Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 6 December 2013
This is a very good sideways look at the whims and history of every day Londoners (as were) with lots of very entertaining (proper) history thrown in for good measure. You have to cast your mind into the mood to fully appreciate it though. May be not to everyone's taste as we do not all relate to London. Would be very interesting if someone could get hold of stories, anecdotes and history of other cities around the British Isles.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2016
Came in perfect condition and a very good book - though maybe more interesting for those interested in a more literary history of London or something more of the world of Dodger than something strictly historical or along the more satirical humour of Terry Pratchett (though there is humour none the less - I suspect it was not possible for him to write without its use... RIP).
A must for any serious PTerry fan or anyone who enjoys the London of Dickens' time, just don't go losing it when you go time-travelling there!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2017
As you would expect from Mr P, great fun but the book is also quite informative. I wasn't necessarily expecting it and I've not checked everything in the book, however I recognize several 'items' as being historically correct. Possibly everything is! I just wanted to add the book to my TP library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2017
Arrived very quickly, just as described - just what I needed for a Christmas present. I will be buying from this seller again. Thank you, excellent service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2013
Dodger is a pleasant book about sewers in Victorian London, with many leisurely strolls among the flotsam and jetsam that made fortunes for some lucky fellows.
This pretty little picture book collects Punch cartoons and remarks by folks who drifted in and out of the first book. Sort of a vade mecum, if your Way-Back machine is in good nick.
If you enjoyed Dodger, you want this book. It is less obsessed with Poo; Sir Terry appears to have got it out of his system. Gesundheit.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2016
In this volume, Mr Dodger gives as the benefit of his observant eye, with the benefit of a breadth of observation that few have the opportunity to achieve. His former callings have given him a sharpness of vision too often lacking in those whose station makes such opportunities more available.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2014
Nice companion to Dodger, really pleased that this came out as I kind of missed Dodger when I finished the book.
The usual quality illustrations litter an interesting little addition to the Dodger novel
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 November 2015
This was a gift for my husband who is a Pratchett fan,he just loves reading all the stories,this was on a wish list so i thought i would get it for him,he is over the moon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2015
If ypu have bought Pratchett's Dodger novel and don't know much about 19'th century London, this is a must have.
If you know about 19'th century London this book a a waste of money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2014
This was a Christmas present from my wife, but the amount of facts contained in it must have taken up a lot of research time, a lot !
May not have purchased it myself, but, glad I got it. A mine of information to interest anyone seeking knowledge about London.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Dodger
£4.99

Need customer service? Click here