgt Pepper", "Pet Sounds", "Born To Run", "A Night At The Opera", "Brothers In Arms", "Thriller", "Led Zeppelin IV", "Exile On Main Street" are not my favourite albums by those particular artists/groups, although they are popularly accepted as such. Similarly with "London Calling". I prefer "Give 'Em Enough Rope", "The Clash" and parts of "Sandinista!".

That is not overlook this album's undoubted quality and influence at the time. A "punk" group doing a double album? Wow! It worked too - a chocolate box of styles made for an always interesting listen and you are taken from one feel to another, track by track. Just consider the first few - the urgent "rock" of "London Calling", the rockabilly r'nb of "Brand New Cadillac, the jazzy slurrings of "Jimmy Jazz, the poppy "Hateful" and the calypso influenced bluebeat reggae of "Rudi Can't Fail". The old "disc one" sets the tone four the three subsequent discs. This album killed "punk" and even "new wave" stone dead. It was as seismic as all those groups going "weird" in 1967-68. Genres like roots reggae, ska, bluebeat, rockabilly were creeping in as influences everywhere in the early 1980s. No coincidence. This album opened many doors.

Some great reggae in there - "Guns Of Brixton", "Revolution Rock" and the ska of "Wrong 'Em Boyo". I would have liked "Armagideon Time" to have made it on there though. Some rock in "Death Or Glory" and "Clampdown". Some classic "Mick Jones rock" in "Lost In The Supermarket" and "I'm Not Down". Like "Sandinista!", pretty much everything but punk.

The Clash had laid down a marker that showed they were as willing to change as "old Bowie". They would continue to do so for the rest of their comparatively short career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2017
Not their best Album but some really good tracks on the CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2017
1979....I'd just gone to Uni and the NME was raving about this album. I'd always known about The Clash, ever since Punk started, but in reality Punk was something that has happened to other people...coming from a fairly rural working class background we hadn't really seen Punk...it was a brief London phenomenon, badly served by media demonising. This album changed everything! I bought it on the strength of the NME and peer predure. Real punk had been dead for years but The Clash were one of the few bands that had weathered the storm and grown into a force of nature. London Calling was one of those albums that showed how punk had changed the face of music and that what came afterwards was still IMPORTANT. A true alamgam of Influences (pop/rock/reggae) it was, and still, is a masterpiece. I still remember hearing this for the first time. Is the remastered version any better? I have no idea. Every time I hear it..on vinyl, CD or download.. I'm 18 again and hearing it for the first time. There are list upon list of "essential" albums but this
to be at the top of all those lists. There are nay sayers among this albums reviews...ignore them and listen to someone
who saw and listened to the impact of this album when it first came out and hears it with new ears even after all this time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2009
This review is for: London Calling 30th Anniversary Edition, Vinyl Replica Packaging, CD/DVD (Audio CD)

I can't really see the point of another release for this iconic album, especially when it's a far inferior version. This edition is basically the excellent 25th anniversary release minus the Vanilla Tapes (demos) CD which, whilst not everyone's cup of tea, included five unreleased songs and enough of interest to whet more than just the Clash completist's appetite. What you get here is the original album (naturally) and the same DVD as the 25th ann. edition, which includes:

1. The Last Testament: The Making of London Calling (Documentary)
2. London Calling (Video)
3. Train In Vain (Video)
4. Clampdown (Video)
5. London Calling in Wessex Studios (Home Video Footage)

There's therefore nothing new here. Five stars for the original album (read the many plaudits to it elsewhere!) but two stars for this release because we've been here before.

If there are going to be more anniversary issues, then why not the eponymous first album, Give 'Em Enough Rope and Sandinista? This is what we really want.
44 Comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 September 2011
There seem to be many parallels between today and the late seventies. A time of economic depression, a working class trodden down by the conscienceless political rulers and moneyed elite, ethnic tensions simmering, a generation of young people with no future prospects ready to lash out a wave of destruction in the form of riots in protest at the injustices of the world they find themselves in. And the development of a new musical form which encapsulates the passion, the anger and the political stance of the youth. OK, perhaps the similarities end there, as plastic Cowell pop seems to be the hallmark and legacy of this generation, but thirty years ago the social situation gave rise to just such a musical form, Punk. And the prime exponents were the Clash.

Their first two albums (their eponymous debut and Give `Em Enough Rope) were full of energetic, in your face shouty punk with saw tooth guitars and powerful beats, but they showed a degree of maturity and progressiveness. By the time they came to record their masterpiece, London Calling, the punk movement was largely finished, but the Clash continued due to their ability to evolve. The record still contains their hallmarks, energy, passion, a raw sound, political awareness and social stance, but now they also gave free reign to their creativity, starting to experiment with form and including outside influences, especially ska and reggae. It's an almost perfect fusion, the absolute apogee of a great band. They would never be so coherent, tight or great again. Five stars, an essential album for anyone living in England. I'd award it 6 if I could.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here