Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
18
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2016
Electric Dylan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
I have always liked Self Portrait and New Morning so I had great expectations of this set but to be honest I was disappointed. I'd say only a handful of the songs were worth airing. I suppose this is harsh because if a song was not released at the time there was probably a good reason for it so we should not expect great things, but this album had a lot of hype which was misleading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
I purchased the 2 CD set plus the isle of Wight show as mp3 downloads for ONLY £14.49. And the mp3 version has the added bonus - not available on the £78 version - of having NO NOTES BY GREIL MARCUS. No-brainer or what?
The 2 CDs are variable in quality, if truth be told, but the really essential item here is the isle of Wight show, now revealed as an extraordinarily poised and controlled performance from Dylan, and one of his very best live performances ever.
Forget the merchandising and the music itself isn't prohibitively expensive at all.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
Having bought the 2 CD set, I bought the mp3 album to get the Live at Isle of Wight tracks on disk 3. Well worth it. Live at IOW 1969 with The Band is one of the best Dylan live collections. The whole Bootleg Series 10 is excellent. The stripped down versions without overdubs are a big improvement on Self Portrait then the alternate versions like Time Passes Slowly really bring out Dylan's range of styles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
So let's get this straight - I just paid £76.99 for the Deluxe box set thinking that'd be nice, 4 discs including the 2 discs of unreleased stuff, the Isle of Wight and a remaster of a disc I already had - plus some nice packaging, a hard back book of pics of Bob and a hard cover sleeve for the 4 discs plus some notes - all very good, expensive but being a bit of a typical sad completist, let's spend the money - even if, as usual, it was £10-15 more expensive than in the States.
Then, on delivery this morning and anticipating playing it all tonight, out of interest I take a look at the Amazon MP3 download and low and behold, for £14.99 I could download the new stuff and the IOW set - admittedly no remastered original and of course no packaging etc - but £62 cheaper? - boy, do I feel a bit of a ripped off idiot - even giving the IOW set away with the download seems irritating as surely that was some sort of incentive to buy the deluxe set - and no hint of course that that would happen until it was too late - oh well, better warned for next time but more than a bit annoyed - fellow and loyal fans, be warned. Just like I've stopped going to the live shows because my all time hero is just taking the p out of his own material and out of us - so this kind of thing really doesn't help. Of course the music will be great: back then he knew how to sing and the music didn't put you to sleep.Buy with caution.
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
a couple of decent IOW tracks and a few variations on portrait 1. A nice version of "Spanish is the loving tongue" with the occasional bum piano notes/rhythms and only just hitting the vocal notes but certainly done with feeling. Worth listening to but but it won't be your favourite.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
The first thing you notice right from the beginning is how well he sang 42 years ago. The stand out tracks are 'Spanish','I threw it allaway' and 'These hands' but I am sure more listens will return more rewards- buy it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)