Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
69
4.4 out of 5 stars
Made Up Mind
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


on 20 June 2017
Have to start by saying the the Tedeschi Trucks band are just about my favourite act at the moment. I've seen them live twice and was just as impressed as heck. That said this is something of a disappointment. Already free (Derek Trucks band) and Revelator are both albums that I've played countless times and still enjoy and Revelator to me is a high water mark in the history of rock/jazz/funk/blues music. Sadly Made up my mind lacks the sound, playing, warmth, spontaneity and just plain awesomeness of Revelator. It's as though the band didn't realise how good they were at what they do and decided to change direction and make a pop album. Somewhat unsuccessfully. It's not that it's a bad album - it's just that it doesn't draw me in the same way Revelator does. That said I bought Let me get by at the same time and I've been unable to listen to it all the way though. The only thing you can hear in the mix is the guitar and vocals - the rest of the (excellent) players have been pushed so far back in the mix that they're hardly there. OK Derek and Susan are the stars but one of the beauties of Revelator is the beautifully warm and transparent production that lets your hear everything. I really hate to be negative considering that TT band is one of the very few really great touring big bands and their ethos is so genuine but there it is. In summary if you're wondering which album to buy and you don't have Revelator get that first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
An album of completely new songs, no covers on "Made Up Mind", unusual because they do them so well.
This offering is up there with their best. if not the best so far.
I have all of the Derek Trucks Band cd's also all of Susan Tedeschi cd's plus The Allman brothers Band cd's.
Now we have the Tedeschi/Trucks Band, the quality and diversity of the music just gets better and better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Prefer revelator but still excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 August 2013
The Trucks family keep on rolling, the second studio album by the band find them stretching away. For me the first album was a consolidation of the undoubted talents of the two main players and a bringing together of two extraordinary bands.
The second album find the band have fond their feet, all 11 band members take part in the making of the album, which, in the wrong hand could sound like a car crash of sound however not all 11 members take part in every song, and even when it's a larger band thankfully this band understand the `less is more' ethic, and space is given to develop the music.
The music is blues based with a soulful twist, the choice of singers is crucial to the sound of each song and it's just excellent. Highlights `Sweet and low' and the title track `Made up mind' this is on my short list for album of the year
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 August 2013
Derek Trucks is almost certainly the greatest living slide guitarist, after producing some amazingly good albums with his own band he two years ago brought his wife Susan Tedeschi in and oh boy this is by far the best soul blues band there is. The first album Revelator won several awards and rave reviews. Following this with 2012's live double, again an incredible set with the band delivering an albuim that was diverse, some awesome playing and ST's superb soul based voice. Come 2013 and this new one and what a release it is. The quality of the songs is superb, the band hitting great grooves throughout, Derek Trucks just continues to up the anti as a player, just listen to the opening track the guitar cuts the rhythm gets into the groove before the vocals come in. Whether rockin' or pure soul songs, this album has it all. The band of eleven,yes eleven great musicians not only guitar and keys but a horn section as well. This is a band of real class, but one that's exiting and equally progressive at the same time. Tracks like 'Make Up Mind' and 'whiskey Legs' are rock blues and reaaly lift the rafters (get the next door neighbours to go out and turn it up )' 'Part Of Me' will be in the songs of the year come the fall. The closing 'Calling Out To You' is just Derek and Susan together with another cracker of a ballad song his guitar is so tasty here and her voice which I feel gets better with every release, is now one of the best around. All I will say is just don't miss tyhis wonderfully enjoyable set by a band that deserves success because they have vastly more true talent than many filling the airwaves these days, and this truly is an outstanding release.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
It might seem a bit strange for me to say that this album contains some of the best guitar playing I have EVER heard, yet I have only given it 3 stars.

Having grown up listening to Duane, Dickey, Lowell George, Bonnie Raitt and persons of that ilk I am ready to concede that Derek Trucks is among the all-time greats. He "carries the torch" so to speak and it's probable that the best of his career is still in front of him. Some of the guitar breaks on this album are astonishing.

But then this isn't a Derek trucks album, it's a Tedeschi/Trucks album and here the difficulty lies. I respect Trucks too much to say anything negative at this point but what I WILL say, is that these are HUGE songs, and really need a singer with the projection and soul of an Otis Redding, Janis Joplin, or Joe Cocker. It would take a really great singer to "put these songs across".

Unfortunately what we have here is a very "straight" "middle of the road" type of Americana album. Hardly surprising, I suppose. But I guarantee that you will tire of this album very quickly.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
As much as I love Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi and have listened to both for years, I find this album a bit of a let-down. This is a Susan Tedeschi Album with Derek Trucks playing on it. They are really just re-working the same formulas that they used before and IMHO it could have been a lot more. Would have been great to have some vocals other than Susan's. What about the amazing Mike Mattinson? His name is on the album but you can't hear him.

And I have to say the flute in Idle Wind is not good, the song sounds like 'TTB plays the Carpenters' or something.

There are however lots of good bits on the album and the band is as talented as ever, I just find myself fast-forwarding through several songs. Hence only 3 stars.

Perhaps getting in bed with Sony wasn't a good idea...
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Solid and exuberant follow-up to the Grammy-winning "Revelator" finds the TTB in fine form. It's the usual winning blend of soul, blues, gospel, Stax and southern rock all immaculately performed and produced, but at the same time perhaps an opportunity or two has been missed along the way.

With a number of highly talented vocalists on board, once again it's a shame that the likes of Saunders Sermons and Mike Mattison haven't been allowed more of a front-line role. Sermons has a brief cameo vocal on "Part Of Me" but, frustratingly, Mattison's most noticeable contribution seems to have been writing the sleevenotes for the CD booklet. Splendid though Susan Tedeschi's vocals are (yet again), one can't help but feel that the album would have benefited from having a track or two led by a male vocalist (viz. the stunning contrast of "Wade In The Water" on last year's live release). It seems such an obvious waste of talent.

On the plus side, it's a strong and exciting set although at times one still longs for a bit of the avant garde touch-of-the-unexpected that made The Derek Trucks band such an exciting listen. Still, "Part Of Me" sounds worthy of being an old classic from the motor city and may well be destined to become one. The title track is one of those infectious songs that you find yourself humming at odd times of the day and can't get out of your head, while "It's So Heavy" is Tedeschi's real power ballad on this album, a vocal tour de force.

At certain times there's a nagging feeling that Derek Trucks' playing might just be a little too carefully practised and restrained but all such thoughts are firmly blown away by a rip-roaring and incendiary performance on "The Storm" in which he pulls out all the stops. It's without question his personal highlight on this particular record.

Elsewhere, only "Sweet And Low" misses the mark for me and is likely to tempt the skip button in future. But there won't be many better albums than this in 2013, and I can't wait to see them at the Royal Albert Hall in October.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
At the risk of instigating divorce proceedings ...

Derek Trucks is phenomenally talented guitarist.
Susan Tedeschi is also great - guitar and vocals.
Prior to the formation of TTB, they each had good solo careers.
Mike Mattison provided the vocals for Derek Trucks' band.

Sadly I have to report that TTB, and specifically this album, is less than the sum of the talents of the individuals involved.
Don't believe me ? OK ... go check out DT's 'Already Free' and 'Songlines'. Listen to the subtle and fluid guitar playing and the soulful vocals. and to Susan T's 'Best of ... volume 1'. there is talent on display.

Sooo... this album is still quite good in parts, perhaps I should give it three stars, or three and a half. But if someone makes you a three star product from five star ingredients, is it really right to give them the whole three stars ?

The main issue is that Susan Tedeschi's vocals, and also the brass section, are over prominent in the mix of what should be a truly truly great blues guitar sound. There is a dearth of brilliant sensual guitar play.

I seriously hope that for the next abum they get Mike Mattison doing more of the singing (some tracks with his /male vocals on lead, some with Susan T/female vocals); they do longer tracks, giving Derek time to explore the melody lines on his guitar - and get Susan T playing guitar - I could envisage the two guitar lines working really well together.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
I came to this album after seeing the largely excellent reviews - and came without the baggage or much knowledge of what these artists have done before.
I had worried that it would that it would be too samey (As some blues/country albums tend to be for casual listeners) but this album has enough variety and sheer quality to overcome narrow genre definitions of blues & americana - throwing in handfuls of funk and groove to keep things interesting.

Tedeschi's voice is captivating and she manages to alter her tone very well to fit the mood of the different songs. Truck's guitars are simply sublime and, again going against type, he playing serves the song rather than the song acting as a platform to show off his chops. The rest of the band are rock solid, playing with subtlety and vigour with equal panache.

Without picking through the song list too much I'd highlight "Made Up Mind", "Do I Look Worried", "All That I Need" and "The Storm" as the albums highlights.
Only one, the somewhat repetitive Sweet and Low has waned in interest after a few listenings.

All in all, this is real music played by musicians that care about their art and it's such a joy to discover them that I can't recommend it highly enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Revelator
£7.09

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)