Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2014
The chemistry has always been there but now with the inclusion of new vocalist Nikola Mijic, Eden's Curse must be on the road to prog/rock super stardom.
What a difference Nikola makes in helping the band to climb another step up the long stairway to success.
I saw the band play support to Dream Theater a couple of years ago and were average to good.
The new set up and continued excellent instrumentals and vocals supported by superb lyrics should point the band in the direction of being headliners and having others as their support.
The improvement puts the band in a more mainstream, extremely enjoyable and marketable category, with every track kicking ass.
This release gives the best of the rest a run for their money.
The packaging is also excellent, with wonderful graphics,inlay photos and lyrics.
It would have been wonderful to see them support Dream Theater again, which would have helped launch the band and cd again but until then, catch the band on tour around the country in May.
The venues might be small but that will allow their qualities to be heard and experienced, up close and personal.
The tickets are going for a snip and must be the prog/rock bargain of the year.
Tell your friends, spread the gospel and support the band.
Look the band up on their web site, buy the cd and enjoy.
Already looking forward to the concert and the next release.
Magic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
I own the previous three Eden's Curse releases and like them all. This one sounds different in places, mainly due to the new lead singer, but there's some similarity to previous material with some of the songs. At first listen, I thought that the album was ok, but after repeated listens it grows and grows, which for me is the mark of a quality release. There's not a bad song and the quality is ultra consistent. Great musicianship and well written, catchy songs. Would highly recommend - even my 17 year old son loves it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
There are many bands out there, all pedalling their wares, trying to set themselves apart from the melee of mediocrity that plagues our amazon surfing rituals. But you know, Chuck D wasn't always right, sometimes you CAN believe the hype.

There's been a stir about these guys for a while, but they only came across my radar when a friend of mine put me onto them. I checked out their video on you tube of 'Evil or Divine' and that was it, I HAD to get the album.

This is definitely no run of the mill rock act, there is something very special here indeed. From the moment I loaded this bad boy into my CD player, I struggled to find a reason, why I shouldn't nail my ears to the speakers for the rest of time. The album opener (the title track) starts with an orchestral piece which builds and draws you into a false sense of security and then just cranks up the power as the band launch into their stride. Then track two 'Break The Silence' hits you like a sledge hammer but leaves you screaming more, which is not a normal reaction for a hammer attack! The album continues in this vain, bringing new ideas to the rock genre, but it is clear from the very first note to the very last, these guys are masters of their instruments, each showing their abilities but not detracting from the whole and delivering as a band. In this, in fact is a very interesting point. On further investigation about the history of Eden's Curse, I learnt that they all live in different countries, and put together the material in their respective studios using the internet to send files to each other and ultimately to the producer who glues it all together and sprinkles his fairy dust on it before it goes off to the buying public. Let's just think about this for a moment. You've got 5 guys all living in different parts of the world and doing their thing and then the fruits of their labour is digitised and united to create what is nothing short of a masterpiece. There are bands out their spending every waking hour with each other not even scratching the surface of what can be heard on 'Symphony Of Sin'. This is a testament to the musicality that each of the band members possess.

Musical ability is one thing, but to showcase that ability you need a vehicle to do it and that is where I believe Eden's Curse excel. The songs have be carefully crafted, just as an artist tenderly caresses his canvas to weave a vision of his inner soul, it is clear the band have been meticulous in building the material that will be able stand the test of time for fans, old and new, to listen again and again and find something new each time, to satisfying that quest for aural ecstasy.

And talking of all things aural, a note has to be made about the production. It has been written many times that the producer is the 5th member of the band, as their input can never be underestimated, and on this release, this is no exception. To bring out the quality of the players and capture the essence of what Eden's Curse is about whilst all members are in different time zones, is a real feat of engineering (do you see what I did there?) The power of the songs, the thundering bass, the crack of the snare, clarity of the vocal harmonies are all there captured forever, in a time capsule forever to be revisited.

Considering all the elements of this bands journey to this point, you can only stand and admire this latest offering from 5 guys with one sole passion of delivering modern day rock, with a knowing tip of the hat to true musical rockers that have gone before them.

This is without doubt a 2014 jewel that every CD collection will be the poorer without.

This will not give you more money, get you a girlfriend, make you better looking, or give you the guts to tell your boss what you think of him, but knowing you have 'Symphony Of Sin' in your grubby little mitts, will make your world a better place and everything else, so much less important...

Buy it - Nuff said...

PJP.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
With their fourth full length album, this multi-national band have pulled out all the stops with arguably their finest album to date. The album starts with a wonderfully atmospheric and stirring 46 piece orchestral opening before launching proper into the blistering "Symphony of Sin", featuring some stunning guitar work from Thorsten Koehne. The album continues with track after track of melodic metal brilliance, the recent single "Evil and Divine", my personal favourite "Unbreakable" right through to the closing track "Where is the Love?". Each band member has done themselves proud with this release. We have the unmistakable Thorsten Koehne on guitars, a immensely talented player who has the ability to craft great riffs, but has the ear and expertise to allow the music to breathe, the intense and strong drumming of Pete Newdeck (check him out in his own band Tainted Nation), the supremely talented Paul Logue (few can match his writing talents, and he's been responsible for some of the finest rock CDs in recent years including the recently released Lavalle CD, again highly recommended). And then we have the new guys - Steve Williams on keyboards (ex Dragonforce and Powerquest) who gives the songs great depth with his instantly recognisable keyboard skills and last but not least Nikola Mijic (Dreyelands / Alogia) on lead vocals. The guys have undoubtedly had a tough time over the last few years with vocalists, but the troubles are easy to move on from when you factor in Nik's vocals. A supremely talented young singer who has incredible range and depth, bringing the songs alive with his powerful delivery and emotion and for me gives this CD the best Curse vocals to date. If you are hesitating to buy this album, then please don't......from start to finish you have some of the best melodic metal tracks ever committed to CD, written and performed with feeling and passion. The CD wrings out emotion at every level, and during "Unbreakable" I felt a tear well up in the eye and a strong urge to stand up on a chair and punch the air with strength and belief. Find me a more stirring and uplifting song this year, and I'd be very surprised. This release is definitely worth a 5 star rating and if you don't believe me check out all the excellent press reviews released over the last few weeks. This is an EPIC album well worthy of repeated plays and THE album of 2013 for me! \m/
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
From the opening note of the orchestral introduction on the first track 'Symphony Of Sin' to the final drumbeat of the last track 'Where Is The Love?' this album never loses your attention. This release has it all!!! Melodic metal brilliance with powerful riffs performed by the unmistakable Thorsten Koehne. Add to that the intense and strong drumming of Pete Newdeck and the perfect bass tones of the incredibably talented Paul Logue. And as if that isn't enough, throw into the mix, the metal keyboard skills of Steve Williams (ex DragonForce / Power Quest) and the powerful fresh metal voice of new vocalist Nikola Mijic. And then there are the lyrics ... As always they are well written and performed with feeling and passion. It's difficult to choose a favourite song but just check out the amazing riffs and vocals on 'Rock Bottom'... Guaranteed to cause involuntary head banging ...

Ladies & Gentleman ... I introduce you to Eden's Curse ... The band that gives me hope and faith in the future of metal.

I give Eden's Curse - Symphony Of Sin ... #1 album of 2013 and 10/10 ... It is EPIC \m/ \m/
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Ah ha, so Eden's Curse can survive without the noxious Michael Eden at the helm, and this is proof. With new vocalist Nik on board, this English powerhouse just rattle forward, producing their most expansive work to date.

There's a little bit of everything here, from melodic power metal in the opener, to synth-laden pop metal in some of the album's lighter parts. Paul Logue might as well write the book on how to pen catchy songs, and while there are a few moments of familiarity here left over from "Trinity", this is a new phase for Eden's Curse, and those of you who like hook-laden, melody-drenched rock/metal will not want to give this a miss. It could just be your album of the year. Get it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Once again a first class album for those of us who like the Curse.

Listening to this time passed very quickly a sure sign that I enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
My mate is the drummer Pete newdeck also the lead singer of tainted nation another great band some great tracks if you like rock
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
Eden's Curse fourth album is a true melodic metal materpiece!
With difficulties in finding a new lead singer after Michael Eden walked out the door, the Curse found Nikola Milijc from Serbia to fill the spot!
This guy is a great signing with a superb high pitched voice and in Unbreakable could at times be compared to a young Steve Perry.
There is not one song on this album below par, and it's difficult to pick out a favourite.
But if i must it has to be Evil and Devine, with superb nerve wrecking riff from the ever great Thorsten Koehne, that get's locked in your brain after first listen.
I truly recommend this album, and rank it as this best release this year!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
what a totally awesome album i enjoy the whole album from the first track to the last it is a must buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.40

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)