Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Multiplayer Game I Have Played For A Long time! Quality Over Quantity.
Based on over 180 hours of game play at time of writing.
My Rig:
Windows 8.1 64bit, I7 4770 3.9ghz, 16GB 1600mhz RAM, Gigabyte OC GTX780, Z87Motherboard

Downloaded and installed in less than an hour with no problems at all. A great start!

I can honestly recommend this game to anyone who loves FPS and/or mech games, bored of CoD, Halo and...
Published 11 months ago by WayT

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Last Generation Shooter
I remember reading reviews for this game ages ago, the building hype took point over any other game this year and Microsoft seen Titanfall as a console seller. I bought the PC version to see what the big fuss was about and I was very disappointed. Coming up to release date I had heard that the game supported very few players per match, a lack of game modes and a proper...
Published 11 months ago by Adam Curry


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Multiplayer Game I Have Played For A Long time! Quality Over Quantity., 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanfall [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Based on over 180 hours of game play at time of writing.
My Rig:
Windows 8.1 64bit, I7 4770 3.9ghz, 16GB 1600mhz RAM, Gigabyte OC GTX780, Z87Motherboard

Downloaded and installed in less than an hour with no problems at all. A great start!

I can honestly recommend this game to anyone who loves FPS and/or mech games, bored of CoD, Halo and Battlefield? Fed up of MechWarrior online? Try this!

TitanFall has suffered from complaints about it's lack of single player campaign and bare bones multi player campaign. Apparently people actually want the crappy campaigns you get in Battlefield 3 and 4, CoD and Homefront! Well i don't and neither should you! This game focuses on doing one thing really well: The Multiplayer. The reason this game was created. It's why it exists and the only reason you should buy it.

THE GAMEPLAY: This itself is brilliant, this is the game selling point: The GAMEplay in a GAME is the selling point! Sad i have to say that, but it's true and i'm glad to see it. The two play styles either on foot as a pilot with parkour mechanics allowing you to get all over the map is one, the other is as the Titans. Both are very well done, they are very well balanced and both are always a threat to each other as the extremely well designed maps and excellent choice of equipment balance out the needs and uses of both. The controls for both are easy to learn and are very precise allowing for you to do what you need to do when you need to do it with no clunkiness at all.
The multiplayer campaign is simply there to tick a box and appease all the whiners who can't accept a game focussing on doing a few things really well, play this through so that you can unlock the other two titans and have all three available for the multiplayer matches-THE REASON THIS GAME EXISTS and the only reason you should buy it.
As of now there are Attrition, Last Titan standing, capture the flag and Hardpoint. All are 6V6, which was a non-issue for me prior to release and in the actual game is just fine and a complete non-issue there, this is not and was never meant to be Battlefield with mechs. You are an important part of your team and you need to pull your weight if you want your team to win.
Attrition is your standard DeathMatch and is the most fun, with unlimited respawns and no fixed location objectives you have the most freedom, figure out loadouts and playstyles that suit you. There is plenty of variety in this.
Last Titan standing is the most tense and thrilling, you start in a Titan and you have one life. So play smartly, conservatively and work with your team and cover each others backs to get the most out of this. In a 6V6 game you need to work togethor! Being outnumbered is a situation that can come up quickly if you don't and you will need to reset the balance to win.
Hardpoint can be brutal you will have to fight hard to take and hold the three points on the map and you will need to have a plan for your loadout and play style in order to do the best you can as you will be spread thin trying to take and hold the objectives.
There are many different ways of playing: want to be a sniper, head on infantryman, human Titan hunter or stealthy gunner? You can do it! Want to control a head-on tough, relentless damage dealing walking tank, good all rounder or fast and agile harasser as a Titan? You can do it! There are plenty of options allowing you to play how you want and they are all exceptionally well-balanced. You can even go nuclear! Creating a massive explosion right in the middle of a group of enemies, enjoy the view from way above the battlefield as you eject and fall back down on to the back of an enemy Titan and riddle its weak points with bullets!

GRAPHICS: There are better looking games, but Titanfall still looks very good and the detail is there and it is very well optimised. It has some good effects, a good amount of options and 4K support incoming. I have a GTX780 (Amazon verified) and i am not disapointed at all.

CONTROLLER SUPPORT:The controller support for the Xbox 360 controller is perfect. It can be used to control the entire experience as soon as the game starts up and you can seamlessly switch between it and a M&KB. It is worth me noting that the accuracy is incredibly well calibrated and in my entire time playing i have only used the controller and have never felt at a disadvantage fighting against the M&KB players that make up the most of PC gamers. Unfortunately you cannot fully customise the controller layout (WHY IS THIS TOO MUCH FOR DEVELOPERS?), but the preset ones are very good and the bumper-jumper is perfect for me anyway. I would recommend it for this type of game.

MAPS: There are 15 distinctively different, exceptionally well designed maps. This is the first game where i don't have a favourite map, i like all of them. I never have any concern over which random map the game loads up. They are all fun to play on and they all allow for that essential balance between Titans and Pilots.

*Private servers are available
*There is a training mode to practice the mechanics and familiarize yourself with playing as both a Titan and On-foot Pilot, it won't take long. Also play through the campaign first as this will not be dominated by more experienced players, so you can get to grips with the game.

A response to complaints:
* "It's online only" DON'T BUY IT THEN!
* "It has no single player, i want some single player!" DON'T BUY IT THEN! This was made very clear long before it was released, don't like it don't buy it!
* "The A.I. sucks" They are there to be an easy target for newcomers so that they can get into the game and try there best to pull their weight in a small team. They are also there to add to the atmosphere of the battlefield, they are constantly dropping onto and spreading over the battlefield making you feel part of a much more epic conflict, especially when they complement you on how awesome Pilots are and how terrifying Titans can be.
*"It's a 50GB download!" This information was also available before it's release, yes it is annoying for those of us with more powerful machines,as the uncompressed audio is there for the sake of people with dual-core processors, but at least it lowers the minimum specs allowing for a bigger player base, which we all benefit from in a MULTIPLAYER ONLY game. As for those of you using SSD's it is not going to make much difference in a game like this, how long it takes to get into the game depends upon the servers not your storage. If i'm wrong explain and prove to me why and i will edit accordingly.
*"There's no destructible terrain!" This would break the balance between on-foot pilots and Titans, whilst the pilots can take the ideal equipment to take on Titans the environment is essential. A pilot in the open can easily be killed by a Titan and is forgoing there advantage of being able to access any part of the terrain. Maybe it will be effectively implemented in a sequel.

If you have any questions leave a comment and i will try to get back to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its much better than i originally thought. wish i had bought it sooner tbh, 13 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: Titanfall [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
just a really fun take on the FPS genre, i read a few reviews that put a negative spin on it and i think that put me off.

the balance of the game changes as more mechs (titans) enter the fray so it stays feeling fresh, personally i wish id picked it up sooner as the latest COD games have been awful , only good ones there were mw2 and bops1 maybe. but this is way more fun and engaging. there are players with bad lag that ruin it, and personally i feel that people above a certain lag should be in grouped differently ( i dont think there is an option on the pc to group based upon connection strength/quality, but other than that there is a good feel from the way it plays and the weapons and titans at your disposal.

would happily recommend this to people who enjoy FPS for semi serious fun, ... im not good enough yet to take it seriously thank god.

running on a basic rig, amd 3850 with a 770gtx 2gb and it runs fine no glitches or freezes on pc on top settings , only doing so though on a 60hz tv so its not exactly pushing it, still it looks nice and smooth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game.... But 45GB install.... What!, 14 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Titanfall [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Let me start off by saying that this game is truly a fun, immersive game to play. The action is constant, and is defiantly a setup from call of duty gameplay wise. On PC the graphics and amazing, and even the most entry gaming PCs can run this game thanks to the game engine.

The only downside to this game is the download size... A whopping 21GB, which then installs to 45Gb! This is an absolute joke for a AAA title. The reason for this is the audio file which is uncompressed this accounts for 35Gb of the space. The reason for this is because it helps people with only a duel core pc to run the game. Hopefully in the future the developers can add an option to allow compressed audio for people who have a good enough PC to do it.

Overall if you have a good internet speed, download the game. If you don't, buy the disc for a less painful experience but be prepared for the 45GB size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanfall [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
im happy fast code send on my email.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just, Fab, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanfall [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Best FPS i have ever played. total of 10 hours so far, more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanfall [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars TitanFall, a solid FPS., 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanfall [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
A solid fps with a patch now fixing initial 120hz support makes this a genuinely fun game for casual and serious gamers alike, caution though can get boring after 20+ hours gameplay, but then i cheap skated on the dlc and never bothered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good time killer, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanfall [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Not the revolution that it was billed to be but a good game nevertheless. Multiplayer is a good way to kill a bit of time of an evening but I would buy if you like PVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Last Generation Shooter, 25 May 2014
By 
Adam Curry (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanfall [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I remember reading reviews for this game ages ago, the building hype took point over any other game this year and Microsoft seen Titanfall as a console seller. I bought the PC version to see what the big fuss was about and I was very disappointed. Coming up to release date I had heard that the game supported very few players per match, a lack of game modes and a proper campaign. All of this is very true as the game replaces what could have been large player counts with bots for each "pilot" to kill. Calling in a titan was made to be a huge deal even though there is only 3 variations in which 2 must be unlocked through playing the "campaign" twice over from different perspectives.

Free running does very little and the only interesting aspect of this future which made it unique was the fact a player could escape the map once they lost to the opposing team. I thought for this game to compete with shooters such as Battlefield 4 and CoD: Ghosts it would at least contain much more weaponry or something but there is very little to unlock.

Does no one remember Lost Planet? The game that allowed players to enter robots online to fight other players? This game is not an original idea nor is it a "next gen" shooter. I rate this game 3 stars simply due to the fact that it would be much more fun at a lower price with less hype to sell it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Titanfall [Online Game Code], 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanfall [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Good variation on the mechwarrior game genre.
Good graphics and sound.
Gameplay can vary according to how you want to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Titanfall  [Online Game Code]
Titanfall [Online Game Code] by Electronic Arts
£29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews