Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2015
After "The Biology of Belie,f" which I recommend without hesitation, here's Bruce Lipton's most recent book, in which he proposes to save the planet, co-authored with a friend who makes a living as a political humorist pretending to be an Indian swami.
Which leaves us where, exactly? Well, the description of new advances in Biology and what that means is riveting and informed, as one would expect from Lipton. The argument that the human race is to individuals what individuals are to their component cells is ingenious and suggestive, but of course it's not the kind of thing that can actually be proved, at least not yet. Nor is it actually as new as the authors suggest it is.
Which is really the problem. For every suggestive insight (the influence of mass meditation on crime rates, for example) there are some clumsy attempts to make links to subjects where it's obvious that neither of the authors is an expert, and which often ring very false when you know something about the subject being discussed. (Bhaerman may have studied politics many years ago, but it's not clear how much attention he was paying). Moreover, the book is aimed almost exclusively at Americans, as though the US were the only country with problems, and puts forward only a few rather saccharine and superficial examples of problems from the rest of the world (South Africa, for example). I'd like to see the authors' formula for solving the Palestine question: do Palestinians lovingly give up the wish to return to the homes, or do Jews lovingly hand the homes back and go and live elsewhere? And how would this work in practice?
Lipton really ought to write the next book by himself.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2012
It's not often that one stumbles over a book that is so all embracing in its analysis of the human condition and how it can be transformed. Spontaneous Evolution sets out to bring together the understanding from many disciplines of current scientific thinking, particularly in the fields of biology and evolutionary genetics but also from quantum physics and its mathematical foundations; the socio-politic struggles that are happening around the world within the context of their historical basis; the problems with economic models based on debt and growth; along with a debunking of cultural mythology that form the underlying erroneous views of our competitive, violent and dysfunctional modern world that is heading towards an abyss of environmental and economic collapse.
Yet this is not an academic treatise. It is clearly written, well informed and deeply profound. Not only does it show us how our misinterpretations of the way things are have led us to create a world out of balance and heading towards disasters on all fronts, it shows us how humans are evolving and can further evolve into true human beings, at peace with their world and taking care of each other and the planet they live on to the best of their abilities.
For those of us who keep on struggling to stay positive about the future this book is essential reading. We all need to spontaneously evolve into a new species and leave behind our childish, self-centred notion of independence and self-protectionism so that we can truly participate as grown-ups in the real world where we recognize that all living beings are connected and can truly experience energy and spirit being once again deeply connected with matter and flesh.
I heartily recommend you read it for yourself and then tell all your friends about it.
A. R. Haslam ( author of The Chitta Niyama Opportunity
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
So many aspects of how our global societies work based on their beliefs were eloquently discussed which later developed into the impact and power of the collective mind influencing our societies. The compelling explanations of how powerful each individual's thought adds to the collective mind to not only heal the individual but also to heal that society making it more cohesive.
I particularly connected with the analogy of the human cell as a perfect example of how our society could work more effectively.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
I bought this as a gift for a friend and she absolutely loves the book and thoroughly recommends it - good read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I didn't find this the most readable of books initially, as I couldn't tell where it was going. But when I really got into it, I began to appreciate it. The subject-matter of the book affects all our personal lives - the very existence of the planet, and in fact has broad metaphysical ramifications. I haven't previously read any book quite like it.

The authors examine various myths entrenched in the basic beliefs of our civilization and challenge 1) the main tenets of Newtonian philosophy, basically that the only reality is physical matter 2) Charles Darwin's theory of evolution and the necessity for us to fight for our survival - survival of the fittest 3) the theory that we have all blindly accepted for years that we are controlled and limited by our genes and 4) that evolution and everything else that happens to us is random. Actually all these four premises have been proved by modern science to be fallacious, but our society is still acting on them as though they were true.

It is explained that evolution did not occur gradually but in great leaps. Single cells developed into single cell communities. These developed into multicellular organisms, which in turn developed into societal organizations.

That is, we did not evolve through competition and fighting but through cooperation and banding (bonding) together.

The crazy self-destructive way our human society is run is compared to the way the cells in our body run the show. Our cells don't fight and kill each other but pool their resources and work together for the health of the greater whole.

It's all explained at a very high level, and I would need to have read the book a couple of times more to even begin to give an adequate representation of the details or even all the main precepts of the book.

But what I got out of it was that at this critical juncture when both our living planet and ourselves are on the brink of a new evolutionary leap, we need to change our basic thinking, cooperate instead of fight, love instead of hate. In other words we need to follow the example of our own cells, and realize that we humans are also all part of one body, Gaia - and if we are to survive we must accept all other beings as necessary parts of ourselves, or our greater Self.

The key word to the success of this evolutionary leap is LOVE.

And when I read this book I felt the love and the high consciousness energy of the authors flowing from the pages, and I myself was helped in achieving a higher vibration. It is a book that contributes to harmonizing the head with the heart, which will be a necessary pre-condition for the survival of our civilization.

I strongly recommend this book to every thinking and loving person, and to all those who aspire to be such.
1919 Comments| 130 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
This is a must read book! Bruce Lipton is a fantastic writer and teacher. I have heard him speak several times and read biology of belief several times. He conveys his knowledge in a very accessible and at times humerous way. I hope that as many people on this planet as possible can read this book and take on board he message that we are all co creators of our future on this planet earth. You don't need to be in any doubt about buying this book. Infact buy several copies and give them to people you know!! 11/10!!!!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
This is a big book in every way. It is a cornucopia of historical overviews, old myths that linger and affect our choices, new-science discoveries that reveal new possibilities and clarifying visual models of our evolutionary potential.

Bruce Lipton, a well know speaker and author, has a background in cellular biology and was a major contributor in the field of genetics (having been involved in the epogenetic revolution). He is also an expert regarding the role of "belief" in mind and body relationship, having written an acclaimed book called the Biology of Belief.

The co-author, Steve Bhaerman, has a background in political science and history but is also a humorist and comedian (known as "Swami Beyondananda"), a modern court-jester whose work has been described both as "comedy disguised as wisdom" and "wisdom disguised as comedy."

This dynamic duo creates a rare combination of hard facts and transformational humor, giving the reader a fascinating ride into new and old territory. Despite many in-depth scientific descriptions, facts and figures, references and footnotes, models and mind-stretching concepts, this book reads like a mystery novel, hard to put down, both funny and surprisingly enlightening.

I am at a loss as to how to summarize this book. It is brilliant. It is convincing. It is eye-opening. It is broad and deep, leaving no stone unturned. It clarifies the role of perception, the connection between science and culture, how to let go of old myths and reveals a whole new story for humanity. It concludes by acknowledging that "the real challenge for the individual is to practice evolution, to learn the lessons of the old stories so we no longer need to repeat them, and to remind ourselves that the critical mass of humanity involved with this evolution will change the world from the inside out." p. 359

Perhaps a review of some of the comic quotes from "Swami Beyondananda" at the beginning of each chapter will give a flavor of the approach and the topics.

"We don't need to save the world, just spend it more wisely." "When your only intention is looking out for number one, everyone and everything else gets treated like number two." "The truth shall upset you free." "You know our cells just might be smarter than we are." "In Nature's economy, the Golden Rule overrules the Rule of Gold."

And here is some quotes from the reviews of the book will give a feeling for the depth of the message:

"The implications of this powerful book have the potential to change the world." Deepak Chopra

"..is a world-changing book that offers a heartening view of humanity's destiny..." Thom Hartman

"..is a brilliant synthesis of science, evolutionary theory, and spiritual consciousness that provides a unique explanation of our global situation and how we might move forward..." Rabbi Michael Lerner

"...is an eye-opening, mind-expanding, and paradigm-shifting journey... a guidebook for becoming sane in a dysfunctional world." Nicki Scully

"...The future that emerges from this Whole New Story is so attractive that I believe it will encourage us to fulfill our true hearts' desire for more love, more life, more creativity NOW." Barbara Marx Hubbard.

"An extraordinary and timeless gift to humanity." Leonard Laskow M.D.

The summation of insights that I got from the book are as follows. If we develop the right capabilities, right awareness and let go of our limiting programing based on old myths, we have the potential to evolve from being totally identified with our individuality to a recognition of our common humanity. This seems to be the key factor that will trigger our spontaneous evolution. May it happen!

Mara Senese
[...]
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
This book is so inspired I am so glad that it has been written - thank you so much to the writers! I had started to give into the idea that the end of the world is inevitable, because of the evidence we are bombarded with every day, but this book has given me hope where I really thought there was none. Reading this book expands your mind as it provides the broadest perspective covering the ways both science and religion have shaped human life from the very beginning. It is really exciting to consider the human potential if both were to unite in a common goal to save the planet.

This book has shed so much light on exactly where we are and where and why we are going wrong. Some of the facts and figures are hard to swallow but the incredibly positive belief that the growing awareness and consciousness of a critical mass can save us carries you through this incredible book which I didn't want to end. I highly recommend it to anyone needing to see the light at the end of the tunnel.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2009
This book is a wonderfully exciting, enlightening and heartening ride! With clarity and humor Lipton and Bhaerman lay to rest the persistent arguments that human society, with all its political, economic and philosophical developments, stands above and apart from biological evolution, which therefore has nothing explanatory or prescriptive to offer us in muddling our way through massive challenges. Indeed, their leading-edge science shows most persuasively that we are not ruled by our genes, but still are thoroughly embedded within the biological evolutionary trajectory; that we can gain enormously powerful insights and tactics from our own deep ancestry back to the first archebacteria and forth through many survived crises to those seemingly insurmountable ones confronting us now. Their scientifically impeccable journey through physics and biology cuts through the errors and competition politics of Darwinism while weaving back and forth between microcosm and macrocosm to show exactly how our own midsized 50 trillion-celled bodies have already solved the very problems our beleaguered fledgling global family still confronts. Read it and know exactly where we stand and how we can thrive. [For my related book, see:Earthdance: Living Systems in Evolution
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
This is an incredible book that covers so many important topics that will be crucial for the future of humanity. I believe this book could be as important as The Bible, The Elements and The Principia in terms of the quality of ideas it contains and the time at which it is written. Not only does it cover the basics of Bruce Lipton's earlier work about the biological effects of beliefs at the cellular level it takes the idea a step further and applies it to society.

If you are interested in the future of the planet and want to find out more about how we can survive and avoid the impending economic, atmospheric and societal disasters then this is the book for you. Climate Change, Mayan Prophecies and Global Recessions are important to be aware of but plans need to be made and action needs to be taken so we can learn to inhabit this planet in peace before the grim predicted future becomes a reality.

The unbelievably high reviews of this great book stand testament to its brilliance. Buy it today and start reading, you won't regret it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)