Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 28 March 2014
I discovered this collective in a round about way.......after seeing Seth Lakeman playing locally and watching the radio 2 folk awards.
This album is a great sampler of all that's great and good and very varied amongst English folk music. This is a total change for me in musical taste and is the first proper "folk" album I've bought.
Be warned......this album will make you search out for more!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2014
The line up of artists should make this good, but it does not, it makes it excellent. The variety of styles of presentation within the one album makes it very interesting and varied whilst remaining cohesive and unified. Much passes for folk music these days and those of us who like a more traditional sound can be disappointed by some contemporary offerings, but not here. The disc is a good quality sound but is not overly produced in the studio thus one can easily imagine this would sound very similar live, and that in my opinion is how good 'Folk' should be produced Well done and thank you to all concerned.
If you like good playing and singing in a traditional style you will like this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2015
Can't fault the quality of the production, the vocals and instrumental playing is superb. There are some great tracks on this album, like Awake Awake, but can't help thinking that with all of the English folk tradition to choose from, some better songs could have been included. Songs like Linden Lea and the instrumental tracks chosen I find a bit boring. Down to personal preferences I suppose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2016
Lovely album. Excellent playing. Superb players & music. (Seth Lakeman, Martin Simpson, Fay Hield, Nancy Kerr, Ben Nicholls, Rob Harbron, & Sam Sweeney). Excellent booklet with full description of the intention of the album and the source of the songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2014
I'm a huge Seth Lakeman fan so bought this on that basis. It is very traditional folk which I don't mind but wish they had chosen more upbeat songs. I found many of them a bit dark and depressing and was a little disappointed. Having said that I have found myself singing some of them to myself after only a couple of listens so they are obviously catchy!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2017
Great mix of songs and a good traditional English folk band sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2016
Really Beautiful album of great folk music - brilliant performence and much joy to listen to - thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2016
Item as described and arrived in good order
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2015
I love this album. It's like a Who's Who of modern British folk. A must for anyone who loves modern British folk music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2015
Great mixture of tunes from some very talented folk singers. If you like folk music, this CD will be pleasant for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse