Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
33
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2013
Cannot recommend this film enough - Saw it after a friend recommended it and didn't think it would be my kind of film however I loved it - A beautiful love story with a strong message filmed in fantastic locations, you will not regret buying this!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
Anyone who's hungry for a feel-good, studio-quality gay romance - with crisp photography, classy sets, clear sound, attractive actors with celebrity stubble, hot bods, pure hearts, and plenty of obstacles for true love to overcome - is going to love this movie. There are no others like it. Even lesbians are pretty well represented, within the movie's Hollywood-like straight-acting constraints. It's certainly as good and as believable as any straight romance Hollywood ever made. Even straight people might like it, because there's a very cute child, the gays are wonderfully domestic and straight-acting, and true love is true love regardless of gender.

The fact that this movie's objective - equal treatment of gay married couples under US immigration law - had, to the whole world's amazement, already been achieved by the time the DVD was released doesn't compromise its effectiveness as much as it could have. It really is a very romantic drama much more than an appeal for justice, so while the appeal already sounds dated it's a small enough part of the movie that it's easy to overlook.

For gay men like me, though, and others who aren't particularly romantic, this movie is not so great. The problem is the screenplay, written by David W. Ross, who also stars as Jack.

Nearly every point on which the highly melodramatic story turns is weak at best, and often ludicrous: Drag-racing taxis on a rainy Manhattan street at night? Jack suddenly losing his work visa after 20 steadily productive years in the US? Why? His lawyer says it's "because of 9/11"? Was every gainfully-employed British WASP deported ten years after 9/11? It makes no sense.

And after all those years of obviously successful employment (just look at his fabulous Manhattan loft apartment!), why doesn't he already HAVE a green card, or even citizenship? That's just the beginning; the contrived, nonsensical crises, one after another, are just too absurd to swallow. It's also hard to sympathize with affluent people who repeatedly make stupid choices.

But this is Hollywood (or might as well be). So while I found the movie mostly annoying (a few dynamite turns by Jamie-Lynn Sigler are the only exceptions), I strongly recommend it to my less cynical and more romantically-inclined brothers who've been waiting an unfairly long time for a movie just like this.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Fabulous film and from one of the singers from Bad Boys Inc (if you remember them). David W Ross has written a good movie, he acts in it and is out living the high life in LA. He's now on his next project.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
This film is simply brilliant!!!! a wonderful and heartwarming film, excellent performances from all the cast
If you haven't added it to your basket please do, i would definitely recommend you to :-)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
Genuinely moving and emotional movie that draws you in to the issues and David W Ross is outstanding in this - don't delay in buying this movie. It is one of the best movies I've seen in far too long a time
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 25 November 2013
Jack is `an Englishman in New York' and like the subject of that song, Quentin Crisp, he too is gay. He has a straight brother and a few other connections, then after his brother has broken the news that he is to be a father he is run down and killed. The story moves on a number of years and Jack (David W. Ross who was in nineties boy band `The Backstreet Boys') has become the dutiful uncle to little Tara and a support to his sister in law, who clearly still misses her husband.

Then Jack is told that immigration control is onto him (and they are not nice people) and he will be deported as his work visa is going to run out. His only hope it seems is to get married for the elusive `Green Card' and to do that means finding a pliable woman and actually knowing each other well enough to convince the authorities that they are not faking it. He does not want to leave his family, having no more connections in England and then he meet interior architect Mano who is Spanish and has a bit of emotional baggage but is a nice man and they soon fall for each other. The problems that they then face will test the mettle of everyone involved and simmering resentments, unsaid feelings and emotional extremes all come pouring out.

This is a really powerful film. I thought it was a drama and a half as so much happens that it would be enough to turn most people to prescription medication or booze or both. The characters are all believable and the acting is superb, I particularly liked Sam who plays `the stately homo' as Mr Crisp once called himself. His `besty' Alison is also great and plays the role of friend, confidant and betrayer all perfectly. The whole thing had me wanting to know more and I could not help being concerned for all of the characters which is a ruddy good achievement. I had no expectations of this at all but was left feeling I had seen something of rare quality, very moving and a rewarding watch too which I can thoroughly recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
David has not changed.... Was a fan of BBI back in the day... I was the odd one out in my class cos every other girl loved Take That (yuk!) and because of this I was bullied, but I stuck with them..
David out shines himself in this... Can't wait for his next film!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
This film does not over promise or under deliver, it was easy to watch and the characters and lives all well enough acted. As much as I wanted to know about the main character though the story focused on the situation at hand, and his past only related to his family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
This is a subtle and warming movie that has a great story, well acted, well made, and is a very watchable, and enjoyable film. Last time i enjoyed i film this much was when i saw "Shelter" or "Coming out", its one of those kinda movies, not to over bearing, the characters feel real, and it keeps you firmly engaged all the way through, and it has a nice ending, so many gay movies have terrible depressing endings.
I rented it first on blinkbox, and liked it so much, not sure if its available for rental from Amazon, so i decided to but from amazon, a must for my collection.
Buy this movie, give it a chance, its a great film, you will enjoy it !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
Overally an enjoyable film but I felt the car accident during the earlier part of the story was superfluous and served little purpose other than spoiling the storyline.

I rent a lot of this type of gay oriented films with view to buying them if they turn out to be great. Having taken exception to the aforementioned incident I cannot bring myself to watch this again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)