Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
42
Hoodoo
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


on 31 December 2013
I saw this guy in September at The Jazz Cafe in Camden - just him, his drummer and his `beatbox`, but what a sound! I have a lot of his albums; I just love his distinctive fuzzy, swampy sound. This is one of the best! Also try `The Beginning`, `Uncovered` and `Heroines`to get a real feel for what he`s all about. If this don`t turn you on - you ain`t got no switches!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2017
absolutely great, one of the best yet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2013
Had not heard this guy before seeing him on later with Jools on BBC a few weeks ago. Immediate fan. Bought this CD straight away and the "Uncovered" CD in order to get a version of Rainy Night In Georgia as close as possible to the one he did with Jools that night. Both albums for me have that uniqe ability to be both uplifting (because of the rhythm) and laid back (because of the voice and lyrics). Both are highly recommended!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2013
I've always rather liked Tony Joe White but this album is something really special. Swampy, bluesy soul that sometimes makes you want to get up and dance (go on - no one is watching). The closest I can get to a description is John Lee Hooker playing with Buddy Guy or Eric Clapton (or even Dave Gilmour) - but definitely Tony Joe White.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2013
Tony Joe White's latest album 'Hoodoo' is a total joy. Superbly performed and recorded it is one of his finest albums. Buy it now and just listen with a big smile on your face, wonderful.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 17 September 2013
I should declare an interest here: I am an absolute sucker for the kind of laid-back but solid bluesy sound Tony Joe White produces on this album. Even allowing for that, though, this is first-rate stuff. It is Delta Blues with a little boogie thrown in occasionally.

Tony Joe's guitar and voice have matured to a point where he has the confidence not to push anything too hard and just let it flow out without strain. The band are brilliant - robust but unforced and with a real solid beat, so the combination of them and Tony Joe is just brilliant.

I'd suggest that you listen to a few samples. I bet you'll love them if you have any interest at all in blues. This is a bit of real class and I recommend it very warmly.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2013
Bought this album after his performance on 'Later'. I admit I'd never heard of Mr White before, checked the guide to see who was playing, billed as a blues legend, trawled you tube, and by the end of the program I'd ordered three albums. all brilliant. Really cool laid back blues, can't believe I was unaware of this guy for all these years. Spread the word, the man is a genius!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2013
Have been a fan of Tony Joe White since the early days and have enjoyed most of his music.
This is much the same trend of music - good swampy slide guitar & gravel voice.
Still enjoyed it and it's a great one for late nights - when the mood is right.
If you are just getting into T.J.W, then you'll enjoy this.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2013
Forget all the recent albums by Tony Joe, all in search of a new identity. This new album is back to his best. Starting with the first album I bought, Black and White, almost 45 years ago, I rate this as his best since. The crackle guitar, the fuzz, the well placed notes and that grumpy voice are all back. The bluesy beat; a bit country at times but without that unfortunate twang that is associated with country, his voice sounds hardly different from all those years ago. Perhaps a bit more introspective, somewhat softer and without the grunts he employed in his younger days. With JJ Cale gone, Tony Joe is king of rhythm and laid-back. He is back to story telling in his unique way. Swamp is back. Blues is back.
22 Comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2013
Tony Joe sounding much as he did in 1968 when I bought his first album.The production on this album is "muddier" than on his earlier recordings but it suits the style of swamp blues.A great album which sits very comfortably with my other laid back J J cale etc. section,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Rain Crow
£4.99
Uncovered
£7.99
Deep Cuts
£7.90

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)