Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
348
4.6 out of 5 stars
Doctor Who -  The Complete Series 7 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£23.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 October 2017
just what he wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
2011 Christmas Special
The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe

Series 7 Part One
7x01 Asylum of the Daleks
7x02 Dinosaurs on a Spaceship
7x03 A Town Called Mercy
7x04 The Power of Three
7x05 The Angels Take Manhattan

2012 Christmas Special
The Snowmen

Series 7 Part Two
7x06 The Bells of Saint John
7x07 The Rings of Akhaten
7x08 Cold War
7x09 Hide
7x10 Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS
7x11 The Crimson Horror
7x12 Nightmare in Silver
7x13 The Name of the Doctor

Extras
Audio commentaries for episodes: The Snowmen, Cold War, Hide, and The Crimson Horror
Prequels for: The Doctor, The Widow and The Wardrobe, Asylum of the Daleks, The Snowmen (The Great Detective, Vastra Investigates, Demons Run: Two Days Later), The Bells of Saint John and The Name of the Doctor (She Said, He Said, Clarence and the Whispermen)
Pond Life
As Good as Gold (exclusive to the UK version)
The Making of the Gunslinger
Creating Clara
Rain Gods
Clara and the TARDIS
Inforarium
Clara's White Christmas
Behind the scenes featurettes for every episode (except The Doctor, The Widow and the Wardrobe)
Last Days of the Ponds
The Science of Doctor Who
The Companions
Doctor Who at Comic Con
99 Comments| 301 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2016
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
The Doctor Who 50th Anniversary season is a corker. The sad farewell of the Ponds, the puzzling mystery of Clara, exciting and interesting scripts, clever twists and some terrifying monsters.

CHRISTMAS SPECIAL 2011 - THE DOCTOR, THE WIDOW AND THE WARDROBE
7/10: a bit cheesy but Hey! It's Christmas

SERIES 7 - PART 1

1. ASYLUM OF THE DALEKS (9/10): great to see all those Daleks although there could have been a little bit more action. For me, the highlight of the story is Jenna-Louise Coleman as the sexy Oswin. I wish Clara could be a bit more like that.
2. DINOSAURS ON A SPACESHIP (8/10): the doctor has a gang! Maybe some adults would find it boring but it's perfect for the kids. And Mark Williams is the perfect choice for Rory's dad.
3. A TOWN CALLED MERCY (7/10): a bit boring when i first watched it but it grew on me. A good story but cowboy western mumbo-jumbo isn't really my cup of tea.
4. THE POWER OF THREE (8/10): the year of the slow invasion. An interesting insight into the Ponds' life. Jemma Redgrave is good as Kate Stewart just as she is in The Day of the Doctor. I wonder if she's actually a Zygon at this point aswell? I give 8/10 for the first half-hour as the ending seemed a bit rushed and we never learn why the Shakri took Brian and some other humans.
5. THE ANGELS TAKE MANHATTAN (9/10): the much awaited return of the Weeping Angels and in New York too! Alex Kingston is amusing as River Song as always although she has been turning up like a bad penny in the past year. The Angels do not dissapoint and the Ponds' farewell is as emotional as promised although as other people have said, Rory doesn't get a proper send-off.

CHRISTMAS SPECIAL 2012 - THE SNOWMEN
8/10: Good old Vastra, Jenny and Strax are back as the comedy Victorian gang along with the return of the Great Intelligence after nearly 45 years away from the show. Jenna-Louise Coleman pops up again, this time as a Victorian barmaid/governess called Clara. Good episode but I feel that the snowmen could have popped up a bit more seeing as the title of the story is The Snowmen.

SERIES 7 - PART 2

6. THE BELLS OF SAINT JOHN (8/10): nice idea, people getting attacked through the Wi-Fi. Fun season opener with a suprise cameo of Richard E Grant as The GI.
7. THE RINGS OF AKHATEN (2/10): utter guff. Boring, pointless, stupid. WAY TOO MUCH singing for my liking. If it wasn't for the magical yet sad story of Clara's parents before the opening sequence, I would have given this story 0.
8. COLD WAR (9/10): although the ice-warriors haven't been in Doctor Who since 1974, they are still just as chilling. I absolutely loved the idea of an ice-warrior coming out of its suit. There were obviously a lot of ice-warriors in the ship that came to rescue Skaldak. Maybe hinting a more epic ice-warrior story next year?
9. HIDE (8/10): oh dear, I thought. Another story by the author of Rings. I was pleasantly surprised by this story however. It's quite clever and has some good acting. I think the bit at the end with the scorpion-alien-things in love was a bit weird though.
10. JOURNEY TO THE CENTRE OF THE TARDIS (8/10): cool story. A great way to see what's actually in the TARDIS.
11. THE CRIMSON HORROR (8/10): watching this episode, I knew that a Vastra, Jenny, Strax spin-off would be great. This is a very funny yet gruesome tail and an enjoyable watch.
12. NIGHTMARE IN SILVER (6.5/10): an okay story but the cybermen are now too powerful. They're meant to have weaknesses. It's all a bit silly in some ways between bringing along the kids, the Doctor playing chess with himself and Clara hiding out in a fairy castle with Griphook the Goblin.
13. THE NAME OF THE DOCTOR (10/10): a perfect prequel to the even more perfect 50th anniversary special. The mystery behind Clara is very clever; she is just a normal girl who followed the GI into the Doc's timestream. I adore the opening scene with Clara following all the Doctors, the Whispermen are terrifying and seeing Trenzalore reminds us that The Doc won't live forever.

Overall a really enjoyable season. Buy if you like action packed, monster filled Doctor Who.
22 Comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 15 February 2017
A five disc dvd set containing all thirteen episodes of Matt Smiths third season as the Doctor.
And a fair bit more.

Episodes actually include a couple of the Christmas specials, and are as follows:

The Doctor, the widow, and the wardrobe [the 2011 christmas special]
Asylum of the Daleks.
Dinosaurs on a spaceship.
A town called mercy.
The power of three.
The angels take manhattan.
The snowmen [the 2012 christmas special]
The bells of saint john.
The rings of Akhaten.
Cold war.
Hide.
Journey to the centre of the TARDIS.
The crimson horror.
Nightmare in silver.
The name of the doctor.

Language options: English.
Subtitles: English.
Audio description is available. On the episodes not the extras.
Audio navigation is on all five discs.

The above covers a lot of ground, saying goodbye to Amy and Rory and then introducing new companion Clara. It is a slightly inconsistent run, with three episodes that don’t quite work.
The rings of Akhaten, one of those solid second episodes for a new companions first trip, does create a very alien setting but doesn’t get going till halfway through. Then is a bit over familiar after.
Journey to the centre of the Tardis doesn’t do much with the central idea, and rather cops out at the end.
Nightmare in silver meanwhile is bursting with ideas. And possibly needed one more draft of the script because of that.
The second half of the season does set up an intriguing mystery re Clara. But doesn’t let you solve it. The explanation – in the otherwise excellent season finale – just happening.

So possibly four or four and a half out of five for the episodes. But the extras:

Disc one: Short prequels to the Doctor the Widow and the wardrobe, and asylum of the daleks. Both are extra scenes no more than a few minutes long, but are good and do add a little to it.

Behind the scenes: life cycle of a dalek/raptors, robots and a bumpy ride. Behind the scenes features on the first two regular episodes of the season. No more than five minutes long, but interesting and entertaining viewing.

Disc two:
Pond life. Five short films, no more than two minutes long. Which can only be watched all in a row. All about the Pond’s home life. They start great fun and get a bit serious. But are a great prologue to the season as well.

Comic con: twelve minutes of the main cast and crew visiting this, with some very fun interviews make it a great watch.

The making of the gunslinger: is a prequel to a town called mercy. Another short but good extra scene.

Behind the scenes, wild wild spain?: is a behind the scenes feature on the making of a town called mercy. Again no more than five minutes long, but with some very interesting looks at the locations.

A writer’s tale: five minutes behind the scenes on the power of three.
A fall with grace: five minutes on a key scene in the angels take manhattan.
The last days of the ponds: twelve minutes on Karen gillan and Arthur darvill’s last days on the show. Very touching and emotional viewing. Well worth a watch.

Disc three:
A commentary on the snowmen.
Clara’s white Christmas. A short prequel to the snowmen.
Vastra investigates: an additional prequel to this. Both are good.

Children in need special: the great detective. Is another prequel to the snowmen, and is also very good.
Demon’s run two days later: is billed as a prequel but is more an additional scene. A bit of fun showing how strax is still alive.

The bells of saint john: a prequel. Another good short extra scene.
Behind the scenes: the bells of saint john/the rings of akhaten. Both run four minutes and act as previews as well as behind the scenes views. Good and entertaining.

Doctor who in the US; is a talking heads/clips documentary in the usual style of these from bbc America showing how the show has visited there for episodes. It is forty three mins long and a bit over the place structurally, but amiable enough viewing.

Disc four:

Commentaries on cold war and hide.
Script to screen: good as gold. A short four minute long episode written by some schoolchildren. A fun little watch.
The science of Doctor Who. Another forty three minute long bbc America documentary. It does get into some very interesting areas in discussing science and how the show’s depiction equates to reality, but is a little disrupted by constant commercial break logos.
Behind the scenes: cold war/hide/journey to the centre of the tardis. More four minute long preview features, also good watching.

Disc five:
Commentary on the crimson horror.
Clarence and the whispermen. Interesting prequel scene to the name of the doctor.
The companions: another long bbc America documentary. Forty three minutes, strictly new series, and very little Donna, but a good watch.
Inforarium/Clara and the tardis/Rain gods/He said, she said. Four short extra scenes not really prequels as such. But very good viewing.
Behind the scenes: the crimson horror/nightmare in silver/the name of the doctor. Four minutes again, and a bit too spoilery to be previews, but good as features.

The sheer number and depth of all these do lift this as a whole to a five star box set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
Superb dvd with 15 brilliant episodes (which is more than you get with most doctor who series') and hours of extra features, including a long documentary about doctor who in america. Angels Take Manhatten, A Town Called Mercy, Rings of Akhaten and Crimson Horror are some of the best. Asylum of the Daleks could have been better if the classic daleks were more prominent on screen, but there are a lot of them if you look closely, which is great fun and its a great fun episode regardless. Theres also a super helping of Strax, Vastra and Jenny- some of the funniest characters, some phenomenal acting from Adrian Scarborough in Town Called Mercy and all of Matt Smith's companions, to give a lot of variety to the episodes, so its like having 3 short series' in one. Well worth the purchase!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
This is a quick mention for the US version, as per the above link. It has a different front cover.

All of the series 7 episodes are included as well as "The doctor, the widow and the wardrobe" Christmas special, as per the UK version. The only difference is that the CBBC "school winner" short video "Good as Gold" is not included. This short video features the Doctor and Amy with an appearance by a weeping angel. Instead, on the US Edition there are some interviews with Matt Smith and Jenna-Louise Coleman which were shown on the US series "The Nerdist" (this is shown on BBC America). It's a chat-show format and Matt appears via satellite while Jenna is on a video recorded PODcast. Both interviews are informative and Matt gives some interesting insights into his take on The Doctor. As these interviews run to 15mins and the Good as Gold short is 3mins I know which I prefer!

The series itself, as others have stated, is a mixed bag and it is subjective as to which stories are better. What is undisputed is that this series has garnered even more US fans, as can be seen in the footage of the filming in New York and at the San Diego comic-con convention. Plus the fact that there are New York buses with adverts on them for Doctor Who means that the series has well and truly penetrated the US market! Long may it be so!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
Absolutely bloody brilliant! This has the greatest finale, ever as well… so great that I was inspired to start from season one again and go through the whole lot… I'm currently on the third disc of season 4… will soon get back to 7 again! Sad? Maybe, but it's a great kind of sad. ;)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
This series was a very uneven series to be honest and one of the worst but it had its moments

I loved the first part of the series and afterwards I thought it would be one of the best....

Asylum of the Daleks- 10/10 Really loved it but wished it could of been an hour
Dinosaurs on a Spaceship- 9/10 Really enjoyed this one. One of Chris Chibnall's best
A Town Called Mercy- 8/10 Nothing really wrong with this one but still enjoyed it
The Power of Three- 7/10 To easy using the sonic screwdriver to fix everything pure laziness
The Angels Take Manhattan- 9.5/10 The only thing for me was Rory did not get a proper send off

The Snowmen- 8/10- Nice 2nd opener for JLC death wasn't really moving

That's when I was wrong and it just went downhill

The Bells of St John- 7/10 Repetitive with JLC being introduced again and similar to the idiots lantern
The Rings of Akhatan- 6/10 Loved his speech and the song. It looked amazing. Major annoyance was it felt like harry potter when the sonic screwdriver was being used like a wand.
Cold War- 7/10 Was ok an average doctor who episode.
Hide- 8/10 One of my favourites as I like scary doctor who did make the hairs on my neck stand up I also watched this in the dark aswell but the love story just annoyed me.
Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS- 5/10 One of the worst I hate the writer. I was really hoping this would be good but it failed the actors need to go back to acting school seriously they were bad!!
The Crimson Horror- 7/10 My favourite of Mark Gatiss
Nightmare in Silver- 5/10 A Cyber flop. So much expectations were on this as it was written by Neil Gaimen. It needed an extra part!!
The Name of The Doctor- 10/10- One of my favourite episodes ever. Nothing bad you could say about it

I wish doctor who would go back to its old format instead of splitting it and waiting longer or what they could of done is make about 7 or 8 hour long episodes that would air in 2012 they would be the blockbuster movie episodes to make one series and then make a full series in 2013 with two parters and introducing JLC I think this would of been a very good and would be an extra series. But I am looking forward to the 50th and hopefully next year it can get back on track with Peter Capaldi as the twelfth doctor!
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Ive read various criticisms of this series and the Matt Smith/S Moffat era in general. Im afraid that I have to disagree with them. The point is valid that this whole post tennant era has been a rollercoaster of greatness and stupidity but as with life, you remember and take with you the good times. Here is where I choose to differ. The highlights of the Smith and Moffat era are so much better than what has come before that to then whinge about the poorer aspects is churlish. Its like being treated to a 5 star night out and moaning that the taxi was 5 mins late and the show you went to see finished a bit later than planned.

But I digress. The problem is RT Davies brought the show back from a very bad place and just kept building it up and up with Tennant the icing on the cake. But he peaked and there was nowhere left to go. He tried to change it slightly and all we got was self indulgent stories that bordered on ego. The tenth Doctor became a little too arrogant and toward the end a bit whiny. They should have ended the reign before the year of 'Specials' that saw Tennant leave. I was sorry to see him go but I was getting sick of it and that last year seemed tainted.

Matt Smith came in trying to fill some big boots. There was a lot of hit and miss as he and Moffat tried to differentiate themselves from what had come before but to my mind, Smith's inexperience in the role was not evident. He had done his homework and thrown all of himself into it. I have never seen an actor so young being able to portray the age and burden of a timelord who has endured too much. Yet he also bought an energy to the role. This was a character who was old but young, jaded but excitable, kind but dangerous. Smith literally nailed the eccentricity of the Doctor. There have been childish moments but when its mattered, Smith and Moffat have delivered such powerful scenes that all else is forgiven. The Doctors speech to young Amy in the Big Bang, the rings of akhaten, Amy's words at the end of The Angels Take Manhattan - Just a few moments that have brought emotion that most modern Television can only dream of. These are the kinds of motivational concepts that drive people to want to be better and to be more than they are.

Series 7 was more like a series of mini films. The production values were superb and although the Clara episodes seem a bit disjointed it was all enjoyable. The first half was more consistent and I get the feeling the second half had a bigger story arc to tell but there wasnt enough time. Although we are familiar with Clara it feels like we are forced to know her and her impact on the Doctor's life far sooner than we should.

This series is probably one of the best yet but the inconsistencies and the cliffhanger ending are a bit of a let down. That said, I will be really sorry to see Matt Smith go. There is a part of me that considers him the best Doctor (yes I grew up with Tom Baker so thats saying something!). I dont think he was appreciated for what he did. But he will be going out on a high. Just wish I could work out how this ends. Well Done to all involved.
55 Comments| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse