Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
177
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2013
This album has been so long awaited by myself. Obviously with the terrible tragedy that happened to group with the loss of Trevor Grills and Paul their manager, the release date was delayed. But it is such a lasting tribute to the pair.
The songs are a mixture of both old and new, including a wonderful upbeat 'Mary Ann', on which Trevor sings the lead.
Its good to hear Jason also take a lead on 'Sally Brown' and a brilliant job he does of it too.
Fishermans Friends have still not decided if and when they will perform again, but this cd will keep us true fans happy until that day. Well done boys. RIP Trevor & Paul x
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
I love the Fsherman's Friends. I live within easy driving distance of their hometown and have seen them perform for free at the harbour. I have purchased tickets to their performances at theatres. And I have two other albums. The best one has virtually no instrumental accompaniment; the other is ruined by it. The first, the ruined one, seems to have been the idea of a record producer. I suspect that was the case with this one. , I will now refer to it as Easy Listening Fisherman's Friends. All their magical harmonies, all the depth of their baritones and lyrical lilt of their tenors is compromised. I can fairly say I like it only because I know what these gentlemen can do, and I look forward to hearing them do it again. And possibly dismissing whoever talked them into this nonsensical arrangement of their magnificent talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
One and All is the Cornish motto (Onen Hag Ol in Cornish), but to my mind whilst the music from the Fisherman's Friends is still good, this isn't as good as the last album. Also, I don't think the depth of sound in the recording is as good, but still a good album
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
Another good CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
Good recording from a very good group.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
Top album and a fitting memorial.

All the songs are worth listening to and is intersting in developing from thier first album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Good easy listening each song has its own story great harmonies as always hope to hear many more albums from them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
This has been well worth the wait. The songs are sung with great feeling. Trevor,s lovely voice will be missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
I really have enjoyed this album immensely, but have listened to it with more than a tear in my eye.

What a memorial to Trevor Grills this is - well worth waiting for it to be released, and the sleeve notes make it clear that this had to be issued. I'm so glad it was. I love the sound of this bunch clearly having fun, and the addition of the backings does nothing to detract from the recordings - though I think that purists would prefer to hear them acapella which is the way that they started off in Port Isaac. Personally, I feel that they come over just as well either way, and as such, I would recommend this new release (their second with the more "modern" approach) to anybody interested in music of this genre.

It is difficult to single out one track as being any better than the others, and each track is led by a different member of the group - which is a pretty good indication of the level of teamwork that goes to make the Fishermens' Friends the quality act that they are.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£7.95

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)