Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 12 April 2017
Enthralling book covering a part of history when brave and inspiring individuals came to the fore. We owe them everything
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2017
At the end I was reminded what a loss his death at the hands of low life was. He fought and eventually died serving his country. I thoroughly recommend this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2017
While I enjoyed this account by a remarkable man, I felt it failed to convey the tensions he must have felt during his escape from Colditz. It also bounced back and forth between his involvement in the Nuremberg prosecution process and his incarceration and subsequent journey to freedom. It is well worth reading to appreciate the bravery of ordinary people who risked their lives to help allied personnel return home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2017
A well written account from this ex Colditz P.O.W. He gives a first hand insight into the trials and tribulations of being held captive during the second world war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2014
I knew the name Airey Neave and remembered his tragic end from when I was a young schoolboy but only later became aware of his successful escape from Colditz. This book tells the first-hand story of a young man's capture, escape, incarceration, second escape, flight across Germany and return to the UK. It gives the reader an insight into the physical and psychological challenges of the escape . A very interesting and insightful story, which I enjoyed immensely.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2017
All the cunning and guile is expressed so well in this book. The stealth and cheek that prisoners of war used to break out of the camps comes out so well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2017
I remember this man from when I was a child amazed at what he and other POWS went through
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2017
Fascinating account without embellishment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2017
GREAT STORY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2018
Great read & very interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)