Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
209
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2013
The Pauline bias of the roman state which annihilated Jesus' Jewish identity and context arguably offered up the Jews on a platter of 2000 years of anti Semitic experience . This book is a must read for Jews and Christians alike. One of the most important books of our time .

Lost to history is Jesus brother and successor James who tried hard to curb Pauls teachings which offered to Gentiles stood in many areas in direct contrast to Jesus' teachings . Jerusalem was the mother assembly of early Christianity but was destroyed utterly in the 60's CE freeing Paul to espouse his ideology of the Christ. The Son of God.
The rest is history . There is so much to read in this book and understand and question. It is a crucial subject for believers and non believers to address.

at the bottom of it is the immense courage of Jesus and James, their integrity and devotion to the poor, the Miracles and their great zeal to liberate their people from gross oppression.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
I found this book very Iinteresting ,it raised questions that had always puzzled me. And I am now keen to make further,more.. academic study the Guardian reviewer really slated it and perhaps for a true scholar it is a bit light weight but for the lay person like myself it has whetted my appetite for more learned works on the subject. It also made me question my acceptance of things I have been taught from a child.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
I found this book very, very illuminating. Aslan's writing style is succinct and his explanations are very clear - found this very important as this is the first book I have read about Jesus and the era in which he lived. Aslan also describes the historical events very well, casting a new light on a period in history that has been shrouded in superstition and lore these 2,000 years. Would definitely recommend!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
A first class read which shows the Life of Jesus in a completely different way. A book which using Biblical and historical references shows how the basis of Christianity can be wrong. A must for all who want a different view point on what the Life of Jesus was all about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
This is a terrific book, grounded in research, not rhetoric. A story that is given to us only through a sanitised book and 50s Hollywood leaves us with so many questions about the reality of Jesus' life and times and early years of the Christian movement. Whatever your religion (and I'm Catholic), this should give a greater positive understanding of Jesus. In a time when 'messiahs' seemed to be two a penny and forgotten quickly, what was it about Jesus that made his followers so determined to spread his memory and message..............QED.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
The book is an excellent read and the author's writing style is both gripping and fast flowing. Reza has been very critical of Christianity and the way it has been portrayed and has to tried to back this up with historical facts and sound logic.

..............It's a shame he did not do the same with his first book: No God But God. Seems he is quick to judge and criticise the religion of others but not his own. Is this a marketing strategy to convert Christians to Islam ? If so, it has failed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
It is a serious book with a light touch. Well researched and written with a compassionate alternative to the accepted narrative. I found it informative, lucid and thought provoking. It is well balanced and non judgemental, I will be looking at other titles by Reza Aslan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
A very good read.
Well researched & well written.
I shows with evidence how Christianity evolve.
It re-efferent my believes that all religions are 'men made'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
Refreshingly detached from a religious slant, the book examines the times and life of Jesus from a purely historical viewpoint. Intriguing, fascinating and refreshing!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
The book is your standard, factual biography, meaning that it's not especially well-written and gripping. It's a bundle of facts and that's it. It's ok. I don't find it intellectuallly challenging nor does it hold my interest much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)