Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2017
Half way through I lost the plot
And found the book to be more of a history of the French resistance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
AN INFORMATIVE READ BUT WHAT A BUNCH OF MURDERING SO AND SOS , SOME OF THESE MEN WHERE Suicidal and fully devoted to the Hitler. A lot of unnecessar y waste of lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
No problems downloading whatsoever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
This book covers a lot of ground. If you regard it as a guide book rather than a history book, you will find it very useful. I had it with me on a battlefield tour of resistance sites in the Limoges area and found it very handy. There aren't many books which will show you Violette Szabo's landing site, for example.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2005
I purchased this to add to my collection of books concerning Das Reich and, in particular, Oradour-sur-Glane. What a waste of money!
The text reads like it was written by a child, there are numerous chronological errors and one gets the impression the author has done little fresh research of his own. Rather, it seems as though he has lifted pieces from other works and then altered them to fit his own style of writing. As far as Oradour is concerned, he's even managed to get the name of the unit commander incorrect! There is a lot about the French Resistance which is so badly laid out it's virtually impossible to follow.
If you've got money to burn, buy it. If, like me, you haven't, there are several other works available which are far better written and researched.
22 Comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
This book confirmed in detail many of the facts that I was only generally aware of during the German Occupation of France and Occupied Europe. Having now read in detail from some of the survivor's experiences of the horrors involved, including the murder of British soldiers captured by the SS aided by some of the French, I was surprised how easily many of them were so quickly forgiven by the French Government, although I am sure those who experienced these horrors to their families and friends will never forget to their dying days. When driving across France, over the past 40 odd years and having stopped to look at Memorials to those murdered by the Germans, here and there, in a corner of a field, edge of a wood or village centre, I will certainly reflect and thinks for a few minutes longer of their sufferings, the next time I am over there and stop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
I cannot agree with the previous writer. I found this a most interesting book. The author has obviously done a considerable amount of research and I see from his web site [...] that he lives in the South West of France and has met a number of local Resistants over the years.

It is a very practical book in that the author shows the reader the exact route taken by Das Reich on their move from the South to the North of France, and even pointing out salient features that remain to this day.

Well worth the money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
This book is more about the various sections of the French resistance than about the Panzer Division.
It lists the resistance heroes by name and code name, and gives a dry account of what they did to delay the panzers on their way to Normandy. It reads almost like a spreadsheet.
It also describes in great detail the journey taken with some accompanying photos, but there is no sense of drama or even of narrative.
I can't fault it for historical accuracy, but I found it just boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
got this 99p on kindle version, its a great reference read, great book very informative and lots of potential wargaming scenarios
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Found it dry reading and it compres poorly with the book of siimilar title by the eminent historian, Max Hastings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)