Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
21
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2015
very enlightening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
This book is a great introduction into this disastrous allied raid on the French seaside town of Dieppe. The book is set out in clear stages, illustrating preparation and execution of the raid, revealing the basic aims and objectives for each beach landing along the front; which all had 'colour' code names. It is a clear and concise account of the unfolding events, along with numerous photo's, memoirs of survivors and the accounts from the Axis defenders.

I found this book most useful in filling in a gap of wartime history, that is often overlooked. I was aware that the raid was generally considered a 'disaster', but this book reveals that there was at least one beach head (Orange) that did achieve most of it's objectives.

There is a 'tour guide' section towards the end of the book for those who wish to visit the sites today, which will no doubt be of interest to many.

Although generally good, there are a couple of criticisms that do come to mind. Some accounts are a little too brief, and supportive reproductions of the military maps are often a hard to understand. This book would have benefited from modern redraws of the maps associated to each raid, so as to help the reader gain a better understanding of the event and it's context with the neighbouring beach heads. Using the original maps are interesting to see, but were of little use in the size shown in the book.

Overall, a good read and a worthy contribution. This book will be of interest to anyone interested in the 2nd Canadian Division, Commandos, Dieppe and the Second World War in general.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
Terrible proof-reading is getting to be a bit of a habit with books released for Kindle. This one is no exception, so a powerful and compelling account of the raid is let down badly. Numerous references to the 'Isle of White' pretty much sum it up. A further criticism is that maps and photographs just don't work on Kindle. I've got a stash of holiday reading on the Kindle and if the quality is anything like this, I'll be going back to the printed page permanently.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
Having little knowledge of what actually happened on this fateful raid, I now realise that it must have greatly benefited the planning for "D" day irrespective of how long before that it occurred. No doubt many lessons were learned but at a terrible human cost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Most detailed account of Dieppe raid I have read. Slightly repetitive due to analysis of the operation from different viewpoints and comands but packed with detail. Maps, photographs and plans are plentiful but too small to to be read in digitised form.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
the royal engineers association BRIGHTON BRANCH attend a service at the Newhaven memorial every year. To read of all that was done by these brave men is an eye opener. WE WILL REMEMBER THEM.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
Very good informative read, didn't know anything about the Dieppe raid and know I am very knowledgeable, didn't want to put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
Quick deliver and I think what I want as my Dad and it looks and sound like what he has been looking for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Makes you realise how lives were lost by a mixture of bad planning and bad luck.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
well told book on a tragic mistake, but it did make D-Day a success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)