Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
66
4.2 out of 5 stars
Platform: Nintendo Wii U|Edition: Standard Edition|Change
Price:£9.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2014
I have been playing this now for the past 8 months on and off,So i think i can tell you my thoughts on this game. The single player campaign is about 10-15 hours depending on difficulty it is set on.Its a good solid shooter,maybe not the best single player from the series but all the same solid gameplay . I have played all the COD games from 4 onwards on xbox 360,but when my gold account expired,i did not bother to renew, this is the reason i decided to get the Wii U version,its free to play online.
This really is a great package for the money ,plenty of online modes against other players from around the world or Bots in squad mode playing along side your own team or with friends .There is another mode called extinction where you battle aliens with players online or solo.
Overall this is a great package and you get your moneys worth.
The only downside is no DLC(apart from 1 free map) and only about 800-900 players online,so some of the lesser online modes like cranked dont have any players in the lobby.Saying that, you will always get a game on team death match,domination etc
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
It's yet another CoD and, picking it up for a tenner, you can't go wrong so long as you know what you're getting. The usual things are in place: a horrendous script, laughably embarrassing dialogue, puerile shooty boom kill violence, and one of the most immature games in your catalogue. Let's be clear on this - CoD is for kids. This doesn't mean it can't be enjoyed, but adults looking for a "mature" experience should head to Splinter Cell: Blacklist or Splatoon. Ghosts, however, does have its moments of fun. It's idiotic to the extreme, but if you want mindless entertainment it just about manages it. However, the developers will need to up their game next time as for a £50 release price tag, this was an insult.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
I havent played the COD games for quite a while so purchased this game after reading the reviews,i must aggree with others this is an excellent FPS game the single player game is a little short which is a shame as it is very good but when you start to play the multiplayer games[by the way this service is free on the WII U] then the game really comes to life.I read where someone said that it took a while to find players online.i havent experienced this problem and have been in a match online almost immediately each time ive played,if your thinking about buying the WIIU then do its an excellent next gen console with some of the best games out there.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Already had this for XBox 360 and PS4, so what possessed me to buy yet another copy?
Answer: The great fun me and my son recently had playing together on Black Ops 2 WITHOUT split screen
(and the associated "peeking" accusations that accompany split-screen play! Admit it, we've all been there! LoL)
AND rediscovering a lost love of mine............. FPS games using Wiimote & Nunchuck!!!!
Suddenly the game became so much more FUN!!!
It took a bit of getting used to again, but well worth it.
I'd fallen back into the habit of using traditional controllers all the time,
forgetting just how much more fun (and authentic feeling) the Wiimote & Nunchuk is!
Oh, and by the way, graphics and gameplay are top notch as you would expect!
So, cast aside those button bashing devices and experience FPS as it should be.........
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2016
Just finished COD Ghosts on the Wii U. It didn't take too long, but I thought it was brilliant. We don't get all the big boy games, being Nintendo fans, but this looks fantastic and plays really well. I for one really enjoyed the story and have enjoyed every second of game play. For a tenner and a free map on the eshop, who can complain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
“Call of Duty: Ghosts” is an action-adventure videogame. It’s a first-person shooter, and continues the saga established in the earlier instalments of ‘Call of Duty’. It's a good game, and plays well on the Wii U.

The story presents an alternative timeline, in which much of the Middle East has suffered from nuclear destruction – which has caused a global economic crisis. A new ‘Federation’ of nation-states (led by Venezuela) have formed into a super-power – and this threatens the status quo. And so a clandestine group of US special forces – known as ‘the Ghosts’ – must embark on a mission behind enemy lines, to prevent world domination by the Federation. This is a fun military-style game, and those who’ve enjoyed earlier games in this series will probably like it. It has a very good multiplayer mode, with superb gameplay.

The single-player campaign is entertaining, but rather limited. It tends to lack any sort of innovation, and is no different from earlier games. Yet it’s still fun. You play – for the most part – as a character called Logan Walker, who’s a member of the Ghosts. The story takes about 10 to 12 hours to complete, depending on the difficulty setting. But it’s the online multi-player adventures – especially ‘Squads’ – that’s great, where you can play as two opposing teams, as well as in wave-based survival match. And there is also ‘Extinction’ - a new 4-player cooperative mode, in which players fight various aliens (known as Cryptids) in a base-defending survival-style map. There's plenty of re-play value to be had - especially if you've a group of friends who you enjoy playing online with.

Overall, this game is a lot of fun. If you enjoy the gameplay style of the ‘Call of Duty’ franchise then I recommend this game. While the single-player campaign is rather limited, the online multi-player options provide for lots of action.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
Thoroughly good game with all the aspects of the other Call of Duty games thrown in- multilayer is good, Campaign is amazingly beautiful and Activisions new zombies clone isn't too great but- in the end- it's playable.

Only downside is that DLC isn't supported, so you'll be seeing the same maps alot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
After all the negative press I expected this to be bad but I couldn't be more wrong. While a lot of Black Ops 2's content is missing or not utilised here there are some interesting innovations. You can customise your party members and this time rather than prestige mode as usual you can unlock extra squad members. Not only do they start with randomised kit but they also level up on their own. When you play Squads mode you can fight against another character's party. The standard online multiplayer is back in full force but I recommend Domination mode as the maps are a bit too big for Team Deathmatch. Instead of Zombies mode there's Extinction which has you fighting against waves of aliens. The campaign is okay but a little boring. Overall this is a great game and worth getting at a cheap price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
I think this is a perfect conversion. Having owned the PS3 version, there is no difference to this. Well worth your money. with the added bonus of the gamepad features.

Overall programmers have used the Wii U power to create a perfect conversion.

Not much negatives i can find. only the online games take a lot longer than PS3 to find. but that's it.

You are rewarded with a great game. having played all the call of duty games. this is ace. And just gives you value for money, and makes you want more.

So if you like shooters this is a must buy!!!.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Call of Duty: Ghosts delivers a riveting all-new gameplay experience built on an entirely new story, setting and cast of characters, all powered by a new, next generation Call of Duty engine that redefines the series for the next generation.

Call of Duty: Ghosts isn't a reinvention of the franchise, but proves there's still room for innovation within its existing formula. Though at the risk of overcomplicating things at times, its robust multiplayer gameplay, surprisingly fun co-op modes, and lengthy, challenging, and varied campaign makes Ghosts one of the best Call of Duty games to date.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)