Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 8 March 2016
Straight to the charity shop
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2016
Terrible film! Not seen a film so bad in years. Drive was amazing, brilliant.... I love Thai film, Ryan Gosling and gangster films but that was shocking!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2016
Have to say this is one of the worst films I've ever watched. The advert for this film didn't meet its criteria. Made it look like a good film but infact it wasn't that good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2017
Have you seen Nicolas Winding Refn's "Valhalla Rising"? Then you have already seen this film.
Have you seen Nicolas Winding Refn's "Drive"? Then you have already seen a much better version of this film.
Have you not seen either of the previous Nicolas Winding Refn films? Go watch one of them instead. Preferably "Drive".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2017
terrible dont waste your money
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2016
..that was not what I was expecting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2016
Rubbish long drawn out boring
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2017
I hoped this would be a good movie, as I enjoyed Refn's "Drive". Not my cup of tea I'm afraid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 April 2017
Revenge begets revenge in this violent tale set against the Bangkok underworld. When the odious Billy kills an under age girl, he is killed by the girl's father. Billy's mother Crystal (Kristin Scott Thomas) flies in from America and insists that younger son Julian (Ryan Gosling) should in turn avenge Billy's death.

As previous reviews attest this is a film which provokes extreme reactions in its viewers. While it's possible to love or hate it, my own feeling is one of bemusement - I still don't know whether I have seen a good film or not, only that I liked some aspects of it and was left cold by others. Three stars is the average I am left with after considering its merits and faults but that doesn't reflect the extremes of its highs and lows.

The cinematography is the most impressive feature. The film is beautifully shot with the lighting of night time scenes and colour of daytime ones captured in a way that resembles high quality still photography. There are karaoke scenes which add to the general strangeness of the atmosphere but also feel a bit Lynch-lite. I enjoyed seeing Kristin Scott Thomas playing against type as a full on Lady Macbeth with long blonde hair extensions. Ryan Gosling is Ryan Gosling - his range of expressions make Roger Moore seem like a method actor in comparison. The characterisation and plot are both generally shallow.

More style than substance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2016
Only God Forgives, is the sort of film you have to bring no preconceptions to, then you will appreciate it more. It does leave lasting impressions though, the sort that get into your subconscious and mess things up a bit. It is full of set pieces that solidify some of our darkest desire and greatest fears. Alongside the powerful imagery and visual statements there is a narrative but trying to hold on to this provides little comfort for the journey.
Watch Only God Forgives with different eyes and expectations to regular, classic narrative films and you will enjoy it. Also watch it for the way Nicolas Winding Refn uses his craft to create strong, permanent memories. Light is his brush in this one.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)