Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2004
A classic Elvis Presley album, and indeed one of his all-time greatest, "From Elvis in Memphis" presents the harvest of two recording marathons in early 1969 at Chips Moman's American Studios in Memphis. Following hot on the heels of the '68 Comeback Special, the Memphis sessions produced a string of hits and sterling cuts, which helped to reestablish Elvis as one of the leading figures in rock culture. Even now, some 35 years after date, there isn't a weak number on this disc, with Elvis returning to his roots of blues, rhythm 'n' blues, country and gospel, and blending it all into his charateristically eclectic mix, as only he could, yet with a force and conviction which hadn't been heard for years. The way he turns the old Eddy Arnold country hit-tune "I'll Hold You In My Heart" into a powerful blues cut which doesn't let go, is just one example. The opening "Wearin' That Loved on Look", "Long Black Limousine", "Power Of My Love", and "Any Day Now" are all magificent achievements.
For the current CD release six more songs from the Memphis sessions (the hits "Suspicious Minds", "Kentucky Rain", "Don't Cry Daddy", among others) were added.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 April 2013
"From Elvis In Memphis" was a No.1 album in 1969 and deservedly so. Here Elvis is approaching his peak as an artist having made his glorious 1968 T.V special.
The album starts strongly with "Wearin That Loved On Look" and "Only the Strong Survive" and just keeps going. Now of special note here are "After Loving You", "True Love Travels On A Gravel Road" (one of the best Elvis recordings not released as an A-side single), "Any Day Now" are presented here with the best sound I've ever heard for these reecordings. This includes the 60's Masters Volume 1 box set.
Any album that boasts "In The Ghetto" as it's closing track is always going to be a masterpiece.

"Back In Memphis" continues in the same vein. "Inherit The Wind" and "This Is The Story" rank alongside "True Love Travels On A Gravel Road". Elvis was rejunivated as a mature superstar at the time of these recordings and leaves no one in doubt who is the "The King".

The legacy edition then concludes with a run through of the singles master from the time allowing "Suspicious Minds", "Don't Cry Daddy", "Rubberneckin'" (original version) and "Kentucky Rain" to be brought into the mix.

Individually the albums were fantastic, put them together on this legacy set with the extras, and you have an unsurpassed master.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Elvis backing in Memphis in the studio after all those films very cool.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
The King at his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
Excellent vinyl exceptional service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2010
I bought this CD with trepidation, I was wondering that is can't be any better than his previous songs. I am just totally blown away by this double disc CD. For the casual Elvis fan, this CD sees Elvis in another unique musical dimension. The tracks 'wearin that loved on look', 'Power of my love' and Black Limousine are totally mind blowing and are worth the whole album alone. I wished Elvis had sung these songs at his live shows ! I would go far and say, some of his B sides and lesser known songs are even better than his famous songs !
I was surprised that he had such a diverse his musical and vocal range. He sings R&B, soul and pop at his most sensual and sexiest, and country at his heartbreaking mold. This man is a genius, he deserved much better at the time of the original release.
This double CD is a 'must have' in any Elvis collection. Also, the booklet has fantastic photos of the King and good history of how the memphis sessions came about. Its great value for money ! You will not regret it !
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
EXCELLENT/PERFECT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 12 February 2016
RCA Legacy Edition was conceived as a project where two of Elvis’ popular albums were grouped together, and released as a box set. In this From Elvis In Memphis set, the two albums are 1) From Elvis In Memphis (Billboard 13/1969 and UK 1/1969)(16 tracks with 4 bonus tracks) and 2) Back In Memphis (US 183/1970)(20 tracks with 10 bonus tracks).

Elvis Presley’s Memphis sessions proved that sometimes you can go home again. It was January 1969, and Elvis had not recorded in his hometown since leaving Sun Records for RCA in 1955. But the renewed focus and ambition sparked by his wildly successful TV comeback special the previous month propelled him back into a Memphis studio, where in just two weeks of sessions, he made some of the most memorable and artistically satisfying music of his career.

This burst of inspired creativity resulted in the critically acclaimed album From Elvis In Memphis and its companion LP Back In Memphis. “Suspicous Minds,” “In The Ghetto,”
“Don’t Cry Daddy,” and “Kentucky Rain” were among the unforgettable hits that results.
There is also an excellent informative booklet many gorgeous pictures. I learned from the liner notes that “In The Ghetto” was not without its own troubles. Written by the soon-to-be performer Mac Davis, the song’s political content (gentle, almost vapid by today’s standards) unnerved some of Elvis’ friends, apparently worried that he would alienate his fan base – byu taking a stand against a cycle of poverty and violence. (The Comeback Special’s “If I Can Dream” was more political than this song, and it had been praised.) Moman, employing some of the psychology that any real producer keeps in his quiver, declared that it would be a perfect song for Rosie Grier or Roy Hamilton (a childhood hero of Elvis). Elvis did not have to be asked twice to perform this song. His performance, unadorned, passionate, empathetic, is a masterpiece - and a hit. In hindsight the reservations about the song seem laughable, but only few short months earlier, Elvis’ people had him singing “Dominic” to a bull!

The audio was very well remastered with no hiss. Elvis’ voice was front in the center. If you should buy these two albums on CDs individually, firstly, the sound would be much more inferior, 2) there is no booklet and bonus tracks.

This RCA Legacy Edition series is very well done. Other legacy editions include Elvis (legacy edition), Elvis Is Back, and Elvis Country, all very well done.

Elvis is our king, with 165 charted singles and 130 charted albums. This Legacy Edition set gave me beautifully remastered music (with bonus tracks) and a great booklet. Somehow, I do not feel that I am being squeezed by the music industry to the last drop of my hard-earned dollar. I feel very satisfied. This set is highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Considered by many to be his best album and they may well have a point. Coming off the successful "1968 Comeback Special" and itching to lay down some tracks of somewhat greater significance than the vacuous soundtrack material that he'd been lumbered with for much of the decade, Presley would appear to have been given his head for much of the time on these sessions. He was assigned a sympathetic producer in Chips Moman who was well versed in soul, blues and country and most points in between. Moman's own CV even included a solid dose of old-fashioned rock'n'roll having done a stint in the road bands of both Johnny Burnette and Gene Vincent.

The songs on "From Elvis in Memphis" reflect just that musical pedigree. Plenty of soul in Jerry Butler's "Only the Strong Survive", Chuck Jackson's "Any Day Now" plus the storming opener, "You're wearing that Loved-on look" written by Dallas Frazier, a man more known for country material but also not averse to penning something in a southern soul vein like this one. Frazier also contributes "True Love travels on a gravel road" which is okay-ish but less distinctive. There's also C&W here in Johnny Tillotson's pop/country "It keeps right on a'hurtin`" plus the more up to date "Gentle on my Mind". Not forgetting the up tempo near rock'n'roll of Hank Snow's "I'm Movin' On". Opening with some guitar picking and a train whistle before the gospel choir start upping the heat - I wonder if someone had listened to the Ray Charles cut where the Raelettes performed a similar function - no matter this one rolls along very nicely.

That leaves us with blues and "Power of Love" covers that genre rather nicely. Opening with an aggressive guitar riff from someone who might just have heard of (or even played alongside) Steve Cropper, Elvis is in more forceful mode than at any time since recording songs like "Hound Dog" and "Jailhouse Rock".

There are four tracks I haven't mentioned. These are the tracks that really make this album a monster. "In the Ghetto" is the by far the most well known of these and it's rightly been lauded by many. This is Elvis about as far out of his comfort zone as he gets. The performance is both intimate and dramatic though for me there's a level of artifice present which sometimes leaves me slightly uncomfortable. There's no doubt that as Presley had developed, he'd changed from an artist who performed on instinct - and in the early days those instincts were invariably right - to one who was very self-aware. The development of this self-awareness was gradual during the pre-army RCA days but his first post-army album showed a changed performer. The old devil may care approach was present in only a few of the songs like the heavy blues, "Reconsider Baby".

But the old Presley is back with us totally on "After Loving You" which has the feel of a tossed off live take. It's the sort of performance that no one but Presley ever gave but only gave, increasingly infrequently. There are elements of blues, gospel and country all intertwined with an Elvis who's completely immersed in the song. It's at the opposite end of his performing spectrum to "the Ghetto" but both are great tracks for different reasons. The backing is restrained putting all the focus on Elvis.

"Old Black Limousine" does the really difficult thing and combines both approaches. It's rather stagey like "The Ghetto" but after the slow intro it moves more into more of a white soul belter. Often described as a country song, it's not, but its lyrics certainly come from the western tradition. Elvis smoulders his way though it and really puts his all into the closing stages.

And that leaves me with "I'll hold you in my arms till I can hold you in my heart". This one is a country song but delivered unlike any other country song you`ve heard. Take all the words I said about "After Loving You" and double them at least. That's the intensity you get here. Once again simple support, piano, organ and guitar but above it all Elvis is in his own world, almost speaking in tongues at times. Each time you expect it to end he soars into another middle eight. At four minutes and thirty seconds it's too short. Good as other tracks are on the album they pale beside this one.

And unfortunately pale is the term to describe much of Disc 2 which is the studio portion of the "From Memphis to Vegas / From Vegas to Memphis" album. These are the tracks which were left on the cutting room floor after the "From Elvis in Memphis" album was assembled. They're all very competently put together but few of the songs managed to spark Elvis into the larger than life performances which we got with the initial album. One of the better tracks is "Stranger in my Hometown" which was originally written and performed by the slightly obscure blues artist, Percy Mayfield. Both Elvis and the band give the song a forceful performance and the lyrics seem rather apt, what with Elvis returning to Memphis to record. Elsewhere he gives us a very playful rendition of Ned Miller's country crossover hit "From a Jack to a King". I can only describe this one as delightful - Elvis is having such fun with the song. Most of the rest of the tracks are ballads of which, "Without Love" is the standout. Predictably dramatic but great performance nevertheless.

The extras we get are mainly singles and B sides which were also recorded during the same Memphis sessions. Head and shoulders above the rest of them is "Suspicious Minds" about which I'll say no more because you'll probably already have heard it several million times already (though I do have rather dim memories of a certain karoake session!).

In terms of rating, "From Elvis in Memphis" on its own must be worth ten stars. The second disc would get a lot less from me but unfortunately the songs on that second album seemed to set the mould for Elvis in the '70's apart from the concert material.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2002
This new-digtally remastered version of Elvis' best album, actually tops the original because of the half-dozen bonus tracks.
Actually, "From Elvis in Memphis" is in my opinion, the best album ever made. Nothing can top the flawless rock, blues and country songs magnificently performed by the King.
The legendary tracks, such as "Suspicious Minds", "In The Ghetto", "Kentucky Rain" and "Don't Cry Daddy" are all here; but it's the flawless mastery of a man who genuinely could do it all, that makes this album essential.
What makes this better than "Sgt Pepper", "Revolver" or "Pet Sounds"? I hear you ask.........well, Elvis flawless performances, without the need to experiment with sounds, tinker with effects or create psychadelic lyrics. Lennon or McCartney could'nt perform blues or country, whilst Dylan could'nt sing rock or Jagger not a ballad singer; none of them could sing gospel; whilst Elvis Presley easily could do it all, effortlessly from his first to last recordings.
The likes of "Suspicious Minds" and "The Ghetto" speak for themselves; whilst "Stranger in My Own Home Town" is a blues masterpiece straight out of the Mississippi delta and "Wearin' That Loved On Look" is a lesson in how to sing a rock song.
But there's country and gospel laded R 'n' B such as a blistering version of "I'm Movin On" or "Without Love."
I cannot recommend this album enough; it was #1 in 1969 and a re-release this good, of such a stunning, stunning album is essential for any collection of casual music fans of avid fanatics.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)