Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 1 February 2014
The author like so many Britons of his generation was a hero who deserved better than to be murdered by Irish criminal thugs. His story of escape, capture and eventual successful escape from the alleged ultra secure Colditz is extremely interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
Very good and interesting book , for a man to go through so much ay the hands of the nazi's and gestapo , see them brought to justice and contribute with that to be murdered by a cowardly act of terrorism by faceless people who are now in charge!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
Interesting stuff. Airey Neave lead a real "boys own" life. Anyone who likes the WWII escape stories should read this. Made more interesting for me that he stayed in a safe house in the village I live in, Port Vendres in south of France.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
Initially I thought it might be written in an old fashioned style but allowing for the odd word e.g. gay it isn't. Good description and tension in the action made me want to turn the page. I particularly liked the irony of the changing time line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, from capture, imprisonment, escape and the famous trials were so well described, one felt I was actually there,
Full marks to Airey Neave for sharing these experiences with us.
Kenny "S"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
What a wonderful man and his colleagues were,this man walked over the,Pyrenees mountains,
and came back home to be killed by terrorists so sad.
I would recommend this book to any body even if war etc does not interest you this will.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
This book is extremely well written. It gives an atmospheric description of Neave's escape from Nazi Germany. Through turning the pages the struggle and fear that was associated with the escape is palpable. I would highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
The late Airey Neave makes a good account of his War exploits,and subsequent Trial of the Nazis.
The book commends itself to all readers,who enjoy a factual war story.
The amazing courage of the Author shines through each page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
This is an excellant book about a world war 2 escape from what the germans thought impossible to escape from.
Each day the inmates plotted until they had the best plan in order to become free as a bird and come back to england.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
I wanted to know more about this brave and valiant man but was a little disappointed by the parts of the book not relevant to his famous escape. Once it got down to the nitty gritty of what he went through, I thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)