Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
42
2.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2015
A lot of noise for no content. Simply that, nothing to see. No relation to the original film really, some made up angst and a few gratuitous scenes and then it ends. Dull and fast forwarded for the most part.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Having seen CRUISING when it was first released, it was certainly an interesting and confronting film, for its time, given it features straight actors and a straight director, with a major studio producing it. However it challenged all sorts of issues around gay lifestyles, and having Al Pacino in the lead only made it much more titillating, and full marks to hime fort doing it.
But INTERIOR, LEATHER BAR is essentially a curiosity. Are we to assume that there will be the 40 minutes of film that has been 're-imagined' made available at some later date? I have to say its not all that interesting to me either way.....Otherwise, what is the point of this documentary? It looks like its one of the 'special features' extras on the DVD that has the complete 40 minutes of re-filmed footage - which is exactly what the INTERIOR: LEATHER BAR is all about?....
I'm a great fan of James Franco...but with this 59 minute release, I get the feeling that the 40 minutes of actual footage has gone to a private collection.....question is...who's?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
It depends which way you look at it. It's a very interesting documentary, however it is quite underwhelming as a film.
From a doc perspective, it raises some good points and asks quite intellectual and relevant questions.
However, as a movie, it's definitely advertised falsely. It's not at all 40mins of imagined lost footage. There's about 10mins if that of lost footage, which contains REAL sex by the way, however the remaining 50mins is simply the directors and actors talking about their excitement or apprehension about being in the film, the film that we don't really get to see... P.s James Franco fans, he's barely in it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Interior. Leather Bar is one of the most interesting films I have seen this year - it touches on so many themes, which at the same time are really entertaining. The fact the film was made by James Franco and Travis Mathews makes it even better. I was a big fan of Mathews other films I Want Your Love and to see Franco's work outside his Hollywood films really adds to his image and proves he is a bigger star than so many others. At times the film is sexy, it is intelligent and it is really something very much worth having a discussion about. This particular set looks great in the special edition box and the extra features are all really interesting - certainly worth it for yourself. I bought two, the second to give as an Xmas pressie!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
This is more a documentry than a film. I was very very interested by the premise as its about the missing 40 mins of the Al Pacino film "Cruising". Its beyond pretencious at all levels with the documentary makers full of pointless irritating clap trap. Im glad ive seen it but i doubt so much fuss would have been made if Franco wasnt involved. By the end we dont learn anything at all. Wasted oppurnity....... sadly
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I was thought James Franco was a great actor and i love how he challenges the norm!!!!

His views at times made me proud to be a fan...

The way he tackles things is simply incredible and i can't wait to see more of his work

i think if your thinking of buying it just do it you won't be dissapointed
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
I have to say, I was surprised by this film. While not exactly what I was expecting, I think it was actually far more interesting. It cleverly makes you question everything that we have been conditioned to believe is acceptable or not. For instance why are we happy with peoples heads and limbs being blown off in 12 and 15's, yet any explicit sex, especially gay sex is automatically an 18. What ever you believe, it's definitely worth owning. Let the debate start! :)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Tedious as hell.Totally overrated and unerotic. It has already been shown on television in a very slightly edited version.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
Horribly boring and showed no actual full scenes realy from the so called deleted scenes they were recreating
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
Though its style may turn some people off, I found this movie to be incredibly interesting. As a straight person, this movie really makes you think about the way people are brought up to think about gay people and their lifestyles. Beautifully shot and unflinchingly raw, this is a fantastic documentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)